Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Furcifer pardalis

Furcifer pardalis aus Ambilobe, Männchen, 2017
Furcifer pardalis aus Ankaramibe, 2017 Weibchen
Furcifer pardalis aus Ankaramibe, 2017 Männchen
Furcifer pardalis aus Ambanja, Männchen, 2017
Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Ambilobe
Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Ankify
Furcifer pardalis Lokalform St. Marie
Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Lac Ampitabe
CITES quotas
2011-13 each 2000 specimen, 2014-19 each 3000 specimen for legal export

First description:

Cuvier, 1829

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Furcifer pardalis

loading map - please wait...

Ambanja: -13.675800, 48.452800
Ambilobe: -13.194400, 49.050000
Lac Ampitabe: -18.697635, 49.173431
Ankaramibe: -13.975660, 48.176855
Ankarana: -12.904573, 49.135036
Andapa: -14.662200, 49.651700
Ankify: -13.557800, 48.367400
Antalaha: -14.901900, 50.279400
Antsiranana: -12.277900, 49.291300
Beramanja: -13.343900, 48.875000
Cap Est: -15.265638, 50.482178
Djangoa: -13.797300, 48.334900
Fenoarivo: -17.382000, 49.410000
Mahavelona: -17.684600, 49.514300
Mangaoka: -12.310800, 49.122100
Manambato: -18.757200, 49.151500
Mananara: -16.476694, 49.721489
Maroantsetra: -15.434900, 49.742300
Marojejy: -14.511803, 49.682922
Nosy Be: -13.405400, 48.274300
Nosy Boraha: -16.894900, 49.912400
Nosy Faly: -13.333100, 48.481100
Nosy Mangabe: -15.495800, 49.767700
Nosy Mitsio: -12.890800, 48.593100
Sambava: -14.255000, 50.155700
Soanierana Ivongo: -16.920300, 49.585400
Toamasina: -18.155400, 49.410200
Vohimana: -18.886851, 47.974219

Distribution:

The probably most famous chameleon of Madagascar mainly lives in secondary vegetation, gardens and plantations, but can also be found in rainforests. Its distribution is the northern third of Madagascar. Islands such as Nosy Be are part of settled habitats as well as mainland, coastal areas and rainy national parks in the east of the country. Furcifer pardalis is very common on Madagascar and thus quite easy to find – that is why we already dedicated whole expeditions to this species. It is assumed that panther chameleons with their high adaptability might displace other chameleon species that reproduce less well and that rely on special niches in some regions of Madagascar.

Appearance and size:

Furcifer pardalis counts among the world’s most colourful chameleons. Males grow up to 52 cm in length, while females stay smaller with maximally 38 cm. The casque is rather low and elongated, and the nose has a small, furcated appendage. The gular crest consists of 15 to 20 spines which continue as a well developed ventral crest. The dorsal crest has more than 50 spines. Females of this species are pink or orange-beige coloured, sometimes with small pink or green accents. When stressed, all panther chameleons develop dark stripes. In Madagascar, male Furcifer pardalis have developed different colour variations in different locations in the course of time – those are called locales. Since there is a high number of different locales, we gave them an own section on our website. This is also where you can find habitat pictures, climate data and UVB indices from a lot of areas where we were and photographed panther chameleons.

Reproduction:

After a pregnancy of approximately 31 to 45 days, the female lays 15-25 eggs. In very good years, it might be up to 50 – but those amounts are very detrimental to the individual’s lifetime. After 160 to 200 days, the small panther chameleons hatch.

Good to know:

Panther chameleons are among the most popular chameleons kept in captivity, because they are relatively easy to keep and have a high colour variety with extremely impressing colours. Most breeders try to keep locales pure and only mate animals of the same origin.

Weight table

Gewichtstabelle Furcifer pardalis 2018

Since 2015 we have been measuring the weights of chameleons we have found in Madagascar, as far as the animals (and our scales) are concerned. So far there are only a few weights, in the long term an average weight in relation to the snout-vent-length (measured from the tip of the nose to the cloaca) for each species should be read off from as large a number of measurements as possible. It is important to know that all weights were measured towards the end of the rainy season (= best food supply), so they are probably maximum weights in Madagascar. Triangular symbols in females do not mean pregnant, round symbols mean pregnant. In the case of Furcifer pardalis, contrary to our original assumption, there have been no serious differences in the ratio of SVL to the weight of the individual locales.

Climate & habitat:

You can find all data to all the different climates and habitats of Furcifer pardalis in the category “locales of Furcifer pardalis“. Each locale has been described there with its colouration features, pictures of its habitat and climate data.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Furcifer pardalis

Furcifer pardalis aus Ambilobe, Männchen, 2017
Furcifer pardalis aus Ankaramibe, 2017 Weibchen
Furcifer pardalis aus Ankaramibe, 2017 Männchen
Furcifer pardalis aus Ambanja, Männchen, 2017
Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Ambilobe
Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Ankify
Furcifer pardalis Lokalform St. Marie
Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Lac Ampitabe
CITES-Quoten
2011-13 je 2000 Tiere, 2014-18 je 3000 Tiere für den legalen Export freigegeben

Erstbeschreibung:

Cuvier, 1829

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Furcifer pardalis

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Ambanja: -13.675800, 48.452800
Ambilobe: -13.194400, 49.050000
Lac Ampitabe: -18.697635, 49.173431
Ankaramibe: -13.975660, 48.176855
Ankarana: -12.904573, 49.135036
Andapa: -14.662200, 49.651700
Ankify: -13.557800, 48.367400
Antalaha: -14.901900, 50.279400
Antsiranana: -12.277900, 49.291300
Beramanja: -13.343900, 48.875000
Cap Est: -15.265638, 50.482178
Djangoa: -13.797300, 48.334900
Fenoarivo: -17.382000, 49.410000
Mahavelona: -17.684600, 49.514300
Mangaoka: -12.310800, 49.122100
Manambato: -18.757200, 49.151500
Mananara: -16.476694, 49.721489
Maroantsetra: -15.434900, 49.742300
Marojejy: -14.511803, 49.682922
Nosy Be: -13.405400, 48.274300
Nosy Boraha: -16.894900, 49.912400
Nosy Faly: -13.333100, 48.481100
Nosy Mangabe: -15.495800, 49.767700
Nosy Mitsio: -12.890800, 48.593100
Sambava: -14.255000, 50.155700
Soanierana Ivongo: -16.920300, 49.585400
Toamasina: -18.155400, 49.410200
Vohimana: -18.886851, 47.974219

Verbreitung:

Das wohl bekannteste Chamäleon Madagaskars lebt vor allem in Sekundärvegetation, Gärten und Plantagen, ist aber auch in Regenwäldern zu finden. Sein Verbreitungsgebiet erstreckt sich über das nördliche Drittel Madagaskars. Inseln wie Nosy Be gehören genauso zu besiedelten Lebensräumen wie Festland, Küstengebieten und regenreiche Nationalparks im Osten des Landes. Furcifer pardalis ist auf Madagaskar sehr häufig und damit auch recht einfach zu finden, weshalb wir diesen Tieren schon ganze Expeditionen gewidmet haben. Es gibt Vermutungen, dass es durch seine hohe Anpassungsfähigkeit womöglich andere Chamäleonarten, die sich weniger gut vermehren und speziell auf bestimmte Nischen angewiesen sind, in einigen Regionen Madagaskars verdrängen könnte.

Aussehen und Größe:

Furcifer pardalis zählt zu den farbenfrohesten Chamäleons weltweit. Männchen werden bis zu 52 cm lang, während Weibchen mit maximal 38 cm etwas kleiner bleiben. Der Helm ist eher niedrig und langgestreckt und die Schnauze zeigt einen kleinen, gegabelten Nasenfortsatz. Der Kehlkamm besteht aus 15 bis 20 Kegelschuppen, woran sich der ebenfalls ausgeprägte Bauchkamm anschließt. Der Rückenkamm weist mehr als 50 dieser Kegelschuppen auf. Die Weibchen dieser Art sind rosa oder orange-beige gefärbt, und können kleine lila oder grüne Akzente tragen. Bei Stress entwickeln sie wie alle Pantherchamäleons dunkle Querbänder. Auf Madagaskar haben sich bei männlichen Furcifer pardalis im Laufe der Zeit verschiedene Farben an verschiedenen Orten entwickelt, die man als Lokalformen bezeichnet. Da es eine sehr große Vielzahl an Lokalformen gibt, haben wir diesen eine eigene Rubrik auf unserer Website gewidmet. Dort finden sich auch Habitatfotos, Klimadaten sowie UV-Indices zu einer ganzen Menge an Gegenden, die wir vor Ort gemacht bzw. gemessen haben.

Fortpflanzung:

Nach einer Trächtigkeit von durchschnittlich 31 bis 45 Tagen legt das Weibchen 15-25 Eier ab. In sehr guten Jahren können es bis zu 50 sein, diese Mengen sind jedoch dem Lebensalter der Tiere sehr abträglich. Nach 160 bis 200 Tagen schlüpfen die kleinen Pantherchamäleons, und begeben sich sofort auf die erste Jagd nach Insekten.

Besonderheiten:

Pantherchamäleons gehören zu den in der Terraristik beliebtesten Chamäleons, weil sie verhältnismäßig einfach zu halten sind und eine hohe Farbvarianz mit extrem beeindruckenden Farben aufweisen. Man versucht, die Lokalformen auch in der Terraristik möglichst rein zu halten und nur Tiere der gleichen Herkunft miteinander zu verpaaren.

Gewichtstabelle

Gewichtstabelle Furcifer pardalis 2018

Seit 2015 messen wir die Gewichte von uns gefundener Chamäleons auf Madagaskar, soweit die Tiere (und unsere Waagen) mitmachen. Bisher sind es nur wenige Gewichte, langfristig soll sich aus einer möglichst großen Anzahl Messungen ein durchschnittliches Gewicht im Verhältnis zur Kopf-Rumpf-Länge (gemessen von der Nasenspitze bis zur Kloake) für jede Art ablesen lassen. Wichtig zu wissen ist, dass alle Gewichte gegen Ende der Regenzeit (= bestes Futterangebot) gemessen wurde, es dürfte sich also um Maximalgewichte auf Madagaskar handeln. Dreieckige Symbole bei Weibchen bedeuten nicht trächtig, runde Symbole bedeuten trächtig. Bei Furcifer pardalis hat sich bisher entgegen unserer ursprünglichen Annahme heraus gestellt, dass es keine gravierenden Unterschiede im Verhältnis der KRL zum Gewicht zwischen den einzelnen Lokalformen gibt.

Klima & Habitat:

Alle Daten zu den verschiedenen Klimabereichen und Lebensräumen von Furcifer pardalis findest du in der Rubrik „Lokalformen von Furcifer pardalis„. Dort ist jede Lokalform mit ihren Besonderheiten, Fotos von Lebensraum und Klimadaten dazu einzeln aufgeführt.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove