Calumma juliae

CITES-Quoten
no legal export possible

First description:

Prötzel, Vences, Hawlitschek, Scherz, Ratsoavina & Glaw, 2018

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Calumma juliae

loading map - please wait...

Moramanga: -18.947100, 48.230400

Distribution:

Up to now, Calumma juliae is exclusively known from a very small forest area near Moramanga in the eastern highlands of Madagascar. It is rather a remnant of forest, which is already almost completely surrounded by rice and cornfields. Whether the species occurs in other forest remnants of the region is not yet known. However, one must currently assume that the distribution area of the species is not only minutely small but also highly threatened by deforestation.

Look and size:

Calumma juliae belongs to the small chameleons. The females are only 10 to 12 cm long including tail. Characteristic for Calumma juliae are small occipital lobes which are not separated from each other in the middle when viewed from above. The dorsal crest consists of 11 to 14 tubercles.

The females of this species are greyish-beige to reddish-brown in color and have a small, round nose extension with light green scales. Excited animals have light green patterns on the head. The eyelids have bright blue stripes arranged in a circle, in addition, a dark horizontal stripe can run from the nose to the occipital lobes. On the arms and legs, there are slightly larger scales, which are also colored light green, than on the body

Good to know:

Up to now, no male of Calumma juliae has ever been found – therefore it is not yet known what it looks like. It is also unclear whether males exist at all or whether this species – which would be very unusual for chameleons – is possibly capable of parthenogenesis, i.e. reproduction without males.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 23 24 23 23 22 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimum temperature20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximum temperature 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Rain days 27 24 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

The region around Andasibe with the belonging forests Mantadia and Analamazaotra is located in Madagascar's eastern highlands at elevations between 900 and 1250 m above sea level. Thus temperatures sometimes reach temperatures above 25°C, but thermometers rarely climbs above 30°C or only in sunny places. At night, temperatures always drop to 10° to 15°C.

Humidity in Andasibe's rainforest is high all year long. During rainy season, it rains intensively every day, sometimes rain even lasts for days. But also dry season does not differ much besides the fact of cooler temperatures. It still rains at least every other day, in most years more often. Rain, humidity and temperature drop at night are the key features of the region around Andasibe.

2014 UVI Andasibe 2016 UVI Andasibe
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (March, April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for the region of Andasibe available yet.

Habitat:

The following photos show parts of the habitat of Calumma juliae near Moramanga. The small chameleons live here mainly in dense undergrowth between trees with very thin branches.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Calumma juliae

CITES-Quoten
kein legaler Export möglich

Erstbeschreibung:

Prötzel, Vences, Hawlitschek, Scherz, Ratsoavina & Glaw, 2018

Herkunft des Artnamens:

David Prötzel von der Zoologischen Staatssammlung München widmete die Art seiner Freundin Julia Forster.

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Calumma juliae

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Moramanga: -18.947100, 48.230400

Verbreitung:

Bisher ist Calumma juliae ausschließlich aus einem sehr kleinen Waldgebiet nahe Moramanga im östlichen Hochland Madagaskars bekannt. Es handelt sich eher um ein Überbleibsel von Wald, das schon jetzt fast vollständig von Reis- und Maisfeldern umgeben ist. Ob die Art noch in weiteren Waldresten der Region vorkommt, ist bisher ungeklärt. Man muss jedoch aktuell davon ausgehen, dass das Verbreitungsgebiet der Art nicht nur winzig klein, sondern auch stark von Abholzung bedroht ist.

Aussehen und Größe:

Calumma juliae gehört zu den kleinen Chamäleons. Die Weibchen werden inklusive Schwanz lediglich 10 bis 12 cm lang. Charakteristisch für Calumma juliae sind kleine Occipitallappen, die von oben betrachtet in der Mitte nicht vollständig voneinander getrennt sind. Der Rückenkamm besteht aus 11 bis 14 Kegelschuppen.

Die Weibchen der Art sind gräulich-beige bis rötlichbraun gefärbt und tragen einen kleinen, runden Nasenfortsatz mit hellgrünen Schuppen darauf. Auf dem Kopf finden sich bei erregten Tieren hellgrüne Muster. Die Augenlider tragen im Kreis angeordnete leuchtend blaue Streifen, außerdem kann ein dunkler Querstreifen von der Nase bis zu den Occipitallappen laufen. Auf den Armen und Beinen sind etwas größere Schuppen als am Körper vorhanden, die ebenfalls hellgrün gefärbt sind.

Besonderheiten:

Bisher wurde noch nie ein Männchen von Calumma juliae gefunden – deshalb weiß man noch nicht, wie es aussieht. Unklar ist auch, ob es überhaupt Männchen gibt oder diese Art – das wäre sehr ungewöhnlich für Chamäleons – möglicherweise zur Parthenogenese fähig ist, also der Fortpflanzung ohne Männchen.

 

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 23 24 23 23 22 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimale Temperatur 20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximale Temperatur 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Regentage 27 24 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Die Region um Andasibe mit den dazugehörigen Wäldern Mantadia und Analamazaotra liegen im östlichen Hochland Madagaskars auf Höhen zwiscen 900 und 1250 m über Meeresniveau. Es wird deshalb tagsüber zwar mal über 25°C warm, über die 30°-Grenze klettert das Thermometer aber eher selten oder nur in Sonnenflecken. Nachts fallen die Temperaturen immer tief in den Keller. 10° bis 15° Grad sind die Regel.

Die Luftfeuchtigkeit in den Regenwäldern um Andasibe ist das ganze Jahr über hoch. Während der Regenzeit regnet es täglich ausgiebig, manchmal hält der Regen über Tage an. Aber auch die Trockenzeit unterscheidet sich nicht massiv, außer dass sie etwas kühlere Temperaturen aufweist. Es regnet trotzdem mindestens jeden zweiten Tag, eher öfter. Regen, hohe Luftfeuchtigkeit und nächtlicher Temperatursturz sind daher die zentralen Punkte im Klima Andasibes.

2014 UVI Andasibe 2016 UVI Andasibe

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (März, April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für die Region Andasibe verfügbar.

Habitat:

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat von Calumma juliae nahe Moramanga. Die kleinen Chamäleons leben hier vor allem in dichtem Gestrüpp zwischen Bäumen mit sehr dünnen Ästchen.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove