Gravidity and egg deposition

Calumma parsonii yellow giant aus Vohimana
Calumma brevicorne
Furcifer pardalis weiblich, Ankaramibe
Furcifer pardalis aus Ankaramibe, 2017 Weibchen

Gravidity

A successful mating between female and male of a chameleon species is followed by gravidity. Right after mating, the female usually does not want to be with the male anymore. In Madagascar, mating and gravidity fall within the rainy season, so depending on the season somewhen between October and April. In captivity outside Madagascar, it is possible that mating and gravidity take place outside these months, too. The length of gravidity varies between the different chameleon species. You can find data about the length under our species descriptions in “chameleons and habitat data”. In many chameleon species, females soon show a certain gravidity coloration which is very different from their normal coloration. See some examples below.

Already before mating, follicles have been growing on the female’s ovaries. At the time of ovulation, the follicles rupture and let the egg cells escape. The fallopian tube receives the egg cells. Fertilization of the female egg cells with male sperms takes place shortly after mating right inside the fallopian tube. The epithelium of both tubes builds the egg membranes. After a few days, lime begins to deposit on the egg membranes. This process continues until the egg membrane is completely covered by a thin lime shell. In chameleons, eggs are soft-shelled and not as hard as in birds or tortoises.

Concerning feeding, females may get a little more food during the last third of gravidity. Before gravidity, females should not be fed too much since this may lead to huge clutches that weaken the female enormously. During the whole gravidity, you have to take special care for supplementation. The vitamin content of the eggs directly depends on the vitamin supply of the mother. Additionally, the female needs more calcium during gravidity to build the eggshells. Studies prove that an ideal supply of the mother with UV-B radiation improves the hatching success of a clutch.

Gestation period

Females of different chameleon species are gravid for different lengths of time. The following table provides an overview of gravidity lengths.

Species Gestation period Source
Brookesia stumpffi 40 days Schmidt et al. 1989
Brookesia superciliaris 45 days Lippe 1994
Brookesia thieli 31 days Flamme 2005
Calumma globifer 90-120 days Weiß 2005
Calumma parsonii parsonii 152-243 days own experience
Furcifer balteatus 90-120 days Althaus et al. 2009
Furcifer lateralis 40-45 days
30-50 days
30-52 days
30 days
own experience
Schmidt et al. 1987
Schmidt 2001
Schwarz 2008
Furcifer minor 64 days Althaus 2008
Furcifer oustaleti 31-45 days Abate 1999
Furcifer pardalis

 

30-40 days
31-45 days
28-45 days
28 days
19 days
own experience
Schmidt 1988
Schmidt 1989
Deckers 2006
Eckhardt 2018
Furcifer verrucosus 28-42 days
56-70 days
50-60 days
Abate et al. 1995
Schneider et al. 2002
Starke-Huber 2007

 

Test tunnels and egg-laying

A Furcifer pardalis female lays her eggs in the sand, near Diego Suarez

It needs some preparation before a chameleon female can lay her eggs without problems. The female should be inside a terrarium with deep soil of 20 to 30 cm in height. A mixture of sand and forest soil has proven to work especially well for burrowing. During the last days of gravidity, the soil should always be kept humid, because it is easier to dig in the humid ground. Most females stop eating shortly before egg-laying. Plants rooting directly in the soil are very attractive for chameleon females. Heat mats under the soil are rather counterproductive – the soil becoming warmer in the depth may disturb the female while burrowing or in the worst case, prevent her from laying eggs at all.

The same place one day later: You can hardly recognize that there are eggs below

Better place a privacy screen in front of the cage when the female begins roaming around the bottom of the terrarium – she is looking for a suitable place for her eggs. The less you disturb the female, the fewer problems she has in laying eggs. Especially young and inexperienced females dig test tunnels some days for the actual tunnel for the eggs. They dig burrows but do not lay eggs yet. This behavior is normal and disappears with increasing age and increasing numbers of gravidities. Has the female finally found the right place – they love to dig between roots – she digs a deep hole. If deep enough, she turns around, and usually, only the heads look out the burrow while she lays her eggs one by one. After egg deposition, the female turns around again to put the soil back in place carefully. She even puts leaves on top of the burrow so you cannot recognize where she dug afterward. This behavior is part of the egg-laying process, so do not disturb the female until she has finished her works completely and climbs back up on branches. If you have carefully peeked into the terrarium before, you however already know where she laid her eggs.

From some species such as Furcifer lateralis it is known that some females let eggs drop from branches instead of digging a hole. We have never watched such behavior in Madagascar yet. Leaf chameleons (Brookesia ssp.) usually lay only one or two eggs and they do not bury them, but hide them under pieces of wood and foliage. Every egg laying is very exhausting for a chameleon female. So please grant your female peace and silence after successful egg deposition. Offer supplemented feeders and a working dripper. The chameleon female does not care for her offspring after egg laying.

If a female stops digging completely but has not laid eggs or if the female becomes unusually calm or even closes her eyes during the day, you will need to see a vet as soon as possible. Your female may be egg-bound which will end deadly if left untreated. Please do not hesitate and act quickly.

It is good to know that females may build eggs even without mating. These eggs are infertile. Many Malagasy chameleons are able to “store” semen after one single mating and thus are able to build more fertile clutches without more mating. In these cases, the number of fertile eggs decreases with an increasing number of clutches. Please dig out clutches quickly after egg deposition to move them into incubators. You can find more information about the incubation of chameleon eggs in this article.

Clutch size

In terraristics, clutch sizes are usually somewhat larger than in nature because the females can be very well cared for during pregnancy. In nature, they depend on the rainy season, which is more intense or shorter depending on the year. Accordingly, the food supply on Madagascar can change – and with it the possibility of the female to mate and produce eggs. The following table gives an overview of the clutch sizes of Madagascan chameleon species known so far.

Brookesia desperata 2 eggs Glaw et al. 2012 Furcifer labordi 8 eggs Kuijpers 1993
Brookesia exarmata 2 eggs Schimmenti et al. 1996  Furcifer lateralis 10-15 eggs
4-23 eggs
6-11 eggs
6-33 eggs
own experience
Schmidt 2001
Schmidt 1985
Schmidt et al. 1987
Brookesia minima 2 eggs Schmidt 1988 Furcifer major 10-16 eggs
8-23 eggs
Böhle 1998 
Rutsch 2006
Brookesia stumpffi 3-5 eggs
2 eggs
Schmidt et al. 1989
Raxworthy 1991
Furcifer minor 14 eggs
9 eggs
own experience
Althaus 2008
Brookesia superciliaris 4 eggs Lippe 1994 Furcifer oustaleti up to 61 eggs
17-72 eggs
Abate 1999
Smith et al. 2016
Brookesia thieli 3-4 eggs Flamme 2005 Furcifer pardalis 15-35 eggs
12-50 eggs
16 eggs
16-44 eggs
22 eggs
16-29 eggs
24 eggs
own experience
Ferguson et al. 1994
Deckers 2006
Schmidt 1988
Raxworthy 1991
Lutzmann 2006
Eckhardt 2018
Brookesia tristis 2 eggs Glaw et al. 2012  Furcifer timoni 10-14 eggs Glaw et al. 2009
Calumma globifer 15-30 eggs Weiß 2005 Furcifer verrucosus up to 30 eggs
18-26 eggs
Schneider et al. 2002
Starke-Huber 2007
Calumma parsonii parsonii 24-45 eggs
35 eggs
20-31 eggs
69 eggs
own experience
Kalisch 1994
Tröger 1997
Laube et al. 2020
Furcifer voeltzkowi 7 eggs Glaw et al. 2020

 

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Trächtigkeit und Eiablage

Calumma parsonii yellow giant aus Vohimana
Calumma brevicorne
Furcifer pardalis weiblich, Ankaramibe
Furcifer pardalis aus Ankaramibe, 2017 Weibchen

Trächtigkeit

Haben sich Weibchen und Männchen einer Chamäleonart erfolgreich verpaart, folgt die Trächtigkeit. Schon direkt nach der Verpaarung will das Weibchen nichts mehr mit dem Männchen zu tun haben. Auf Madagaskar liegen Verpaarung und Trächtigkeit stets in der Regenzeit, also je nach Region zwischen Oktober und April. In der Terraristik außerhalb Madagaskars ist es aber möglich, dass Chamäleons auch außerhalb dieser Monate trächtig werden und Eier ablegen. Die Trächtigkeitslänge variiert zwischen den verschiedenen Chamäleonarten – Angaben dazu findest du unter den Artbeschreibungen unter „Chamäleons & Habitatsdaten“. Bei vielen Chamäleon-Arten zeigen die Weibchen bald eine deutliche Trächtigkeitsfärbung, die sich stark von der normalen Färbung unterscheidet.

An den Eierstöcken des Weibchens reifen bereits vor der Paarung Follikel heran. Beim Eisprung reißen die Follikel auf und lassen die Eizellen austreten, die dann vom Eileiter aufgenommen werden. Die Befruchtung der weiblichen Eizellen durch die Spermien des männlichen Chamäleons findet kurz nach der Verpaarung noch im Eileiter statt. Das Epithel der beiden Eileiter sorgt nun für die Bildung der Eimembran. Nach ein paar Tagen beginnt sich Kalk auf der Eimembran anzulagern. Dieser Prozess setzt sich solange fort, bis die Eimembran komplett von einer dünnen Kalkschale umhüllt ist. Bei Chamäleons sind die Eier weichschalig und nicht hart wie bei Vögeln oder Schildkröten.

Bei der Fütterung dürfen Weibchen im letzten Drittel der Trächtigkeit etwas mehr bekommen. Vor der Trächtigkeit sollte man von zu reichlicher Fütterung absehen, da dies zu riesigen Gelegen führen kann, die das Weibchen enorm schwächen. Während der gesamten Trächtigkeit ist besonders auf die Supplementierung zu achten, denn der Vitamingehalt der Eier ist direkt von der Vitaminversorgung des Muttertieres abhängig. Außerdem wird während der Trächtigkeit mehr Kalzium zum Aufbau der Eierschalen benötigt. Studien belegen außerdem, dass eine optimale Versorgung des Muttertiers mit UV-B-Strahlung den Schlupferfolgs eines Geleges verbessert.

Trächtigkeitsdauer

Die Weibchen der verschiedenen Chamäleonarten sind unterschiedlich lang trächtig. Die folgende Tabelle gibt eine Übersicht über Trächtigkeitslängen.

Art Trächtigkeitsdauer Quelle
Brookesia stumpffi 40 Tage Schmidt et al. 1989
Brookesia superciliaris 45 Tage Lippe 1994
Brookesia thieli 31 Tage Flamme 2005
Calumma globifer 90-120 Tage Weiß 2005
Calumma parsonii parsonii 152-243 Tage eigene Erfahrung
Furcifer balteatus 90-120 Tage Althaus et al. 2009
Furcifer lateralis 40-45 Tage
30-50 Tage
30-52 Tage
30 Tage
eigene Erfahrungen
Schmidt et al. 1987
Schmidt 2001
Schwarz 2008
Furcifer minor 64 Tage Althaus 2008
Furcifer oustaleti 31-45 Tage Abate 1999
Furcifer pardalis

 

30-40 Tage
31-45 Tage
28-45 Tage
28 Tage
19 Tage
eigene Erfahrungen
Schmidt 1988
Schmidt 1989
Deckers 2006
Eckhardt 2018
Furcifer verrucosus 28-42 Tage
56-70 Tage
50-60 Tage
Abate et al. 1995
Schneider et al. 2002
Starke-Huber 2007

 

Probegrabungen und Eiablage

Ein Furcifer pardalis Weibchen legt Eier im Sand ab, nahe Diego Suarez

Damit ein Chamäleonweibchen problemlos ihre Eier ablegen kann, ist ein wenig Vorbereitung nötig. Das Weibchen sollte in einem Terrarium untergebracht sein, das einen Bodengrund von 20 bis 30 cm Höhe aufweist. Als besonders grabfähig hat sich eine Mischung aus Spielsand und Erde bewährt. In den letzten Tagen der Trächtigkeit sollte der Boden stets feucht gehalten werden, denn in feuchtem Boden lässt es sich leichter graben. Die meisten Weibchen stellen kurz vor der Eiablage die Futteraufnahme ein. Pflanzen, die direkt im Boden wurzeln, sind für viele Weibchen besonders attraktiv zur Eiablage. Heizmatten unter dem Boden sind für die Eiablage kontraproduktiv – der in der Tiefe immer wärmer werdende Bodengrund kann das Weibchen bei der Eiablage stören oder es im schlechtesten Fall ganz von der Eiablage abhalten.

Der Eiablage-Platz am nächsten Tag: Es ist kaum noch etwas zu sehen.

Beginnt ein Weibchen, auf dem Boden herumzulaufen und nach einem geeigneten Eiablageplatz Ausschau zu halten, sollte je nach Standort des Terrariums gegebenenfalls ein Sichtschutz vor dem Terrarium angebracht werden. Je weniger man das Weibchen stört, desto weniger Probleme gibt es bei der Eiablage. Besonders junge und unerfahrene Weibchen führen in der Regel einige Tage vor der eigentlichen Eiablage schon Probegrabungen durch. Sie graben Löcher, legen aber keine Eier. Dieses Verhalten ist normal und verliert sich mit zunehmenden Alter und steigender Zahl der Trächtigkeiten. Ist schließlich der passende Platz gefunden – gerne zwischen Wurzeln – gräbt das Weibchen ein tiefes Loch. Ist es tief genug, dreht das Weibchen sich um und schaut mit dem Kopf meist gerade so aus dem Loch heraus, während sie die Eier nacheinander ablegt. Nach der Eiablage dreht sich das Weibchen wieder um und verschließt sorgfältig das gebuddelte Loch. Auch Laub wird über den Eiablage-Platz geschoben, so dass man hinterher nicht mehr erkennen kann, wo die Eier liegen. Dieses Verhalten gehört zur Eiablage dazu, das Weibchen sollte dabei nicht gestört werden. Wer zwischendurch vorsichtig ins Terrarium gespäht hat, weiß bestenfalls bereits, wo er später suchen muss.

Von einigen Arten wie Furcifer lateralis ist bekannt, dass manche Weibchen einen Teil der Eier frei im Terrarium fallen lassen, anstatt sie zu vergraben. Auf Madagaskar haben wir ein solches Verhalten noch nicht beobachten können. Erdchamäleons (Brookesia ssp.) legen in der Regel nur ein oder zwei Eier, die sie nicht vergraben, sondern unter Rindenstücke oder Laub verstecken. Eine Eiablage ist sehr anstrengend für ein Chamäleon. Man sollte dem Weibchen daher auch nach der Eiablage Ruhe gönnen, supplementiertes Futter zur Verfügung stellen und für eine laufende Tropftränke sorgen. Das Chamäleonweibchen kümmert sich nach erfolgreicher Eiablage nicht mehr um ihren Nachwuchs.

Hört das Weibchen auf zu graben, legt aber keine Eier ab, oder wird das Weibchen ungewöhnlich ruhig und schließt sogar tagsüber mal die Augen, ist der sofortige Gang zum Tierarzt angeraten. Das Weibchen befindet sich möglicherweise in einer Legenot, die unbehandelt tödlich endet. Hier ist schnelles Handeln gefragt.

Zu beachten ist, dass Weibchen auch ohne Verpaarung Eier anbilden und ablegen können. Diese Eier sind unbefruchtet. Viele madagassische Chamäleonarten sind jedoch zur Vorratsbefruchtung fähig. Das bedeutet, dass ein einmalig verpaartes Weibchen Spermien des Männchens speichern kann und damit weitere befruchtete Gelege ohne eine weitere Verpaarung ausbilden kann. Dabei sinkt allerdings mit der Zahl der Gelege nach und nach die Zahl befruchteter Eier. Befruchtete Eier sollte man zügig nach der Eiablage ausgraben, um sie in den Inkubator zu überführen. Mehr zum Thema Inkubation findet sich im Artikel Inkubation der Eier.

 

Gelegegröße

In der Terraristik sind die Gelegegrößen meist etwas größer als in der Natur, da die Weibchen während der Trächtigkeit sehr gut versorgt werden können. In der Natur sind sie von der Regenzeit abhängig, die je nach Jahr intensiver oder kürzer ausfällt. Entsprechend wechselnd kann das Nahrungsangebot auf Madagaskar sein – und damit auch die Möglichkeit des Weibchens, sich zu verpaaren und Eier anzubilden. Die folgende Tabelle gibt einen Überblick über die bisher bekannten Gelegegrößen bei madagassischen Chamäleonarten.

Brookesia desperata 2 Eier Glaw et al. 2012 Furcifer labordi 8 Eier Kuijpers 1993
Brookesia exarmata 2 Eier Schimmenti et al. 1996  Furcifer lateralis 10-15 Eier
4-23 Eier
6-11 Eier
6-33 Eier
eigene Erfahrungen
Schmidt 2001
Schmidt 1985
Schmidt et al. 1987
Brookesia minima 2 Eier Schmidt 1988 Furcifer major 10-16 Eier
8-23 Eier
Böhle 1998 
Rutsch 2006
Brookesia stumpffi 3-5 Eier
2 Eier
Schmidt et al. 1989
Raxworthy 1991
Furcifer minor 14 Eier
9 Eier
eigene Erfahrungen
Althaus 2008
Brookesia superciliaris 4 Eier Lippe 1994 Furcifer oustaleti bis zu 61 Eier
17-72 Eier
Abate 1999
Smith et al. 2016
Brookesia thieli 3-4 Eier Flamme 2005 Furcifer pardalis 15-35 Eier
12-50 Eier
16 Eier
16-44 Eier
22 Eier
16-29 Eier
24 Eier
eigene Erfahrungen
Ferguson et al. 1994
Deckers 2006
Schmidt 1988
Raxworthy 1991
Lutzmann 2006
Eckhardt 2018
Brookesia tristis 2 Eier Glaw et al. 2012  Furcifer timoni 10-14 Eier Glaw et al. 2009
Calumma globifer 15-30 Eier Weiß 2005 Furcifer verrucosus bis zu 30 Eier
18-26 Eier
Schneider et al. 2002
Starke-Huber 2007
Calumma parsonii parsonii 24-45 Eier
35 Eier
20-31 Eier
69 Eier
eigene Erfahrung
Kalisch 1994
Tröger 1997
Laube et al. 2020
Furcifer voeltzkowi 7 Eier Glaw et al. 2020

 

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove