Brookesia brunoi

Brookesia brunoi
Brookesia brunoi
Brookesia brunoi
Brookesia brunoi
Brookesia brunoi
Brookesia brunoi
CITES quotas
no legal export possible

First description:

Crottini, Miralles, Glaw, Harris, Lima & Vences, 2012

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Brookesia brunoi

loading map - please wait...

Anja Community Reserve: -21.861499, 46.856689

Distribution:

Brookesia brunoi lives solely in Anja Community Reserve, a communally led protected area at the edge of the southern highlands near the city Ambalavao. It thus belongs to few leaf chameleons that have settled in dry areas. The region is at an elevation of 950 m above sea level and very rocky. The small residues of forest are mainly restricted to the mentioned reserve. The forest is rather dry here, and in many places there has been wild ginger introduced. The area around Ambalavao is the coldest region of Madagascar – during the dry season, temperatures usually become lower than 10°C.

It takes some time and patiencte to find these animals. In 2012, a similar looking leaf chameleon was found in Ambovombe in Madagascar’s deep south, but it could not be identified as Brookesia brunoi cleary. It remains open whether the species might occur further south, too.

Appearance & size:

Brookesia brunoi wears a characteristic helmet that is decorated with four spines at each side and continued above the eyes. Between nose and eyes, each side has a little bulge. Along the dorsum, there nine latero-vertebral spines that end up in a diamond-shaped, characteristic pelvic shield and continue only indistinctly on tail. The venter has no enlarged scales in contrast to similar species, and Brookesia brunoi has no dorsal ridge. All animals we have found were uniformly beige-brown coloured. The following pictures show young specimen.

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 20 20 20 19 16 15 13 12 15 18 18 19
Minimum temperature 15 15 15 13 11 9 8 8 9 11 14 15
Maximum temperature 25 26 25 24 23 21 19 19 21 25 26 26
Rain days 23 21 21 16 10 7 8 6 8 15 22 26

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Anja Community Reserve is located in Madagascar's southern highlands at elevations of 1000 m above sea level. It covers the last piece of dry forest of the southern highlands and has a large rock formation behind. Around the reserve, there are only rice fields and savannas left. The city of Ambalavao is only few kilometers away from the reserve. It is known as "coldest city of Madagascar". Accordingly, temperature in Anja Community Reserve are rather cool.

Rainy season is the warmest time of the year. Regular rain showers hit the region, almost daily. During daytime, temperatures reach pleasantly 25°C, nights are moderately cool around 15°C. During dry season, the region gets precipitation on a regular base, it hardly becomes dust-dry in this region. But temperatures fall during dry season, at night even to 5°C. Temperatures during daytime in dry season only reach a maximum of 20°C.

2015 UVI Ambalavao
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (beginning of March) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Ambalavao available yet.

Habitat:

The following pictures show the habitat of Brookesia brunoi in Anja Community Reserve. Some are even from finding places of this species. The reserve consists of dry forest on rocky ground, it is located right in front of a rock formation. Trees are rather young, slenders and not very high. The undergrowth is partially overgrown by wild ginger and is mainly made of dry, broken twigs and dry foliage.

Hereinafter you can find some 360° pictures from Anja Community Reserve. You can move inside these pictures via mouse click in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, a new window with an enlarged view will open. You will also have the opportunity to look at the pictures in full screen mode. Enjoy!

Anja Community Reserve, Region Haute Matsiatra südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Anja Community Reserve, Region Haute Matsiatra südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Brookesia brunoi

Brookesia brunoi
Brookesia brunoi
Brookesia brunoi
Brookesia brunoi
Brookesia brunoi
Brookesia brunoi
CITES-Quoten
kein legaler Export möglich

Erstbeschreibung:

Crottini, Miralles, Glaw, Harris, Lima & Vences, 2012

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Brookesia brunoi

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Anja Community Reserve: -21.861499, 46.856689

Verbreitung:

Brookesia brunoi lebt ausschließlich im Anja Community Reserve, einem kommunal geleiteten Schutzgebiet am Rande des südlichen Hochlandes nahe der Stadt Ambalavao. Es gehört damit zu den wenigen Erdchamäleons, die sich auf trockenere Gebiete spezialisiert haben. Die Gegend liegt auf rund 950 m Höhe und ist sehr felsig. Die kleinen Reste von Wald in der Gegend beschränken sich fast nur auf das genannte Reservat. Der Wald ist ziemlich trocken, und wird an vielen Stellen von eingeschlepptem wilden Ingwer durchzogen. Die Gegend um Ambalavao ist die kälteste Madagaskars – in der Trockenzeit wird es hier regelmäßig unter 10°C kalt.

Es braucht einiges an Mühe und Geduld, um diese Tiere zu finden. 2012 wurde in Ambovombe im tiefen Süden Madagaskars ein ähnlich aussehendes Erdchamäleon gefunden, das jedoch nicht eindeutig Brookesia brunoi zugeordnet werden konnte. Es ist daher noch nicht geklärt, ob diese Art möglicherweise auch weiter im Süden vorkommt.

Aussehen & Größe:

Brookesia brunoi trägt einen charakteristischen, nach hinten auf jeder Seite mit vier Spitzen besetzten Helm, der sich nach vorne über die Augen fortsetzt. Zwischen Nase und Augen befindet sich auf jeder Seite eine kleine Erhebung. Entlang des Rückens verlaufen neun Paare spitzer Tuberkel, die in einem großen, diamantförmigen Hüftschild gipfeln und sich am Schwanz nur schwach fortsetzen. Am Bauch sind im Gegensatz zu ähnlichen Arten keine vergrößerten Schuppen zu sehen, einen Rückenkamm trägt Brookesia brunoi ebenfalls nicht. Alle Tiere, die wir bisher gefunden haben, waren gleichmäßig beige-braun gefärbt. Im Folgenden einige Fotos von Jungtieren der Art.

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 20 20 20 19 16 15 13 12 15 18 18 19
Minimale Temperatur 15 15 15 13 11 9 8 8 9 11 14 15
Maximale Temperatur 25 26 25 24 23 21 19 19 21 25 26 26
Regentage 23 21 21 16 10 7 8 6 8 15 22 26

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Das Anja Community Reserve liegt im südlichen Hochland Madagaskars auf über 1000 m Höhe über Meeresniveau. Es ist das letzte Stückchen Trockenwald des südlichen Hochlandes und liegt direkt vor einer großen Felsformation. Drumherum gibt es nur noch Reisfelder und Savannen. Die Stadt Ambalavao liegt nur wenige Kilometer vom Reservat entfernt. Sie ist bekannt als "kälteste Stadt Madagaskars". Entsprechend sind auch die Temperaturen im Anja Community Reserve eher kühl.

Während der Regenzeit ist es noch am wärmsten. Regelmäßige Schauer gehen im Hochland nieder, so gut wie täglich regnet es. Tagsüber erreichen die Temperaturen angenehme 25°C, nachts ist es moderat kühl mit um die 15°C. Während der Trockenzeit gibt es immer wieder kleine Regenschauer, staubtrocken wird es in der Gegend selten. Dafür sinken die Temperaturen während der Troclenzeit nachts bis 5°C herunter, und gehen auch tagsüber nur bis maximal 20°C nach oben.

2015 UVI Ambalavao

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Anfang März) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für das Anja Community Reserve bei Ambalavao verfügbar.

Habitat:

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat von Brookesia brygooi zur Regenzeit im Anja Community Reserve. Einige sind direkt von Fundorten der Art. Das Reservat besteht aus einem Trockenwald mit sehr felsigem Untergrund, es schmiegt sich direkt an eine große Felsformation an. Die Bäume sind eher jung, schlank und nicht besonders hoch. Das Unterholz wird stellenweise stark von eingeschlepptem wildem Ingwer überwuchert, und besteht ansonsten aus vielen kleinen, abgebrochenen Ästchen und trockenem Laub.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus dem Anja Community Reserve. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Anja Community Reserve, Region Haute Matsiatra südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Anja Community Reserve, Region Haute Matsiatra südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

 

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove