Furcifer nicosiai

Furcifer nicosiai in Kirindy 2017
Furcifer nicosiai in Kirindy 2017
CITES quotas
no legal export possible

First description:

Jesu, Mattioli & Schimmenti, 1999

Origin of the species name:

The three Italian biologists Riccardo Jesu, Fabio Mattioli, and Giovanni Schimmenti from the Aquarium Genoa (Italy) dedicated the species to Guido Nicosia, then Italy’s ambassador to Madagascar. In 1997 he had enabled the three of them to go on an expedition to discover the species in Madagascar.

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Furcifer nicosiai

loading map - please wait...

Kirindy: -20.059801, 44.656334
Tsingy de Bemaraha: -18.877702, 44.807739
Beanka: -17.961098, 44.510078
Tsimembo Manambolomaty: -18.936165, 44.404163
Menabe-Antimena: -19.956569, 44.550247
Andranomena: -20.143628, 44.498062
Kirindy Mitea: -20.776659, 44.173279
Makay: -20.925528, 45.379028
Tsaranoro: -22.093235, 46.772404

Distribution:

Furcifer nicosiai only occurs in dry, hot western Madagascar. The rainy season in these dry forests is restricted to a few months a year. This species is known mainly from Tsingy de Bemaraha, but a more commonplace to find them is a little more northern in Kirindy forest. The distribution area is limited to a few intact forest areas. Most forests of this region have been slashed and burned, so they simply do not exist anymore. We’ve only found Furcifer nicosiai in Kirindy. And even there it is very difficult to find this species during the rainy season. In 2021 further localities of the species in the Andringitra massif in southeastern Madagascar became known. Individual animals were discovered there at about 960-970 m a.s.l. in a dry forest. Furcifer nicosiai seems to be more widespread than previously thought.

Appearance and size:

Furcifer nicosiai grows up to 17 cm in length of females and 28 cm in males from the nose to the tip of the tail. That means it is a middle-sized species in Madagascar. Both genders wear a half-high casque. Males have a dorsal ridge, females only some enlarged scales on the anterior part of the back. Only the throat has a ridge of 16 small scales in both genders. Concerning colors, males are more beige with brownish accents, broad white lateral stripe, and dark cross bands. Females are brownish with yellow or purple-blueish accents especially on the cheeks and inside the pink lateral stripe. Furcifer nicosiai is usually confused with youngs of Furcifer oustaleti that are very common in the same habitat. Since most guides in Kirindy cannot surely differentiate one species from the other, there are many wrongly described pictures on the world wide web.

Life cycle:

Most Furcifer nicosiai in Kirindy hatch in February. From the end of the rainy season, by the end of April, they grow rather slowly. Their next growth spurt comes during the next rainy season from October on. On average, they become 16-18 months old which is probably caused by harsh environmental conditions.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 28 28 28 28 25 23 23 24 26 28 29 28
Minimum temperature 23 22 23 22 18 16 15 16 19 21 22 23
Maximum temperature 33 33 33 33 33 31 31 32 33 35 35 34
Rain days 16 12 6 1 1 0 0 0 1 1 2 9

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Climate in Kirindy is mainly one thing: Hot. During dry season from April until September, it rarely rains and if, very short. The dry forest loses its leaves and few green survives. During daytime, it becomes extremely hot, but at night temperature drops massively, sometimes even below 15°C. This extreme temperature drop at night is typical for the area in dry season.

During rainy season from October until March, the forest blooms: It is raining several times a day, trees and plants begin to sprout. Everything becomes green and vivid. Humidity is accordingly high. During daytime, rainy season is even warmer than dry seasin. But at night, temperature drops only few degrees in rainy season.

2017 UVI Kirindy
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (beginning of April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Kirindy available yet.

Habitat:

The following pictures show the habitat of Furcifer nicosiai at the end of the rainy season in Kirindy. Some are even from finding places of this species. Kirindy is a dry forest with not really high, slender trees. All over the year, dense foliage covers the sandy soil. The habitat of this species mainly consists of shrubs and bushes.

Hereinafter you can find some 360° pictures from Kirindy that we took during the rainy season. You can move inside these pictures via mouse click in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, a new window with an enlarged view will open. You will also have the opportunity to look at the pictures in full-screen mode. Enjoy!

Trockenwald von Kirindy, Region Menabe, West-Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald von Kirindy, Region Menabe, West-Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald von Kirindy, Region Menabe, West-Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald von Kirindy, Region Menabe, West-Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald von Kirindy, Region Menabe, West-Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald von Kirindy, Region Menabe, West-Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Tsingy de Bemaraha, Region Melaky, West-Madagaskar, November 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Tsingy de Bemaraha, Region Melaky, West-Madagaskar, November 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Furcifer nicosiai

Furcifer nicosiai in Kirindy 2017
Furcifer nicosiai in Kirindy 2017
CITES-Quoten
kein legaler Export möglich

Erstbeschreibung:

Jesu, Mattioli & Schimmenti, 1999

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Furcifer nicosiai

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Kirindy: -20.059801, 44.656334
Tsingy de Bemaraha: -18.877702, 44.807739

Verbreitung:

Furcifer nicosiai kommt nur im trockenen, heißen Westen Madagaskars vor. Die Regenzeiten sind hier im Trockenwald auf wenige Monate beschränkt. Funde der Art sind aus den Tsingy de Bemaraha bekannt, die meisten Tiere findet man aber etwas nördlich davon im Wald von Kirindy. Das Verbreitungsgebiet ist hier auf wenige, intakte Waldgebiete beschränkt. Die meisten Wälder der Gegend sind längst gerodet und existieren nicht mehr. Wir sind bisher bei Furcifer nicosiai ausschließlich in Kirindy fündig geworden. Und selbst dort ist es sehr schwierig, die Art in der Regenzeit zu entdecken.

Aussehen und Größe:

Furcifer nicosiai wird mit 17 cm Länge bei den Weibchen und 28 cm bei den Männchen von der Schnauze bis zur Schwanzspitze mittelgroß. Beide Geschlechter tragen einen halbhohen Helm. Die Männchen haben einen Rückenkamm, die Weibchen haben nur ein paar Kegelschuppen ganz vorne auf dem Rücken. Nur die Kehle trägt bei beiden einen Kamm aus 16 kleinen Kegelschuppen. Männchen sind farblich eher beige mit braunen Akzenten und einem breiten weißen Lateralstreifen und dunkler Querstreifung. Die Weibchen sind bräunlich mit gelben oder lila-bläulichen Akzenten vor allen im Wangenbereich und im rosa Lateralstreifen.  Furcifer nicosiai wird regelmäßig mit Jungtieren von Furcifer oustaleti verwechselt, die im gleichen Lebensraum sehr häufig vorkommen. Da die Guides in Kirindy die beiden Arten mehrheitlich nicht sicher zuordnen können, kursieren viele falsch beschriebene Fotos im Internet.

Lebenszyklus:

Die meisten Furcifer nicosiai in Kirindy schlüpfen im Februar. Sie wachsen nach Ende der Regenzeit ab April eher langsam und machen erst wieder in der Regenzeit ab Oktober einen Wachstumsschub. Im Durchschnitt werden sie geschätzte 16-18 Monate alt, was wahrscheinlich auf die harten Umweltbedingungen zurückzuführen ist.

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 28 28 28 28 25 23 23 24 26 28 29 28
Minimale Temperatur 23 22 23 22 18 16 15 16 19 21 22 23
Maximale Temperatur 33 33 33 33 33 31 31 32 33 35 35 34
Regentage 16 12 6 1 1 0 0 0 1 1 2 9

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Das Klima in Kirindy ist vor allem eines: Heiß. In der Trockenzeit von April bis September regnet es nur selten und kurz. Der Trockenwald wird kahl und nur wenig Grün überlebt. Es wird tagsüber brütend heiß, nachts sinkt die Temperatur jedoch deutlich nach unten und kann auch gut mal 15°C und kälter erreichen. Dieser massive Temperatursturz über Nacht ist typisch für die Gegend und nur in der Trockenzeit vorhanden.

Während der Regenzeit von Oktober bis März lebt der Wald auf: Es regnet mehrfach am Tag, die Bäume und Pflanzen beginnen zu blühen und zu sprießen. Alles wird grün und lebendig. Die Luftfeuchtigkeit ist entsprechend hoch. Es ist jetzt tags noch etwas heißer als in der Trockenzeit. Nachts sinken die Temperaturen während der Regenzeit allerdings nur um wenige Grad.

2017 UVI Kirindy

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Anfang April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Kirindy verfügbar.

Habitat:

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat von Furcifer nicosiai zur Regenzeit in Kirindy. Einige sind direkt von Fundorten der Art. Kirindy ist ein Trockenwald mit nicht besonders hohen, schlanken Bäumen. Das ganze Jahr über bedeckt eine dicke Laubschicht den teils sandigen Erdboden. Der Lebensraum dieser Chamäleon-Art sind vor allem hohe Sträucher und Büsche.

 

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus Kirindy, die wir während der Regenzeit aufgenommen haben. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Trockenwald von Kirindy, Region Menabe, West-Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald von Kirindy, Region Menabe, West-Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald von Kirindy, Region Menabe, West-Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald von Kirindy, Region Menabe, West-Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald von Kirindy, Region Menabe, West-Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald von Kirindy, Region Menabe, West-Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Tsingy de Bemaraha, Region Melaky, West-Madagaskar, November 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Tsingy de Bemaraha, Region Melaky, West-Madagaskar, November 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove