Brookesia ramanantsoai

CITES quotas
no legal export possible

First description:

Brygoo & Domergue, 1975

Origin of the species name:

Édouard-Raoul Brygoo (later working at the Natural History Museum in Paris, France) and Charles Antoine Domergue of the then Institut Pasteur in Antananarivo, Madagascar dedicated this chameleon species to the zoologist Guy Ramanantsoa. Ramanantsoa worked at the University of Antananarivo and also dealt with chameleons at times. He had described the species Calumma ambreense a year earlier.

Distribution:

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Brookesia ramanantsoai

loading map - please wait...

Andasibe: -18.931619, 48.431168
Vohimana: -18.917979, 48.512535
Mandraka: -18.911900, 47.920000
Ambohiboatavo: -18.997044, 47.845287

Brookesia ramanantsoai can be found in the eastern highlands of Madagascar. Originally these small chameleons are known from the Andasibe-Mantadia National Park, but we have never been able to observe them there. However, only 25 km east of Andasibe is the Vohimana reserve. There you have much better chances to spot Brookesia ramanantsoai. Also west of Andasibe, in some small forest patches near Mandraka, the species is resident. Not far from Mandraka is Lake Mantasoa, near where the species was first found. The entire distribution range of Brookesia ramanantsoai is relatively high, at about 1000 to 1300 m above sea level.

Appearance and size:

Brookesia ramanantsoai belongs to the minima group and is accordingly small. From the tip of the nose to the tail it measures just 41 to 44 mm. Instead of a pelvic shield, they carry only two pelvic spines. In the anterior half of the body, there are two better developed latero-vertebral tubercles, the others are barely developed. Purely visually, the species is indistinguishable from Brookesia dentata, but research is still lacking here. Genetically the two species are different and also occur in two completely different habitats.

 

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 23 24 23 24 21 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimum temperature 20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximum temperature 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Rain days 27 24 26 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Climate in Vohimana is comparable to region Andasibe-Mantadia. It is also located in eastern highlands on eleveations about 1000 m above sea level. Accordingly, nights can become rather cool with temperatures around 15°C.

During rainy season, it rains daily and intensively. Temperatures reach 25 to 28°C during daytime, in sunny places a little more. In dry season, temperatures are lower and it does not rain daily but still regularly.

2014 UVI Andasibe 2016 UVI Andasibe
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (beginning of April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Vohimana available yet.

Habitat:

The following photos show sections of the habitat of Brookesia ramanantsoai during the rainy season in a small reserve near Mandraka. Both in Vohimana and near Mandraka the chameleons tend to occur on slopes. Delicate, small plants and many ferns grow. Leaves and deadwood cover the ground but do not form as thick a layer as in other parts of the forest. For roosting, Brookesia ramanantsoai often seek out the higher, wide, mossy roots of large trees, like other leaf chameleons of the minima group.

Below you will find some 360° images from Analamazaotra (Andasibe). With the mouse, you can rotate in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, the images will open in an enlarged view in a separate window. There is also the possibility to run the pictures in full-screen mode. Have fun watching!

Regenwald im Nationalpark Andasibe-Mantadia (Analamazaotra), Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Andasibe-Mantadia (Analamazaotra), Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

 

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Brookesia ramanantsoai

CITES-Quoten
kein legaler Export möglich

Erstbeschreibung:

Brygoo & Domergue, 1975

Herkunft des Artnamens:

Édouard-Raoul Brygoo (später tätig im Naturhistorischen Museum Paris, Frankreich) und Charles Antoine Domergue vom damaligen Institut Pasteur in Antananarivo, Madagaskar widmeten diese Chamäleonart dem Zoologen Guy Ramanantsoa. Ramanantsoa arbeitete an der Universität von Antananarivo und beschäftigte sich ebenfalls zeitweise mit Chamäleons. Er hatte ein Jahr zuvor die Art Calumma ambreense beschrieben.

Verbreitung:

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Brookesia ramanantsoai

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Andasibe: -18.931619, 48.431168
Vohimana: -18.917979, 48.512535
Mandraka: -18.911900, 47.920000
Ambohiboatavo: -18.997044, 47.845287

Brookesia ramanantsoai kann man im östlichen Hochland Madagaskars finden. Ursprünglich sind diese kleinen Chamäleons aus dem Nationalpark Andasibe-Mantadia bekannt, dort haben wir sie jedoch noch nie beobachten können. Nur 25 km östlich von Andasibe liegt aber das Reservat Vohimana. Dort hat man wesentlich bessere Chancen, Brookesia ramanantsoai zu entdecken. Auch westlich von Andasibe, in einigen kleinen Waldstücken nahe Mandraka, ist die Art beheimatet. Unweit von Mandraka liegt der See Mantasoa, in dessen Nähe der Erstfundort der Art liegt. Das gesamte Verbreitungsgebiet von Brookesia ramanantsoai liegt relativ hoch, auf etwa 1000 bis 1300 m über Meeresniveau.

Aussehen und Größe:

Brookesia ramanantsoai gehört zur minima-Gruppe und ist entsprechend klein. Von der Nasen- bis zur Schwanzspitze misst es gerade einmal 41 bis 44 mm. Statt einem Hüftschild tragen sie nur zwei vergrößerte Kegelschuppen auf Höhe der Hüfte. In der vorderen Körperhälfte finden sich zwei besser entwickelte laterovertebrale Tuberkel, die übrigen sind kaum ausgeprägt. Rein optisch ist die Art nicht von Brookesia dentata zu unterscheiden, hier fehlt es jedoch noch an Forschung. Genetisch sind die beiden Arten unterschiedlich und kommen auch in zwei völlig unterschiedlichen Lebensräumen vor.

 

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 23 24 23 24 21 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimale Temperatur 20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximale Temperatur 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Regentage 27 24 26 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Das Klima in Vohimana ist vergleichbar mit dem der Region Andasibe-Mantadia. Es liegt ebenfalls im östlichen Hochland auf rund 1000 m über Meeresniveau und entsprechend werden die Nächte oft kühl mit Temperaturen um die 15°C.

Während der Regenzeit regnet es täglich ausgiebig und die Temperaturen erreichen tagsüber 25 bis 28°C, an sonnigen Plätzen auch etwas mehr. Während der Trockenzeit liegen die Temperaturen etwas niedriger und es regnet nicht täglich, aber immernoch sehr regemäßig.

2014 UVI Andasibe 2016 UVI Andasibe

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Anfang April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Vohimana verfügbar.

Habitat:

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat von Brookesia ramanantsoai während der Regenzeit in einem kleinen Schutzgebiet nahe Mandraka. Sowohl in Vohimana als auch nahe Mandraka kommen die Chamäleons eher an Hängen vor. Feingliedrige, kleine Pflanzen und viele Farne bewachsen den Erdboden. Laub und Totholz bedeckt zwar den Boden, bildet aber keine so dicke Schicht wie an anderen Stellen des Waldes. Zum Schlafen suchen Brookesia ramanantsoai häufig wie andere Erdchamäleons der minima-Gruppe die hohen, breiten und bemoosten Wurzeln großer Bäume auf.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus Analamazaotra (Andasibe). Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Regenwald im Nationalpark Andasibe-Mantadia (Analamazaotra), Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Andasibe-Mantadia (Analamazaotra), Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

 

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove