Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Brookesia decaryi

Brookesia decaryi
Brookesia decaryi
Brookesia decaryi
Brookesia decaryi
Brookesia decaryi in Ankarafantsika 2018
Brookesia decaryi in Ankarafantsika 2018
Brookesia decaryi in Ankarafantsika 2018
Brookesia decaryi in Ankarafantsika 2018
CITES quota
no legal export possible

First description:

Angel, 1838

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Brookesia decaryi

loading map - please wait...

Ankarafantsika: -16.206762, 46.998138
Ankarafantsika: -16.325411, 46.700134

Distribution:

This leaf chameleon lives in the dry forests of Ankarafantsika national park in northwest Madagascar. It is not easy to find between foliage and shrubs. We have seen it sometimes along the circuit around lake Ravelobe.

Brookesia decaryi in Ankarafantsika 2018

Typical back of Brookesia decaryi

Appearance & size:

Among leaf chameleons, Brookesia decaryi is one of the larger species with 8 cm total length. Compared to the body, the tail is relatively small and begins behind a well developed pelvic shield. Along the back, there is one row of ten spiny scales on each side that are continued on half of the tail. Typically in Brookesia decaryi, when you look at the animals from above, you can see a “division” of the back into a front and a rear part, which is then followed by the hip shield. Around the cloaca, this species has enlarged scales. Most Brookesia decaryi wear light beige colours on the upper body, while belly, throat, eyes and legs are dark coloured. Some have a dark linke along the back.

Good to know:

This chameleon knows how to play dead when attacked, but it may also vibrate softly as a warning – like all Brookesia.

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 27 27 27 27 26 24 23 24 25 26 27 27
Minimum temperature 23 23 23 22 20 18 17 18 19 21 22 23
Maximum temperature 31 31 31 32 31 30 30 30 31 32 31 31
Rain days 25 24 19 8 4 4 6 6 4 6 12 21

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Climate in Ankarafantsika is hot and dry during most time of the year. Temperatures above 30°C during daytime are usual. Rainy season is rather short and only covers November until March. In this time, it is raining a lot and the whole forest blooms.

In April, the rainy season is over and precipitation is only measured few days per month. Many trees lose their leaves. There is morning dew and occasionally some rainfall, but that's it. During daytime, temperatures are a little lower than in rainy season, but temperatures still easily reach 25°C. At night, temperatures drop some degrees.

2016 UVI Ankarafantsika
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (beginning of April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Ankarafantsika available yet.

Habitat:

The following pictures show the habitat of Brookesia decaryi at the end of the rainy season in Ankarafantsika. These animals occur in the thick foliage of certain parts of the dry forest. Low entwined shrubs with very small leafed plants, pieces of bark, dead wood and small branches and twigs cover the soil, and there are many termite nests. Only during the rainy season, there are small green plants like those in the pictures – during dry saison, most of the plants are bare.

Hereinafter you can find some 360° pictures from Ankarafantsika that we took during rainy season. You can move inside these pictures via mouse click in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, a new window with an enlarged view will open. You will also have the opportunity to look at the pictures in full screen mode. Enjoy!

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Ankarafantsika, Region Boeny, West-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Ankarafantsika, Region Boeny, West-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Ankarafantsika, Region Boeny, West-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Brookesia decaryi

Brookesia decaryi
Brookesia decaryi
Brookesia decaryi
Brookesia decaryi
Brookesia decaryi in Ankarafantsika 2018
Brookesia decaryi in Ankarafantsika 2018
Brookesia decaryi in Ankarafantsika 2018
Brookesia decaryi in Ankarafantsika 2018
CITES-Quoten
kein legaler Export möglich

Erstbeschreibung:

Angel, 1838

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Brookesia decaryi

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Ankarafantsika: -16.206762, 46.998138
Ankarafantsika: -16.325411, 46.700134

Verbreitung:

Dieses Erdchamäleon lebt nur in den Trockenwäldern des Nationalparks Ankarafantsika im Nordwesten Madagaskars. Zwischen Laub und Gebüsch muss man etwas suchen, um die kleinen Chamäleons zu finden. Bisher wurden wir immer mal wieder rund um den See Ravelobe fündig. Am einfachsten wäre die Suche nachts im Frühjahr, allerdings verbietet der Nationalpark Besuche bei Nacht.

Brookesia decaryi in Ankarafantsika 2018

Typische Rückenansicht von Brookesia decaryi

Aussehen & Größe:

Unter seinesgleichen ist Brookesia decaryi eine der größeren Arten mit etwa 8 cm Gesamtlänge. Der Schwanz ist verhältnismäßig schmal im Vergleich zum Körper und beginnt direkt hinter einem gut entwickelten Hüftschild. Entlang des Rückens laufen auf beiden Seiten Reihen von zehn dornähnlichen Schuppen, die bis über die Hälfte des Schwanzes reichen. Typischerweise kann man bei Brookesia decaryi, wenn man die Tiere von oben betrachtet, eine „Aufteilung“ des Rückens in einen vorderen und einen hinteren Part erkennen, an die sich dann das Hüftschild anschließt. Um die Kloake herum hat diese Art vergrößerte Schuppen. Farblich sind die meisten Tiere dieser Art im oberen Körperbereich hellbeige, während Bauch, Kehle, Augen und Beine dunkel abgesetzt sind. Manche Tiere haben eine dunkle Linie entlang des Rückens.

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 27 27 27 27 26 24 23 24 25 26 27 27
Minimale Temperatur 23 23 23 22 20 18 17 18 19 21 22 23
Maximale Temperatur 31 31 31 32 31 30 30 30 31 32 31 31
Regentage 25 24 19 8 4 4 6 6 4 6 12 21

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Das Klima in Ankarafantsika ist heiß, und während der meisten Zeit des Jahres relativ trocken. Temperaturen über 30°C tagsüber sind die Regel. Die Regenzeit fällt eher kurz aus und dauert nur von November bis März. In dieser Zeit regnet es viel, und der ganze Wald blüht auf.

Im April ist der Spuk jedoch schon wieder vorbei, und es regnet nur noch an wenigen Tagen im Monat. Die Bäume verlieren ihre Blätter. Es gibt Morgentau und selten mal einen Schauer, das war's aber auch schon. Tagsüber ist es ein klein wenig kühler als in der Regenzeit, aber die Temperaturen erreichen trotzdem immernoch gute 25°C. Nachts sinken die Temperaturen um ein paar Grad.

2016 UVI Ankarafantsika

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Anfang April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Ankarafantsika verfügbar.

Habitat:

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat von Brookesia decaryi zur Regenzeit in Ankarafantsika. Die Tiere kommen in der dicken Laubschicht einiger bestimmter Abschnitte des Trockenwaldes vor. Niedriges, verschlungenes Gebüsch mit sehr kleinblättrigen Pflanzen, Rindenstücke, totes Holz sowie kleine Äste bedecken den Boden, es gibt relativ viele Termitennester. Nur in der Regenzeit sind kleine, grüne Stängel wie in den Fotos zu sehen – während der Trockenzeit sind die meisten Pflanzen kahl.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus Ankarafantsika, die wir während der Regenzeit aufgenommen haben. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Ankarafantsika, Region Boeny, West-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Ankarafantsika, Region Boeny, West-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Ankarafantsika, Region Boeny, West-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove