Furcifer rhinoceratus

Furcifer rhinoceratus in Ankarafantsika 2017
Furcifer rhinoceratus in Ankarafantsika 2017
Furcifer rhinoceratus in Ankarafantsika 2017
Furcifer rhinoceratus in Ankarafantsika 2017
Furcifer rhinoceratus in Ankarafantsika 2017
Furcifer rhinoceratus in Ankarafantsika 2017
Furcifer rhinoceratus in Ankarafantsika
Furcifer rhinoceratus in Ankarafantsika
Furcifer rhinoceratus in Ankarafantsika 2018
Furcifer rhinoceratus in Ankarafantsika 2018
Furcifer rhinoceratus in Ankarafantsika 2018
Furcifer rhinoceratus in Ankarafantsika 2018
Furcifer rhinoceratus male, Ankarafantsika 2019
Furcifer rhinoceratus female, Ankarafantsika 2019
Furcifer rhinoceratus female, Ankarafantsika 2019
CITES quotas
no legal export possible

First description:

(Gray, 1845)

Origin of the species name:

The English zoologist John Edward Gray described the species very briefly and named it after the Latin rhinoceros. By this, he meant the different pronounced nasal processes of the two sexes. Gray has never been to Madagascar himself. He categorized the reptile collection of the zoological department of the British Museum in London (Great Britain). The first specimens of Furcifer rhinoceratus had come to London on intricate routes with the British navigator Sir Edward Belcher.

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Furcifer rhinoceratus

loading map - please wait...

Ankarafantsika: -16.230498, 46.941833
Amborovy: -15.670300, 46.342900
Mahajanga: -15.718100, 46.317300
Soalala: -16.102900, 45.328500
Antrema: -15.781400, 46.193800
Betsako: -15.630500, 46.505500

Distribution:

This chameleon species is found almost exclusively in the forests of Ankarafantsika and Ampijoroa in north-western Madagascar, about 150 kilometers from the coastal town of Mahajanga. The animals live in the deciduous dry forests of this region, at a height of 1.5 – 4 meters. Especially small lianas and climbing plants, as well as tall shrubs, are populated as habitats. In our experience, they are mainly found in shrubs or trees with very thin branches and abundant small foliage.

Appearance and size:

With approximately 28 cm with the males and approximately 12 cm with the females, this chameleon-type belongs to the middle-sized types. The males show a single, big, rounded off nose-process, that turns out clearly smaller with the females. The helmet is flat, the dorsal scales are pronounced only in the front area. The males are mostly grey with white lateral stripes, partly also light green with turquoise accents. They are grey-brown with a dark ribbon pattern when stressed. Only when a female comes very close to them do the males show their full-color splendor: then they shine turquoise green and light blue with yellow lines. However, we have only been able to observe this splendid coloring for a few minutes – if the female turns away and runs, the great coloring of the male disappears very quickly. The females of Furcifer rhinoceratus are altogether more colorful. They are simply relaxed pink, sometimes with green, ring-shaped patterns, and always with a bright orange tail. Excited or pregnant females are deep purple with dark bands.

The following photos show juveniles of the species, all-male.

 

Table of weights

Gewichtstabelle Furcifer rhinoceratus 2019

Gewicht = weight in grams, Kopf-Rumpf-Länge = snout-vent-length in cm, Weibchen = females, Männchen = males

Since 2015 we have been measuring the weights of chameleons we have found in Madagascar, as far as the animals (and our scales) are participating. So far there are only a few weights, in the long term an average weight in relation to the snout-vent-length It is important to know that all weights were measured towards the end of the rainy season (= best food supply), so they are probably maximum weights in Madagascar. Triangular symbols in females do not mean pregnant, round symbols mean pregnant. In the case of Furcifer pardalis, contrary to our original assumption, there have been no serious differences in the ratio of SVL to the weight of the individual locales.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 27 27 27 27 26 24 23 24 25 26 27 27
Minimum temperature 23 23 23 22 20 18 17 18 19 21 22 23
Maximum temperature 31 31 31 32 31 30 30 30 31 32 31 31
Rain days 25 24 19 8 4 4 6 6 4 6 12 21

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Climate in Ankarafantsika is hot and dry during most time of the year. Temperatures above 30°C during daytime are usual. Rainy season is rather short and only covers November until March. In this time, it is raining a lot and the whole forest blooms.

In April, the rainy season is over and precipitation is only measured few days per month. Many trees lose their leaves. There is morning dew and occasionally some rainfall, but that's it. During daytime, temperatures are a little lower than in rainy season, but temperatures still easily reach 25°C. At night, temperatures drop some degrees.

2016 UVI Ankarafantsika
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (beginning of April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Jan Feb March Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Morning 24.9 26.1 25.6 24.2 22.6 19.2 18.4 19.5 22.3 21.8 22.9 22.7
Midday 28.2 28.7 26.9 26.1 25.6 25.8 25.8 26.5 31.7 28.8 28.6 28.5
Afternoon 28.3 28.1 27.2 26.1 26.1 25.3 25.5 26.8 30.8 28.5 28.1 27.8
Night 24.5 26.1 25.3 21.7 19.8 17.9 18.7 20.2 24.2 23.5 23.3 23.5

Between 01 April 2018 and 17 March 2019, we measured ground temperatures in the dry forest of Ankarafantsika daily - the table is the result of these measurements. A detailed discussion can be found here. In total, we made 1396 ground temperature measurements and measured an estimated 300 different locations in Ankarafantsika. The following graphs show the soil temperature profiles in Ankarafantsika at a depth of 20 cm in the wet season (February, left) and in the dry season (June, right):

Video

The following video shows footage directly from the habitat: A female digging a hole to lay her eggs.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Habitat:

The habitat in the dry forest of Ankarafantsika is green only during the rainy season. During the dry season, it is less green, the grass dries out and the leaves fall from the trees. The forest is very dense and full of shrubs and trees with very thin branches and small leaves. The areas where Furcifer rhinoceratus prefers to live are extremely densely overgrown with climbing plants. The following photos show parts of the habitat of the species in Ankarafantsika during the rainy and the dry season.

Below you will find some 360° pictures from Ankarafantsika taken during the rainy season. With the mouse, you can rotate in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, the pictures will open in an enlarged view in a separate window. There is also the possibility to execute the pictures in full-screen mode. Have fun looking at them!

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Ankarafantsika, Region Boeny, West-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Ankarafantsika, Region Boeny, West-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Ankarafantsika, Region Boeny, West-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Furcifer rhinoceratus

Furcifer rhinoceratus in Ankarafantsika 2017
Furcifer rhinoceratus in Ankarafantsika 2017
Furcifer rhinoceratus in Ankarafantsika 2017
Furcifer rhinoceratus in Ankarafantsika 2017
Furcifer rhinoceratus in Ankarafantsika 2017
Furcifer rhinoceratus in Ankarafantsika 2017
Furcifer rhinoceratus in Ankarafantsika
Furcifer rhinoceratus in Ankarafantsika
Furcifer rhinoceratus in Ankarafantsika 2018
Furcifer rhinoceratus in Ankarafantsika 2018
Furcifer rhinoceratus in Ankarafantsika 2018
Furcifer rhinoceratus in Ankarafantsika 2018
Furcifer rhinoceratus male, Ankarafantsika 2019
Furcifer rhinoceratus female, Ankarafantsika 2019
Furcifer rhinoceratus female, Ankarafantsika 2019
CITES-Quoten
kein legaler Export möglich

Erstbeschreibung:

Gray, 1845

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Furcifer rhinoceratus

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Ankarafantsika: -16.230498, 46.941833
Amborovy: -15.670300, 46.342900
Mahajanga: -15.718100, 46.317300
Soalala: -16.102900, 45.328500

Verbreitung:

Diese Chamäleonart findet man fast ausschließlich in den Wäldern von Ankarafantsika und Ampijoroa im Nord-Westen Madagaskars, rund 150 Kilometer von der Küstenstadt Mahajanga entfernt. Die Tiere leben in den laubwerfenden Trockenwäldern dieser Region, in einer Höhe von 1,5 – 4 Metern. Dabei werden besonders kleine Lianen und Rankgewächse sowie hohe Sträucher als Lebensraum besiedelt. Unserer Erfahrung nach findet man sie vor allem in Sträuchern oder Bäumchen mit sehr dünnen Ästchen und reichlich kleinem Blattwerk.

Aussehen und Größe:

Mit rund 28 cm bei den Männchen und etwa 12 cm bei den Weibchen gehört diese Chamäleonart zu den mittelgroßen Arten. Die Männchen weisen einen einzelnen, großen, abegerundeten Nasenfortsatz auf, der bei den Weibchen deutlich kleiner ausfällt. Der Helm ist flach, die Kegelschuppen auf dem Rücken sind nur im vorderen Bereich ausgeprägt. Die Männchen sind meist grau mit weißem Lateralstreifen, teils auch hellgrün mit türkisen Akzenten. Gestresst werden sie grau-braun mit einem dunklen Bänderungsmuster. Nur wenn ein Weibchen ihnen sehr nahe kommt, zeigen die Männchen ihre ganze Farbebpracht: Dann leuchten sie türkisgrün und hellblau mit gelben Linien. Diese Prachtfärbung haben wir jedoch immer nur wenige Minuten beobachten können – wendet sich das Weibchen ab und läuft davon, verschwindet auch die tolle Färbung des Männchens sehr schnell wieder. Die Weibchen sind bei Furcifer rhinoceratus insgesamt farbenfroher. Sie sind entspannt einfach rosa, manchmal mit grünen, ringförmigen Mustern, und immer mit einem leuchtend orangefarbenen Schwanz. Erregte oder trächtige Weibchen sind tief lila mit dunklen Bändern.

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Jungtiere der Art, allesamt männlich.

Gewichtstabelle

Gewichtstabelle Furcifer rhinoceratus 2019

Seit 2017 messen wir die Gewichte von uns gefundener Furcifer rhinoceratus auf Madagaskar, soweit die Tiere (und unsere Waagen) mitmachen. Bisher sind es nur wenige Gewichte, langfristig soll sich aus einer möglichst großen Anzahl Messungen ein durchschnittliches Gewicht im Verhältnis zur Kopf-Rumpf-Länge (gemessen von der Nasenspitze bis zur Kloake) für jede Art ablesen lassen. Wichtig zu wissen ist, dass alle Gewichte gegen Ende der Regenzeit (= bestes Futterangebot) gemessen wurde, es dürfte sich also um Maximalgewichte auf Madagaskar handeln. Dreieckige Symbole bei Weibchen bedeuten nicht trächtig, runde Symbole bedeuten trächtig.

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 27 27 27 27 26 24 23 24 25 26 27 27
Minimale Temperatur 23 23 23 22 20 18 17 18 19 21 22 23
Maximale Temperatur 31 31 31 32 31 30 30 30 31 32 31 31
Regentage 25 24 19 8 4 4 6 6 4 6 12 21

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Das Klima in Ankarafantsika ist heiß, und während der meisten Zeit des Jahres relativ trocken. Temperaturen über 30°C tagsüber sind die Regel. Die Regenzeit fällt eher kurz aus und dauert nur von November bis März. In dieser Zeit regnet es viel, und der ganze Wald blüht auf.

Im April ist der Spuk jedoch schon wieder vorbei, und es regnet nur noch an wenigen Tagen im Monat. Die Bäume verlieren ihre Blätter. Es gibt Morgentau und selten mal einen Schauer, das war's aber auch schon. Tagsüber ist es ein klein wenig kühler als in der Regenzeit, aber die Temperaturen erreichen trotzdem immernoch gute 25°C. Nachts sinken die Temperaturen um ein paar Grad.

2016 UVI Ankarafantsika

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Anfang April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Ankarafantsika verfügbar.

Videos

Das folgende Video zeigt Aufnahmen direkt aus dem Habitat, wähernd der ein Weibchen gerade ein Loch gräbt, um ihre Eier darin abzulegen.

Habitat:

Der Lebensraum im Trockenwald von Ankarafantsika ist nur während der Regenzeit grün. Während der Trockenzeit ist es hier weniger grün, das Gras trocknet aus und die Blätter fallen von den Bäumen. Der Wald ist sehr dicht und voller Sträucher und Bäume mit sehr dünnen Ästen und kleinen Blättern. Die Bereiche, in denen sich Furcifer rhinoceratus bevorzugt aufhält, sind extrem dicht bewachsen und mit Rankpflanzen überwuchert. Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem Lebensraum der Art in Ankarafantsika zur Regenzeit.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus Ankarafantsika, die wir während der Regenzeit aufgenommen haben. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Ankarafantsika, Region Boeny, West-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Ankarafantsika, Region Boeny, West-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Ankarafantsika, Region Boeny, West-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove