Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Calumma parsonii cristifer

Calumma parsonii cristifer in VOIMMA 2017
Calumma parsonii cristifer in VOIMMA 2017
Calumma parsonii cristifer in VOIMMA 2017
Calumma parsonii cristifer in VOIMMA 2017
Calumma parsonii cristifer aus Mitsino 2016
Calumma parsonii cristifer aus Mitsinjo 2016
Calumma parsonii cristifer aus Mitsinjo 2016
Calumma parsonii cristifer aus Andasibe
Calumma parsonii cristifer Andasibe 2014
Calumma parsonii cristifer, VOIMMA 2017
CITES quotas
2011-13 each specimen, 2014-19 each 300 specimen for legal export

First description:

Methuen & Hewitt, 1913

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Calumma parsonii cristifer

loading map - please wait...

Analamazaotra: -18.929752, 48.431940
Analamazaotra - Mitsinjo: -18.919197, 48.415632
Andasibe: -18.952727, 48.433914

Distribution:

This subspecies of the Parson’s chameleon mainly lives in the rainforest around Andasibe. They are rather easy to find in Analamazaotra and the communally led reserve V.O.I.M.M.A. The habitat is an evergreen rainforest and the animals can even be found in the gardens of hotel Feon’ny Ala. They often sit in head height.

Appearance & size:

Calumma parsonii cristifer is a little smaller than Calumma parsonii parsonii, but nevertheless has an impressive size with 55 to 60 cm total length. They have a green-turquoise basic colour with different accents. Males often have a distinct orange spot on the sides, they also have two nose appendages that are characteristic for Parson’s. Females have only very small nose appendages. The easiest way to distinguish this species from its sister species is to look at the dorsal crest: Cristifer has a ridge, and parsonii has a smooth back. Until now, we could not distinguish any “locales” in this species. Males with much orange colours as well as turquoise-blueish males and even green specimen live in the same areas, partially only few metres from each other. In females, we also could not find a difference between brown and green coloured individuals, neither which concerns age nor gravidity or finding places.

Gewichtstabelle

Weibchen = female, Männchen = male, Jungtier = juvenile, Gewicht = weight, Kopf-Rumpf-Länge = snout-vent-length

Since 2017 we measure the weights of Calumma parsonii cristifer found by us on Madagascar, as far as the animals (and our scales) participate. So far there are only a few weights, in the long term an average weight in relation to the snout-vent-length (measured from the tip of the nose to the cloaca) for each species should be read off from as large a number of measurements as possible. This means that unfortunately not too much can be read out of the current tables, but they can be a first clue. It is important to know that all weights were measured towards the end of the rainy season (= best food supply), so they are probably maximum weights in Madagascar. Triangular symbols in females do not mean pregnant, round symbols mean pregnant.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 23 24 23 23 22 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimum temperature20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximum temperature 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Rain days 27 24 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

The region around Andasibe with the belonging forests Mantadia and Analamazaotra is located in Madagascar's eastern highlands at elevations between 900 and 1250 m above sea level. Thus temperatures sometimes reach temperatures above 25°C, but thermometers rarely climbs above 30°C or only in sunny places. At night, temperatures always drop to 10° to 15°C.

Humidity in Andasibe's rainforest is high all year long. During rainy season, it rains intensively every day, sometimes rain even lasts for days. But also dry season does not differ much besides the fact of cooler temperatures. It still rains at least every other day, in most years more often. Rain, humidity and temperature drop at night are the key features of the region around Andasibe.

2014 UVI Andasibe 2016 UVI Andasibe
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (March, April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for the region of Andasibe available yet.

Habitat:

The following pictures show habitats of Calumma parsonii cristifer in the region of Andasibe. Some are even from finding places of the species. The rainforest of this area consists of slender trees. Calumma parsonii cristifer prefers high trees with thick branches inside the rainforest. Sometimes you can also find them in secondary vegetation when there’s nothing else around.

Hereinafter you can find some 360° pictures from Andasibe. You can move inside these pictures via mouse click in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, a new window with an enlarged view will open. You will also have the opportunity to look at the pictures in full screen mode. Enjoy!

Regenwald im Reservat V.O.I.M.M.A., Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Reservat V.O.I.M.M.A., Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Reservat V.O.I.M.M.A., Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Reservat V.O.I.M.M.A., Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Andasibe-Mantadia (Analamazaotra), Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Calumma parsonii cristifer

Calumma parsonii cristifer in VOIMMA 2017
Calumma parsonii cristifer in VOIMMA 2017
Calumma parsonii cristifer in VOIMMA 2017
Calumma parsonii cristifer in VOIMMA 2017
Calumma parsonii cristifer aus Mitsino 2016
Calumma parsonii cristifer aus Mitsinjo 2016
Calumma parsonii cristifer aus Mitsinjo 2016
Calumma parsonii cristifer aus Andasibe
Calumma parsonii cristifer Andasibe 2014
Calumma parsonii cristifer, VOIMMA 2017
CITES-Quoten
2011-13 keine Tiere, 2014-18 je 300 Tiere für den legalen Export freigegeben

Erstbeschreibung:

Methuen & Hewitt, 1913

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Calumma parsonii cristifer

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Analamazaotra: -18.929752, 48.431940
Analamazaotra - Mitsinjo: -18.919197, 48.415632
Andasibe: -18.952727, 48.433914

Verbreitung:

Diese Unterart des Parsons-Chamäleons findet man überwiegend in den Regenwäldern der Region Andasibe. Besonders einfach sind diese Chamäleons in Analamazaotra, im Reservat Mitsinjo und dem kommunal geleiteten Schutzgebiet V.O.I.M.M.A. zu finden. Der Lebensraum ist immergrüner Regenwald und die Tiere sind sogar auf dem Gelände des Hotels Feon’ny Ala etwas außerhalb von Andasibe zu finden. Oft sitzen sie nur gering über Kopfhöhe.

Aussehen & Größe:

Calumma parsonii cristifer wird nicht so groß wie Calumma parsonii parsonii, weist jedoch mit rund 55 bis 60 cm Gesamtlänge schon eine beachtliche Größe auf. Die Tiere haben eine grün-türkise Grundfärbung, mit verschiedenfarbigen Farbakzenten. Die Männchen haben einen auffälligen orangen Fleck an der Körperseite, sie besitzen außerdem die schaufelförmigen Nasenfortsätze, die für Parsons charakteristisch sind. Bei den weiblichen Tieren sind nur kleine Stummel dieser Nasenfortsätze zu finden. Am einfachsten ist diese Art von ihrer Schwesternspezies zu unterscheiden, wenn man sich den Rückenkamm der Tiere ansieht: Bei cristifer ist dieser mit spitzen, konusförmigen Schuppen versehen, bei parsonii ist der Rückenkamm glatt. Wir haben bisher keinerlei „Lokalformen“ bei dieser Art feststellen können. Sowohl Tiere mit starken Orangeakzenten als auch türkis-blaue Männchen und eher grüne Exemplare leben in den gleichen Arealen, teils sogar nur wenige Meter voneinander entfernt. Bei den Weibchen haben wir bisher keine Unterschiede zwischen braunen und grünen Farben feststellen können – weder, was Alter oder Trächtigkeit noch was die Fundorte angeht. Ein paar Fotos von Jungtieren der Art finden sich im Folgenden.

Gewichtstabelle

Seit 2017 messen wir die Gewichte von uns gefundener Calumma parsonii cristifer auf Madagaskar, soweit die Tiere (und unsere Waagen) mitmachen. Bisher sind es nur wenige Gewichte, langfristig soll sich aus einer möglichst großen Anzahl Messungen ein durchschnittliches Gewicht im Verhältnis zur Kopf-Rumpf-Länge (gemessen von der Nasenspitze bis zur Kloake) für jede Art ablesen lassen. Das heißt, aus den aktuellen Tabellen lässt sich leider noch nicht allzuviel herauslesen, sie können jedoch ein erster Anhaltspunkt sein. Wichtig zu wissen ist, dass alle Gewichte gegen Ende der Regenzeit (= bestes Futterangebot) gemessen wurde, es dürfte sich also um Maximalgewichte auf Madagaskar handeln. Dreieckige Symbole bei Weibchen bedeuten nicht trächtig, runde Symbole bedeuten trächtig.

 

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 23 24 23 23 22 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimale Temperatur 20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximale Temperatur 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Regentage 27 24 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Die Region um Andasibe mit den dazugehörigen Wäldern Mantadia und Analamazaotra liegen im östlichen Hochland Madagaskars auf Höhen zwiscen 900 und 1250 m über Meeresniveau. Es wird deshalb tagsüber zwar mal über 25°C warm, über die 30°-Grenze klettert das Thermometer aber eher selten oder nur in Sonnenflecken. Nachts fallen die Temperaturen immer tief in den Keller. 10° bis 15° Grad sind die Regel.

Die Luftfeuchtigkeit in den Regenwäldern um Andasibe ist das ganze Jahr über hoch. Während der Regenzeit regnet es täglich ausgiebig, manchmal hält der Regen über Tage an. Aber auch die Trockenzeit unterscheidet sich nicht massiv, außer dass sie etwas kühlere Temperaturen aufweist. Es regnet trotzdem mindestens jeden zweiten Tag, eher öfter. Regen, hohe Luftfeuchtigkeit und nächtlicher Temperatursturz sind daher die zentralen Punkte im Klima Andasibes.

2014 UVI Andasibe 2016 UVI Andasibe

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (März, April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für die Region Andasibe verfügbar.

Habitat:

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat von Calumma parsonii cristifer in der Region rund um Andasibe. Einige sind direkt von Fundorten der Art. Die Regenwälder dieser Gegend bestehen vor allem aus jungen, schmaleren Bäumen. Calumma parsonii cristifer bevorzugt hohe Bäume mit dicken Ästen im Regenwald, läuft aber auch mal in Sekundärvegetation herum, wenn sich nichts anderes bietet. 

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus Andasibe. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Regenwald im Reservat V.O.I.M.M.A., Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Reservat V.O.I.M.M.A., Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Reservat V.O.I.M.M.A., Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Reservat V.O.I.M.M.A., Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Andasibe-Mantadia (Analamazaotra), Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove