Calumma uetzi

CITES quotas
no legal export possible

 

First description:

Prötzel, Vences, Hawlitschek, Scherz, Ratsoavina & Glaw, 2018

Origin of the species name:

Frank Glaw of the Munich State Zoological Collection (Germany) had the idea to name the species after Peter Uetz. The German biologist has been running the Reptile Database, a platform with information from the species descriptions of all over 11,000 reptile species worldwide, since 1995. The database has been used for years by scientists as a free, reliable tool and is consistently referenced in scientific publications. Since 2006, Uetz has worked as a professor in the Center for Study of Biological Complexity at Virginia Commonwealth University in Richmond (USA).

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Calumma uetzi

loading map - please wait...

Marojejy: -14.418305, 49.681549
Sorata: -13.674010, 49.420624

Distribution:

Two different populations of Calumma uetzi are known. One species population occurs in the Sorata Massif in northern Madagascar, the second in the Marojejy National Park in the northeast of the island, about 100 km to the south. The population in Sorata lives at altitudes of 1100 to 1500 meters, while the one in Marojejy is found at around 1300 meters. Calumma uetzi is a pure rainforest inhabitant and is not found in the lower rainforest or even outside the primary forest. It is found in very dense scrub on very thin branches. We have found it so far exclusively well above Camp Marojejya.

Appearance and size:

Calumma uetzi has been known as “the rainbow chameleon”. However, this description only applies to the population in Sorata. The males there show an impressive play of colors when excited, with a yellow body and a red lateral stripe framed by blue. However, the population in Marojejy (see photos) does not show these colors. in Marojejy, the males are beige to white with light blue spots. Both sexes bear a dark stripe on either side of the head, each extending from the nose over the eyelids to the occipital lobes. Females are more nondescript beige with indistinct white lateral stripe. The females from Marojejy show additional light blue spots all over the body. When excited, they turn almost black with conspicuous light accents on the helmet and nose.

Calumma uetzi grows only up to ten centimeters long, which is why it is one of the smaller chameleons. The occipital lobes are clearly notched but not completely separated. Both sexes carry a small dorsal crest, which may be interrupted by single larger tubercles in single individuals. Equally conspicuous is the upward projecting soft nasal process. On the forearms, the scaling is rather heterogeneous.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 26 26 26 25 25 23 23 22 23 24 25 26
Minimum temperature 24 24 23 23 22 21 20 19 20 21 22 24
Maximum temperature 30 29 29 29 28 27 25 25 25 27 28 30
Rain days 28 23 27 22 24 21 20 18 23 22 16 25

Marojejy mainly consists of rainforest that extends over the eponymic sacred mountain at elevations of 200 to maximally 2100 m above sea level. In the highest areas, climate is cool and vegetation sparse, but most chameleons live in the warmer dense rainforest below. Marojejy has different altitude levels, each with its own species living in its own climate. In the lowest altitude level it is very warm and humid, in the middle and high altitudes it becomes a little cooler, but not less humid.

In Marojejy, there is few difference between rainy and dry season. Humidity is always very, very high. In the rainy season, precipitation is more intense with rainfalls that may last for days and sometimes are accompagnied by heavy storms. In the dry season, temperatures are a little lower, but it never becomes really cold. And it still rains almost daily. It really cannot become dry in Marojejy during "dry" season. Humidity is the main key factor of this rainforest. In 2022, we measured relative humidity on various days during the rainy season, and the data can be found below.

2022 Luftfeuchtigkeit Marojejy 2022 Luftfeuchtigkeit Marojejy
2022 UVI Marojejy2022 UVI Marojejy 2015 UVI Marojejy

Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (end of March until beginning of April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Marojejy available yet.

Since 2022, in addition to other climate data, we have been measuring air pressure at the locations we visit in Madagascar. The following data is from different days during the rainy season. On the X-axis is the time of day or night. In Madagascar, the day begins around 6 a.m., and night falls at 6 p.m. The Y-axis shows the atmospheric pressure in hPa.

2022 Luftdruck Marojejy 2022 Luftdruck Marojejy

Habitat:

The following photos show sections of the habitat of Calumma uetzi during the rainy season in Marojejy. The rainforest of Marojejy is located in a mountain range that consists almost entirely of ravines and steep slopes. At the altitude where Calumme uetzi occurs, the forest is crossed by many small streams. Many ancient giant trees are covered with endless moss. The undergrowth is very dense, the species especially likes shrubby plants with dense foliage. The soil is earthy and interspersed with countless rocks.

Below you will find some 360° images from Marojejys rainforest. With the mouse, you can rotate in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, the images will open in an enlarged view in a separate window. There is also the possibility to run the pictures in full-screen mode. Have fun watching!

Regenwald im Nationalpark Marojejy, Region Sava, Nordost-Madagaskar, April 2022 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Marojejy, Region Sava, Nordost-Madagaskar, April 2022 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Marojejy, Region Sava, Nordost-Madagaskar, April 2022 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Calumma uetzi

CITES-Quoten
kein legaler Export möglich

 

Erstbeschreibung:

Prötzel, Vences, Hawlitschek, Scherz, Ratsoavina & Glaw, 2018

Herkunft des Artnamens:

Frank Glaw von der Zoologischen Staatssammlung München hatte die Idee, die Art nach Peter Uetz zu benennen. Der deutsche Biologe betreibt seit 1995 die Reptile Database, eine Datenbank mit Informationen aus den Artbeschreibungen aller über 11.000 Reptilien-Arten weltweit. Die Datenbank wird seit Jahren von Wissenschaftlern als kostenloses, zuverlässiges Nachschlagewerk verwendet und immer wieder in wissenschaftlichen Publikationen erwähnt. Seit 2006 arbeitet Uetz als Professor im Center for Study of Biological Complexity an der Virginia Commonwealth Universität in Richmond (USA).

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Calumma uetzi

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Marojejy: -14.418305, 49.681549
Sorata: -13.674010, 49.420624

Verbreitung:

Von Calumma uetzi sind zwei verschiedene Populationen bekannt. Eine Population der Art kommt im Sorata-Massif im Norden Madagaskars vor, die zweite im rund 100 km südlicher gelegenen Nationalpark Marojejy im Nordosten der Insel. Die Population in Sorata lebt auf Höhen von 1100 bis 1500 Meter, während die in Marojejy auf rund 1300 m zu finden ist. Calumma uetzi ist ein reiner Regenwaldbewohner und nicht im niedrigeren Regenwald oder gar außerhalb des Primärwaldes zu finden. Man findet sie in sehr dichtem Gebüsch auf sehr dünnen Ästchen. Wir haben sie bisher ausschließlich deutlich über Camp Marojejya gefunden.

Aussehen und Größe:

Calumma uetzi wurde als „das Regenbogenchamäleon“ bekannt. Diese Beschreibung trifft jedoch nur auf die Population in Sorata zu. Die Männchen dort zeigen bei Erregung ein beeindruckendes Farbenspiel mit gelbem Körper und einem roten Lateralstreifen, der von Blau umrahmt wird. Die Population in Marojejy (siehe Fotos) zeigt diese Farben jedoch nicht. Dort sind die Männchen beige bis weiß mit hellblauen Punkten. Beide Geschlechter tragen einen dunklen Streifen zu beiden Seiten des Kopfes, der jeweils von der Nase über die Augenlider bis zu den Occipitallappen reicht. Die Weibchen sind eher unscheinbar beige mit undeutlichem, weißen Lateralstreifen. Die Weibchen aus Marojejy zeigen zusätzlich hellblaue Punkte am gesamten Körper. Bei Erregung färben sie sich fast schwarz mit auffälligen hellen Akzenten auf Helm und Nase.

Calumma uetzi wird nur bis zu zehn Zentimeter lang, weshalb es zu den kleineren Chamäleons zählt. Die Occipitallappen sind am Hinterkopf der Tiere deutlich zweigeteilt, aber nicht vollständig voneinander getrennt. Beide Geschlechter tragen einen kleinen Rückenkamm, der bei einzelnen Individuen von einzelnen größeren Tuberkeln durchbrochen sein kann. Ebenso auffällig ist der nach oben ragende weiche Nasenfortsatz. Auf den Unterarmen ist die Beschuppung eher heterogen.

 

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 26 26 26 25 25 23 23 22 23 24 25 26
Minimale Temperatur 24 24 23 23 22 21 20 19 20 21 22 24
Maximale Temperatur 30 29 29 29 28 27 25 25 25 27 28 30
Regentage 28 23 27 22 24 21 20 18 23 22 16 25

Marojejy besteht vorwiegend aus einem Regenwald, der sich über das gleichnamige heilige Gebirge auf Höhen von 200 bis maximal 2100 m über Meeresniveau erstreckt. In den höchsten Gebieten ist das Klima kühl und die Vegetation karg, die meisten Chamäleons leben jedoch im wärmeren Regenwald darunter. Marojejy verfügt über verschiedene Höhenstufen, auf der jeweils eigene Arten in einem eigenen Klima leben. In der niedrigsten Höhenstufe ist es sehr warm und feucht, in den mittleren und höhen Lagen wird es etwas kühler, aber nicht weniger feucht.

In Marojejy gibt es nur wenig Unterschied zwischen Regen- und Trockenzeit. Die Luftfeuchtigkeit ist stetig sehr, sehr hoch. In der Regenzeit sind die Niederschläge ergiebiger, halten oft Tage an und gehen ab und zu mit schweren Stürmen einher. In der Trockenzeit liegen die Temperaturen etwas niedriger, richtig kalt wird es jedoch nie und es regnet immernoch fast täglich. Und trocken wird es in der Trockenzeit in Marojejy auch nicht. 2022 haben wir die relative Luftfeuchtigkeit an verschiedenen Tagen in der Regenzeit gemessen, die Daten finden sich im Folgenden.

2022 Luftfeuchtigkeit Marojejy 2022 Luftfeuchtigkeit Marojejy

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 in der Regenzeit, Ende März und Mitte April, zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

2022 UVI Marojejy2022 UVI Marojejy 2015 UVI Marojejy
Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Marojejy verfügbar.

Seit 2022 messen wir zusätzlich zu anderen Klimadaten auch den Luftdruck an den von uns besuchten Orten auf Madagaskar. Die folgenden Daten stammen von verschiedenen Tagen während der Regenzeit. Auf der X-Achse befindet sich die Tages- oder Nachtzeit. Auf Madagaskar beginnt der Tag gegen 6 Uhr, die Nacht bricht bereits um 18 Uhr an. Die Y-Achse zeigt den atmosphärischen Luftdruck in hPa an.

2022 Luftdruck Marojejy 2022 Luftdruck Marojejy

Habitat:

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat von Calumma uetzi zur Regenzeit in Marojejy. Der Regenwald von Marojejy liegt in einem Gebirge, das fast nur aus Schluchten und steilen Hängen besteht. Auf der Höhe, auf der Calumme uetzi vorkommt, ist der Wald von vielen kleinen Bächen durchzogen. Viele uralte Baumriesen sind von unendlich viel Moos überzogen. Das Unterholz ist sehr dicht, die Art mag besonders strauchige Pflanzen mit dichtem Blattwerk. Der Boden ist erdig und von unzähligen Felsen durchzogen.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus Marojejys Regenwald. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Regenwald im Nationalpark Marojejy, Region Sava, Nordost-Madagaskar, April 2022 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Marojejy, Region Sava, Nordost-Madagaskar, April 2022 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Marojejy, Region Sava, Nordost-Madagaskar, April 2022 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove