Calumma crypticum

Calumma crypticum Weibchen bei Ambositra 2017
Calumma crypticum Männchen in Anjozorobe
Calumma crypticum Männchen bei Ambositra 2017
Calumma crypticum
Calumma crypticum
Calumma crypticum
Calumma crypticum
Calumma crypticum female
Calumma crypticum female
Calumma crypticum aus Mandraka 2018
Calumma crypticum in Ranomafana 2018
Calumma crypticum in Ranomafana 2018
Calumma crypticum aus Mandraka 2018
Calumma crypticum aus Mandraka 2018
Calumma crypticum aus Mandraka 2018
Calumma crypticum in Anjozorobe 2018
CITES quotas
no legal export possible

First description:

Raxworthy & Nussbaum, 2006

Origin of the species name:

Christopher J. Raxworthy from the American Museum of Natural History, New York (USA) and Ronald A. Nussbaum from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor (USA) borrowed the name of this chameleon species from English cryptic. It was intended to indicate the cryptic status of the species. Calumma crypticum had been counted among Calumma brevicorne for decades and despite the already optically visible differences – unrecognized as a separate species.

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Calumma crypticum

loading map - please wait...

Andohahela: -24.762108, 46.786652
Anjozorobe: -18.468538, 47.988968
Ranomafana: -21.167124, 47.491150
Mandraka: -18.911900, 47.920000
Ambositra: -20.533100, 47.244900
Ambositra: -20.533100, 47.244900

Distribution:

This species, also called blue-legged chameleon in English, only lives in the rainforest at elevations between 1000 and 1800 meters above sea level. Ranomafana and Andohahela national parks belong to their habitat as well as Tsaratanana massif and the area around Anjozorobe. You can find them best in the southern highlands in the forests around Ranomafana. Calumma crypticum prefers closed, dense forests as space to live. In 2016, we found animals in a region nearby Ambositra in the southern highlands for the first time. This population lives in a tiny, probably soon completely disturbed secondary forest with a size of less than 150 m². Due to a lack of habitat, they will probably be gone before anyone can do research to do further examinations in these animals. According to literature, Calumma crypticum does not occur in this area.

Appearance & size:

With a total length of approximately 40 cm in males, Calumma crypticum belongs to Madagascar’s larger chameleons. They look very similar to Calumma brevicorne: Males have distinct nose appendages that are laterally compressed, both genders wear distinct occipital lobes and a dorsal ridge with small cone scales. Males of Calumma crypticum are amazingly colorful, which makes them easy to distinguish from other species: The legs shine bright blue, and some individuals have blue accents along the whole body. Females are less conspicuous with their marbled brown color and yellow accents. The following pictures show some juveniles.

 

Weight table

ewichtstabelle Calumma crypticum 2018
Gewicht = weight in grams, Kopf-Rumpf-Länge = snout-vent-length in cm, Jungtier = juvenile, Weibchen = female, Männchen = male

Since 2017, we measure the weights of Calumma crypticum that we find in Madagascar, of course only if practicable with calm animals (and working scales). Up to date, we have only a few weights. Over the long term, we want to get an average weight in proportion to the snout-vent-length (measured from the tip of the nose to the cloaca) from a large number of measurements for each Madagascan chameleon species. It is important to know that weights were all measured at the end of the rainy season when the chameleons have been having the highest food supply of the year. So our table may show the maximum weights of chameleons in Madagascar. Triangular symbols in females mean not pregnant, spherical symbols mean pregnant.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 23 24 23 23 21 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimum temperature 20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximum temperature 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Rain days 27 24 26 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

The rainforest of Ranomafana is located in Madagascar's southern highlands at elevations around 1000 m above sea level. Thus climate is generally cooler than e.g. on the coast or in the southwestern part of the island. Days reach temperatures around 25°C, rainy season may become a little warmer. Sunny places may get a little above 30°C sometimes. At night, temperature drops down to 20°C in rainy season and even lower to 15°C in dry season.

But "dry" season is very relative in Ranomafana, because the forest does not get dry at all. Never. It may rain less and precipitation is not lasting for days, but it is still rich enough to let ground and trees never dry completely. Key factors of Ranomafana's climate are high humidity and cool nights.

2016 UVI Ranomafana 2015 UVI Ranomafana
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (March) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Ranomafana available yet.

Habitat:

The following pictures show the habitat of Calumma crypticum near Ambositra as well as in Anjozorobe and Ranomafana. The finding place near Ambositra has been almost completely cut down in 2017. In Ranomafana, this species occurs in the intact rainforest with huge trees, lianas, and many ferns. The trees are quasi always moist and mossy overgrown. The forests extend over several canyons and are accordingly rocky, the soil is covered by foliage.

Hereinafter you can find some 360° pictures from Ranomafana. You can move inside these pictures via mouse click in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, a new window with an enlarged view will open. You will also have the opportunity to look at the pictures in full-screen mode. Enjoy!

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald neben Reisfeldern im Schutzgebiet Anjozorobe-Angavo, Region Analamanga, zentrales Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Calumma crypticum

Calumma crypticum Weibchen bei Ambositra 2017
Calumma crypticum Männchen in Anjozorobe
Calumma crypticum Männchen bei Ambositra 2017
Calumma crypticum
Calumma crypticum
Calumma crypticum
Calumma crypticum
Calumma crypticum female
Calumma crypticum female
Calumma crypticum aus Mandraka 2018
Calumma crypticum in Ranomafana 2018
Calumma crypticum in Ranomafana 2018
Calumma crypticum aus Mandraka 2018
Calumma crypticum aus Mandraka 2018
Calumma crypticum aus Mandraka 2018
Calumma crypticum in Anjozorobe 2018
CITES-Quoten
kein legaler Export möglich

Erstbeschreibung:

Raxworthy & Nussbaum, 2006

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Calumma crypticum

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Andohahela: -24.762108, 46.786652
Anjozorobe: -18.468538, 47.988968
Ranomafana: -21.167124, 47.491150
Mandraka: -18.911900, 47.920000
Ambositra: -20.533100, 47.244900

Verbreitung:

Diese Art lebt nur in Regenwäldern auf Höhen zwischen 1000 und 1800 Metern. Zu ihrem Lebensraum gehören die Nationalparks Ranomafana und Andohahela sowie das Tsaratanana-Gebirge und die Gegend um Anjozorobe. Am besten findet man sie im südlichen Hochland in den Wäldern um Ranomafana und im nördlichen Hochland in Anjozorobe. Calumma crypticum bevorzugt geschlossene, dichte Wälder als Lebensraum. Wir haben 2016 erstmals Tiere in einer Region nahe Ambositra im südlichen Hochland gefunden. Diese Population lebt in einem winzigen, wahrscheinlich bald komplett abgerodetem Sekundärwald von nicht einmal 150 m² Größe. 2017 stand davon bereits nur noch eine einzelne Reihe von Bäumen. Diese Population wird wahrscheinlich mangels Lebensraum verschwunden sein, bevor irgendjemand dazu kommt, die Tiere näher zu untersuchen. Laut Literatur kommt Calumma crypticum in dieser Gegend gar nicht vor.

Aussehen & Größe:

Calumma crypticum gehört mit einer Gesamtlänge von etwa 40 cm bei den Männchen zu den größeren Chamäleons. Im Aussehen sind sie Calumma brevicorne sehr ähnlich: Die Männchen tragen deutliche Nasenfortsätze, die von der Seite betrachtet flach erscheinen, beide Geschlechter haben deutliche Occipitallappen und einen Rückenkamm mit kleinen Kegelschuppen. Auffällig bei Calumma crypticum ist das bunte Farbkleid der Männchen, was sie von anderen Arten stark unterscheidet: Die Beine leuchten blau, und manche Individuen sind auch am übrigen Körper mit blauen Akzenten versehen. Tagsüber findet man die blauen Farben bei Männchen nicht immer. Die Weibchen sind etwas unscheinbarer braun marmoriert gefärbt mit gelben Akzenten. Einige Fotos von Jungtieren der Art findest du im Folgenden.

Besonderheiten:

Wegen der großen Ähnlichkeit wurde Calumma crypticum lange Zeit zu Calumma brevicorne gezählt, seit 2006 sind die Tiere als eigene Art beschrieben.

 

Gewichtstabelle

ewichtstabelle Calumma crypticum 2018

Seit 2017 messen wir die Gewichte von uns gefundener Calumma crypticum auf Madagaskar, soweit die Tiere (und unsere Waagen) mitmachen. Bisher sind es nur wenige Gewichte, langfristig soll sich aus einer möglichst großen Anzahl Messungen ein durchschnittliches Gewicht im Verhältnis zur Kopf-Rumpf-Länge (gemessen von der Nasenspitze bis zur Kloake) für jede Art ablesen lassen. Das heißt, aus den aktuellen Tabellen lässt sich leider noch nicht allzuviel herauslesen, sie können jedoch ein erster Anhaltspunkt sein. Wichtig zu wissen ist, dass alle Gewichte gegen Ende der Regenzeit (= bestes Futterangebot) gemessen wurde, es dürfte sich also um Maximalgewichte auf Madagaskar handeln. Dreieckige Symbole bei Weibchen bedeuten nicht trächtig, runde Symbole bedeuten trächtig.

 

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 23 24 23 23 21 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimale Temperatur 20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximale Temperatur 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Regentage 27 24 26 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Der Regenwald von Ranomafana liegt im südlichen Hochland Madagaskars auf Höhen um die 1000 m über Meeresniveau. Damit ist das Klima hier grundsätzlich kühler als z.B. an der Küste oder im Südwesten der Insel. Tagsüber wird es um die 25°C warm, während der Regenzeit auch wärmer. Sonnige Stellen erreichen auch mal knapp über 30°C. Nachts sinken die Temperaturen herunter bis auf 20°C in der Regenzeit und bis auf 15°C in der Trockenzeit.

Trockenzeit ist in Ranomafana allerdings sehr relativ, denn wirklich trocken wird es hier nie. Es regnet zwar etwas weniger und nicht tagelang am Stück, aber trotzdem noch ergiebig genug, dass Erdboden und Bäume nie völlig abtrocknen. Eine hohe Luftfeuchtigkeit und kühle Nächte sind die Schlüsselfaktoren in Ranomafana.

2016 UVI Ranomafana 2015 UVI Ranomafana

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (März) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Ranomafana verfügbar.

 

Habitat:

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat von Calumma crypticum nahe Ambositra sowie in Anjozorobe und Ranomafana. Der Fundort nahe Ambositra war bereits 2017 weitestgehend abgeholzt. In Ranomafana kommt die Art vor allem in intaktem Regenwald vor, der mit riesigen Bäumen, Lianen und vielen Farnen aufwartet. Die Bäume sind quasi immer feucht und moosig bewachsen. Der Wald zieht sich über mehrere Schluchten und ist entsprechend felsig, der Erdboden ist von dickem Laub bedeckt.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus Ranomafana. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald neben Reisfeldern im Schutzgebiet Anjozorobe-Angavo, Region Analamanga, zentrales Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove