Furcifer lateralis

Furcifer lateralis in Ambalavo
Furcifer lateralis in Ambalavo
Furcifer lateralis in Ambalavo
Furcifer lateralis
Furcifer lateralis
Furcifer lateralis
Furcifer lateralis
Furcifer lateralis
Furcifer lateralis
Furcifer lateralis
Furcifer lateralis
Furcifer lateralis
Furcifer lateralis
Furcifer lateralis
Furcifer lateralis
Furcifer lateralis in Isalo
Furcifer lateralis südliches Hochland 2018
Furcifer lateralis südliches Hochland 2018
Furcifer lateralis südliches Hochland 2018
Furcifer lateralis südliches Hochland 2018
CITES quotas
2011-22 each 2000 specimens for legal export

First description:

(Gray, 1831)

Origin of the species name:

The English zoologist John Edward Gray was very brief in his description of this chameleon species: it consists of just keywords instead of a coherent sentence. In 1831, Gray was busy cataloging the reptile collection of the zoological department of the British Museum in London (Great Britain). Gray called the species “streaked-sided chameleon”, but in Latin lateralis only the “sided” is left. Similarly, old publications speak partly of the “Caméléon au bandes laterales”, which also indicates that the name is due to the body drawing.

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Furcifer lateralis

loading map - please wait...

Antananarivo: -18.910000, 47.525600
Ambatolampy: -19.385400, 47.426900
Fianarantsoa: -21.453400, 47.085400
Antsirabe: -19.871400, 47.034700
Ambositra: -20.533100, 47.244900
Isalo: -22.479568, 45.291138
Moramanga: -18.947100, 48.230400
Ambalavao: -21.832000, 46.937500
Ihosy: -22.404600, 46.127200
Ampefy: -19.047100, 46.712000
Anjozorobe: -18.398000, 47.882400
Ambohitantely: -18.152213, 47.301636
Manjakandriana: -18.920400, 47.810300
Ranomafana: -21.216020, 47.439308
Ifanadiana: -21.303500, 47.637800
Betampona: -21.202938, 48.227406
Ambohimahasoa: -21.106400, 47.214500
Ambalamanakana: -20.739700, 47.182200
Itremo: -20.593900, 46.637100
Ambohimanjaka: -20.201500, 47.091800
Andringitra: -22.230474, 46.928787
Antanifotsy: -22.113851, 46.900721
Isaka: -21.139800, 47.015900
Iakanga: -22.107967, 46.805964

Distribution:

Furcifer lateralis can be found in Madagascar’s central highlands and along the east coast from southern regions to somewhat north of the capital, whereby they settle different habitats from relatively dry grass savannahs to more humid forests. They also find a home in secondary vegetation at the edges of rice fields, close to clay huts and smaller villages. Even in Antananarivo, some carpet chameleons live along the dikes at the edge of the local rivers. The easiest way to find these animals is to search bushes and shrubs directly along the streets. Furcifer lateralis occurs at elevations from 900 to 1560 m asl.

Furcifer lateralis in Isalo 2017

Furcifer lateralis in Isalo

Aussehen und Größe:

With a total length of 23-25 cm (snout-vent-length without tail 9-10 cm), this chameleon species belongs to the small to middle-sized chameleons. They have a colorful, complex color pattern made of red, yellow, black and blue spots – this is what they received their trivial name “carpet chameleon” for. Mainly the females wear this bright coloration, males are a little more unpretentious green-white or yellow-white. The white lateral stripe and the ring-shaped dark pattern can be seen in both genders. At the edge of their distribution area, in Isalo, we have found Furcifer lateralis females with a conspicuous uniformly ruby-colored or pinkish skin. In all specimens of this species, the helmet is low and a little stretched to the back, so it hardly tops the back. The parietal crest consists of 14 to 20 scales, often on dark or reddish-brown ground. In contrast to Furcifer major, Furcifer lateralis has axillary pits like Furcifer viridis. Young Furcifer lateralis often still have a gular crest that disappears with age. Some of the young specimens are bright neon-green colored.

Good to know:

Until 2012, Furcifer major and Furcifer viridis were counted among Furcifer lateralis. Since then they are described as own species.

Table of weights

Gewichtstabelle Furcifer lateralis 2018

Since 2017 we have been measuring the weights of found carpet chameleons in Madagascar, as far as the animals (and our scales) are working. So far there are only a few weights, in the long term an average weight in relation to the head-torso-length (measured from the tip of the nose to the cloaca) for each species should be read off from as large a number of measurements as possible. It is important to know that all weights were measured towards the end of the rainy season (= best food supply), so they are probably maximum weights in Madagascar. Triangular symbols in females do not mean pregnant, round symbols mean pregnant.

Captivity:

This species is very common in captivity due to their high adaptability and low demands. It has been bred for years successfully. Despite their small size, these chameleons benefit from larger cages because they are very active.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 21 22 20 19 17 15 14 15 16 19 20 20
Minimum temperature 17 17 16 15 12 10 10 10 11 13 15 16
Maximum temperatur 26 27 26 25 23 21 20 21 24 26 27 26
Rain days 26 23 25 19 17 18 21 21 16 17 20 24

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Ambositra is located in Madagascar's central highlands at heights of about 860 meters above sea level. Accordingly, the climate here is much cooler than climate on the coast or in the south of the island. Ambositra is said to be one of the coldest cities in Madagascar.

During the rainy season, this region reaches the highest temperatures around 25°C, sunny places may sometimes even almost reach 30°C for short. In the night, the temperature drops down to 15°C. It is raining almost every day. It's not before the dry season starts in April that precipitation declines a little. But it will not become completely "dry" here - even during the dry season, it is raining at least every second day. The dry season has even colder nights with drops to 10°C and less in some single nights. During the daytime, Ambositra only sometimes reaches 20° and more in the dry season.

2016 UVI Ambositra
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (end of March) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have not ground temperatures for Ambositra available yet.

Habitat:

The following pictures show the typical habitat of Furcifer lateralis in Madagascar’s central highlands around Ambositra, near Antsirabe and close to Ambalavao. The central highlands are famous for numerous characteristic rice terraces. The ground is often infused by red laterite. There is hardly a forest left here. But Furcifer lateralis does not need forests. This species lives at the edges of rice fields in bushes and shrubs, in gardens and between peanut plantations and geranium fields. They can even survive inside cities, for example at the edge of capital Antananarivo along dikes.

Hereinafter you can find some 360° pictures from Madagascar’s southern highlands. You can move inside these pictures via mouse click in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, a new window with an enlarged view will open. You will also have the opportunity to look at the pictures in full screen mode. Enjoy!

Gebüsch am Straßenrand der RN7 zwischen Ranomafana und Antsirabe, Madagaskar, März 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

An der Straße nach Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Furcifer lateralis

Furcifer lateralis in Ambalavo
Furcifer lateralis in Ambalavo
Furcifer lateralis in Ambalavo
Furcifer lateralis
Furcifer lateralis
Furcifer lateralis
Furcifer lateralis
Furcifer lateralis
Furcifer lateralis
Furcifer lateralis
Furcifer lateralis
Furcifer lateralis
Furcifer lateralis
Furcifer lateralis
Furcifer lateralis
(English) Furcifer lateralis in Isalo
Furcifer lateralis südliches Hochland 2018
Furcifer lateralis südliches Hochland 2018
Furcifer lateralis südliches Hochland 2018
Furcifer lateralis südliches Hochland 2018
CITES-Quoten
2011-18 je 2000 Tiere für den legalen Export freigegeben

Erstbeschreibung:

Gray, 1831

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Furcifer lateralis

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Antananarivo: -18.910000, 47.525600
Ambatolampy: -19.385400, 47.426900
Fianarantsoa: -21.453400, 47.085400
Antsirabe: -19.871400, 47.034700
Ambositra: -20.533100, 47.244900
Isalo: -22.479568, 45.291138
Moramanga: -18.947100, 48.230400
Ambalavao: -21.832000, 46.937500
Ihosy: -22.404600, 46.127200
Ampefy: -19.047100, 46.712000
Anjozorobe: -18.398000, 47.882400

Verbreitung:

Furcifer lateralis ist im zentralen Hochland Madagaskars und entlang der Ostküste vom Süden bis etwas nördlich der Hauptstadt zu finden, wobei es verschiedene Habitate von relativ trockenen Grassavannen bis feuchtere Wälder besiedelt. Auch in Sekundärvegetation am Rande von Reisfeldern, nahe Lehmhütten und kleinen Dörfern findet diese Art ein Zuhause. Selbst in Antananarivo sind Teppichchamäleons auf den Deichen am Rande von Flüssen heimisch. Am einfachsten lassen sich die Tiere in Sträuchern und Büschen direkt am Straßenrand finden.

Furcifer lateralis in Isalo 2017

Furcifer lateralis in Isalo

Aussehen und Größe:

Mit einer Größe von rund 23-25 cm (reine Körperlänge ohne Schwanz 9-10 cm) gehört diese Chamäleonart zu den kleinen bis mittelgroßen Chamäleons. Die Tiere zeigen ein komplexes, buntes Farbmuster aus roten, gelben, schwarzen und blauen Tupfen, dem sie ihren Trivialnamen „Teppichchamäleons“ verdanken. Diese knallbunte Färbung tragen aber vor allem die Weibchen, die Männchen sind meist etwas schlichter grün-weiß oder gelb-weiß gefärbt. Den weißen Lateralstreifen und die ringförmigen dunklen Muster bei Erregung tragen aber beide Geschlechter. Am Rande des Verbreitungsgebietes in Isalo haben wir Furcifer lateralis gefunden, bei denen die Weibchen eine auffallend einheitliche, weinrote oder hellpinke Färbung aufwiesen. Der Helm ist niedrig und nach hinten etwas gestreckt, so dass er den Rücken kaum überragt. Der Parietalkamm trägt 14 bis 20 Schuppen, oft auf dunklem oder rotbraunem Grund. Im Gegensatz zu Furcifer major hat Furcifer lateralis wie Furcifer viridis Achselhöhlen. Junge Furcifer lateralis haben oft noch einen Kehlkamm, der sich im Alter verliert. Teils sind die Jungtiere richtig neongrün.

Gewichtsabelle

Gewichtstabelle Furcifer lateralis 2018Seit 2017 messen wir die Gewichte von uns gefundener Teppichchamäleons auf Madagaskar, soweit die Tiere (und unsere Waagen) mitmachen. Bisher sind es nur wenige Gewichte, langfristig soll sich aus einer möglichst großen Anzahl Messungen ein durchschnittliches Gewicht im Verhältnis zur Kopf-Rumpf-Länge (gemessen von der Nasenspitze bis zur Kloake) für jede Art ablesen lassen. Wichtig zu wissen ist, dass alle Gewichte gegen Ende der Regenzeit (= bestes Futterangebot) gemessen wurde, es dürfte sich also um Maximalgewichte auf Madagaskar handeln. Dreieckige Symbole bei Weibchen bedeuten nicht trächtig, runde Symbole bedeuten trächtig.

Besonderheiten:

Bis 2012 gehörten auch Furcifer major und Furcifer viridis zu Furcifer lateralis, wurden aber inzwischen als eigene Arten beschrieben.

Terraristik:

In der Terraristik ist die Art wegen ihrer hohen Anpassungsfähigkeit inzwischen gut etabliert und wird seit Jahren erfolgreich nachgezogen. Trotz ihrer Größe nutzen diese Chamäleons auch größere Terrarien gut aus, da sie sehr aktiv sind.

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 21 22 20 19 17 15 14 15 16 19 20 20
Minimale Temperatur 17 17 16 15 12 10 10 10 11 13 15 16
Maximale Temperatur 26 27 26 25 23 21 20 21 24 26 27 26
Regentage 26 23 25 19 17 18 21 21 16 17 20 24

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Ambositra liegt im zentralen Hochland Madagaskars auf einer Höhe von rund 860 m über Meeresniveau. Entsprechend ist das Klima hier deutlich kühler als an der Küste oder im Süden der Insel.

In der Regenzeit erreicht die Region ihre Höchsttemperaturen mit um die 25°C, in der Sonne können es knapp 30°C werden. Nachts wird es jedoch empfindlich kalt mit Temperaturen um die 15°C. Es regnet dabei fast täglich, erst mit Einsetzen der Trockenzeit ab April gehen die Niederschläge ein wenig zurück. "Trocken" wird es aber nicht, es regnet auch während der Trockenzeit mindestens jeden zweiten Tag. In der Trockenzeit wird es sogar noch kälter: Tagsüber erreicht Ambositra dann nur noch mit Mühe über 20°C, und nachts sinken die Temperaturen bis auf 10°C und vereinzelt sogar darunter.

2016 UVI Ambositra

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Ende März) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Ambositra im zentralen Hochland verfügbar.

Habitat:

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem typischen Habitat von Furcifer lateralis im zentralen Hochland Madagaskars um Ambositra, nahe Antsirabe sowie aus dem südlichen Hochland bei Ambalavao. Das zentrale Hochland ist berühmt für seine unzähligen, charakteristischen, in Terrassen angelegten Reisfelder. Der Erdboden ist vielerorts von rotem Laterit durchzogen. Wälder sind hier nicht mehr wirklich vorhanden. Furcifer lateralis hat damit kein Problem. Die Art lebt am Rande der Reisfelder in Büschen und Sträuchern, in Gärten und zwischen Erdnussplantagen und Geranienfeldern. Selbst innerhalb von Städten können sie überleben, zum Beispiel am Rande der Hauptstadt Antananarivo an Deichen.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus dem südlichen Hochland Madagaskars. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Gebüsch am Straßenrand der RN7 zwischen Ranomafana und Antsirabe, Madagaskar, März 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

An der Straße nach Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove