Local form Vohimarina (Vohémar)

Get directionsExport as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Vohémar

loading map - please wait...

Vohémar -13.369913, 50.003929 Vohemar Sava, Madagaskar (Directions)

Distribution of the local form Vohimarina :

Vohimarina, better known by its French name Vohémar, is a city on the northeast coast of Madagascar. With a population of around 15,000, it is one of the larger cities in the Sava region. In colonial times, the town was called Iharana in Malagasy, but this name is now only used for the area surrounding the town. Vohémar has an important harbor and an airport that has not been functioning for a long time. The city can only be reached by land from Ambilobe via the RN5a, which was renovated in 2022. Alternatively, you can fly to Sambava on a very small plane and drive to Vohémar from the south via the RN5a. The people here live mainly from fieldwork and fishing. Rice, cassava and peanuts are grown, and there are also very many zebus in the area.

Panther chameleons are found here in open landscapes between fields and in bushy secondary vegetation. Primary rainforest or dry forest no longer exists near Vohimarina. Rice fields and wide, flat grasslands with bushes and low trees against a mountain backdrop characterize the plains between Vohémar and Daraina. Herds of zebu are everywhere. Somewhat lusher vegetation is present along the rivers, with larger and older trees along narrow strips. South of the local form runs the Fanambana River, which is the boundary with the Sambava local form. Panther chameleons of the Vohémar local form are surprisingly found as far as Loky Manambato near Daraina. There, a good 50 km away, is also the next protected dry forest remnant. This is astonishing mainly because the Manambato River actually separates the two areas. Nevertheless, the panther chameleons look the same in both regions and show hardly any variation.

Appearance of the local form:

The males of Furcifer pardalis here are light green with dark red banding. In contrast to the neighboring local form Sambava the head of the males here is green, not red. Only the eyelids are colored red. The throat region may have red tints in some animals. The animals of the local form Vohémar look extremely similar to the local form Ankarana East despite some distance.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 28 27 26 26 25 24 23 23 23 25 27 28
Minimum temperature 25 25 24 24 23 22 21 20 21 23 24 25
Maximum temperature 30 30 30 29 27 26 25 25 26 27 29 30
Rain days 16 13 12 6 3 2 2 2 1 1 2 10

The data given were measured and compiled by us within one year with thermo- and hygrometers in Vohémar. "Average temperature" means that the values of an entire month were calculated to an average value, e.g. all measured minimum values of a month were calculated to an average minimum value for February. This means in plain language that individual peak values of a day can be significantly higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum values. So it is possible that while the average maximum is 29 degrees, it was 33°C or even 35°C on some days of the month.

Vohémar is located directly on the Indian Ocean in a bay, so the climate is very warm all year round. In the rainy season, it is correspondingly scorching hot in Vohémar, temperatures over 30°C in the shade are the rule. Extensive rainfalls and thunderstorms provide a sultry heat like in a steam bath.

During the dry season, on the other hand, it gets really dusty in Vohémar and rain falls only from time to time. Key factors in Vohémar are certainly both the great heat and the dryness during the dry season, which is rather untypical for the east coast.

2020 UVI Vohémar 2020 UVI Loky Manambato Tageszeit = daytime, UV-Index = UV index, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

The UVB data were measured with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (April) just after the highest activity time of the chameleons. In each case, the maximum values achievable for the chameleon in the habitat were measured.

Unfortunately, ground temperatures for Vohémar are not yet available.

Habitat:

Panther chameleons live around Vohémar in open landscapes. Vohémar lies directly on the sea, so the soil is a mixture of sand and laterite. Between Vohémar and Loky Manambato there are mainly savannahs with isolated low trees and many bushes distributed in gentle hills. At the edge of the mountains, which become more towards the center of the country, there are a few dry remnant forests and some gallery forests along smaller rivers. Loky Manambato, on the other hand, is a still intact small dry forest. The tree population is rather young and not very high, but there is plenty of strongly branched undergrowth. The soil here is interspersed with rocks and consists almost entirely of laterite.

 

 

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Lokalform Vohimarina (Vohémar)

Wegbeschreibung berechnenAls KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Vohémar

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Vohémar -13.369913, 50.003929 Vohemar Sava, Madagaskar (Routenplaner)

Verbreitung der Lokalform Vohimarina :

Vohimarina, besser bekannt unter seinem französischem Namen Vohémar, ist eine Stadt an der Nordostküste Madagaskars. Mit rund 15.000 Einwohnern gehört sie zu den größeren Städten der Region Sava. Zu Kolonialzeiten hieß die Stadt auf Malagasy Iharana, dieser Name wird heute aber nur noch für die Umgebung der Stadt genutzt. Vohémar verfügt über einen wichtigen Hafen und einen seit Langem nicht mehr funktionierenden Flughafen. Zu erreichen ist die Stadt lediglich über den Landweg von Ambilobe über die 2022 renovierte RN5a. Alternativ kann man mit einem sehr kleinen Flugzeug nach Sambava fliegen und über die RN5a von Süden nach Vohémar fahren. Die Menschen hier leben vorwiegend von der Feldarbeit und der Fischerei. Reis, Maniok und Erdnüsse werden angebaut, außerdem gibt es sehr viele Zebus in der Gegend.

Pantherchamäleons findet man hier in offener Landschaft zwischen Feldern und in buschiger Sekundärvegetation. Primärregen- oder Trockenwald gibt es nahe Vohimarina nicht mehr. Reisfelder und weite, flache Grasflächen mit Büschen und niedrigen Bäumen vor Bergkulisse kennzeichnen die Ebenen zwischen Vohémar und Daraina. Überall stehen Zebuherden. An den Flüssen sind etwas üppigere Vegetationen mit größeren und älteren Bäumen entlang schmaler Streifen vorhanden. Südlich der Lokalform verläuft der Fanambana, der die Grenze zur Lokalform Sambava darstellt. Pantherchamäleons der Lokalform Vohémar findet man erstaunlicherweise bis nach Loky Manambato bei Daraina. Dort, gut 50 km entfernt, liegt auch der nächste geschützte Trockenwald-Rest. Erstaunlich ist das vor allem deshalb, weil der Fluss Manambato beide Gebiete eigentlich voneinander trennt. Trotzdem sehen die Pantherchamäleons in beiden Regionen gleich aus und zeigen kaum Variation.

Aussehen der Lokalform:

Die Männchen von Furcifer pardalis sind hier hellgrün mit dunkelroter Bänderung. Im Gegensatz zur benachbarten Lokalform Sambava ist der Kopf der Männchen hier grün, nicht rot. Nur die Augenlider sind rot gefärbt. Die Kehlregion kann bei einigen Tieren rote Einschläge haben. Die Tiere der Lokalform Vohémar sehen trotz einiger Entfernung der Lokalform Ankarana Ost extrem ähnlich.

 

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 28 27 26 26 25 24 23 23 23 25 27 28
Minimale Temperatur 25 25 24 24 23 22 21 20 21 23 24 25
Maximale Temperatur 30 30 30 29 27 26 25 25 26 27 29 30
Regentage 16 13 12 6 3 2 2 2 1 1 2 10

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb eines Jahres mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Vohémar liegt direkt am Indischen Ozean in einer Bucht, so dass das ganze Jahr ein sehr warmes Klima herrscht. In der Regenzeit ist es entsprechend brütend warm in Vohémar, Temperaturen über 30°C im Schatten sind die Regel. Ausgiebige Regenfälle und Gewitter sorgen für eine schwüle Hitze wie in einem Dampfbad.

Während der Trockenzeit wird es dagegen richtig staubig in Vohémar und es fällt nur noch ab und zu Regen. Schlüsselfaktoren in Vohémar sind sicherlich sowohl die große Wärme als auch die Trockenheit während der Trockenzeit, die für die Ostküste eher untypisch ist.

2020 UVI Vohémar 2020 UVI Loky Manambato

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (April) knapp nach der höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Vohémar verfügbar.

Habitat:

Pantherchamäleons leben rund um Vohémar in offenen Landschaften. Vohémar liegt direkt am Meer, so dass der Boden eine Mischung aus Sand und Laterit ist. Zwischen Vohémar und Loky Manambato gibt es vor allem Savannen mit vereinzeltem, niedrigen Baumbestand und vielen Büschen in sanften Hügeln verteilt. Am Rand der Berge, die in Richtung Landesmitte mehr werden, gibt es einige wenige trockene Restwäldern sowie einige Galeriewäldchen entlang kleinerer Flüsse. Loky Manambato dagegen ist ein noch intakter, kleiner Trockenwald. Der Baumbestand ist eher jung und nicht besonders hoch, dafür gibt es reichlich, stark verzweigtes Unterholz. Der Boden hier ist von Felsen durchsetzt und besteht fast nur aus Laterit.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove