Browsing Tags

Calumma Madagaskar

  • Home
  • Calumma Madagaskar
Calumma amber, male, Montagne d'Ambre, 2019

Calumma amber

First description: Raxworthy & Nussbaum, 2006 Origin of the species name: Christopher J. Raxworthy from the American Museum of Natural History, New York (USA) and Ronald A. Nussbaum from the University of Michigan, Ann...
Calumma ambreense, male, Montagne d'Ambre, 2019

Calumma ambreense

First description: (Ramanantsoa, 1974) Origin of the species name: The zoologist Guy A. Ramanantsoa of the University of Antananarivo, Madagascar, named the species after its origin, the Amber Mountain. Originally described as a subspecies...
Calumma brevicorne

Calumma brevicorne

First description: (Günther, 1879) Origin of the species name: The German zoologist Albert Carl Ludwig Gotthilf Günther, then director of the Zoological Department of the Natural History Museum of London (Great Britain), borrowed the...

Calumma cucullatum

First description: (Gray, 1831) Origin of the species name: The English zoologist John Edward Gray was very brief in his description of this chameleon species: it consists of just keywords instead of a coherent...
Calumma crypticum in Ranomafana 2018

Calumma crypticum

First description: Raxworthy & Nussbaum, 2006 Origin of the species name: Christopher J. Raxworthy from the American Museum of Natural History, New York (USA) and Ronald A. Nussbaum from the University of Michigan, Ann...

Calumma furcifer

First description: (Vaillant & Grandidier, 1880) Origin of the species name: The French zoologists Léon Louis Vaillant and Guillaume Grandidier worked together in the French Zoological Society on various publications. They named this chameleon...
Calumma gallus in Vohimana 2018

Calumma gallus

First description: (Günther, 1877) Origin of the species name: The German zoologist Albert Carl Ludwig Gotthilf Günther, then Director of the Zoological Department of the Natural History Museum of London (Great Britain), described this...
Calumma parsonii green giant

Color variation “green giant”

Distribution: Masoala national park is located at the eponymic peninsula in northeast Madagascar. At the northern end of the Antongil Bay, also called the “cradle of whales”, there is the small coastal town Maroantsetra....
Calumma gastrotaenia aus Anjozorobe 2018

Calumma gastrotaenia

First description: (Boulenger, 1888) Origin of the species name: The Belgian zoologist George Alber Boulenger, at that time working at the Natural History Museum in London (Great Britain), probably named this chameleon species after...
Calumma glawi in Ranomafana 2018

Calumma glawi

First description: Böhme, 1997 Origin of the species name: The German herpetologist Wolfgang Böhme, former head of the section for herpetology of the Museum König in Bonn (Germany), named this chameleon species in honor...

Browsing Tags

Calumma Madagaskar

  • Home
  • Calumma Madagaskar
Calumma amber, male, Montagne d'Ambre, 2019

Calumma amber

Erstbeschreibung: Raxworthy & Nussbaum, 2006   Herkunft des Artnamens: Christopher J. Raxworthy vom American Museum of Natural History, New York (USA) und Ronald A. Nussbaum von der Universität von Michigan, Ann Arbor (USA), benannten...
Calumma ambreense, male, Montagne d'Ambre, 2019

Calumma ambreense

  Erstbeschreibung: (Ramanantsoa, 1974) Herkunft des Artnamens: Der Zoologe Guy A. Ramanantsoa von der Universität von Antananarivo, Madagaskar, benannte die Art nach ihrer Herkunft, dem Montagne d’Ambre. Ursprünglich als Unterart von Calumma oshaughnessyi beschrieben,...
Calumma brevicorne

Calumma brevicorne

Erstbeschreibung: (Günther, 1879) Herkunft des Artnamens: Der deutsche Zoologe Albert Carl Ludwig Gotthilf Günther, damals Direktor der Zoologischen Abteilung des Naturhistorischen Museums von London (Großbritannien), entlehnte den Namen dieser Chamäleonart dem Lateinischen. Brevis cornu,...

Calumma cucullatum

Erstbeschreibung: (Gray, 1831) Herkunft des Artnamens: Der englische Zoologe John Edward Gray hielt sich mit der Beschreibung dieser Chamäleonart sehr kurz: Sie umfasst gerade einmal Stichworte statt eines zusammenhängenden Satzes. 1831 war Gray gerade...
Calumma crypticum in Ranomafana 2018

Calumma crypticum

Erstbeschreibung: Raxworthy & Nussbaum, 2006 Herkunft des Artnamens: Christopher J. Raxworthy vom American Museum of Natural History, New York (USA) und Ronald A. Nussbaum von der Universität von Michigan, Ann Arbor (USA), entlehnten den...
Calumma parsonii green giant

Farbvariante „green giant“

Verbreitung: Der Nationalpark Masoala liegt auf der gleichnamigen Halbinsel im Nordosten Madagaskars. Am nördlichen Ende der Bucht von Antongil, auch als „Wiege der Wale“ bezeichnet, liegt die kleine Küstenstadt Maroansetra. Zugänglich ist die Gegend...

Calumma furcifer

Erstbeschreibung: (Vaillant & Grandidier, 1880) Herkunft des Artnamens: Die französischen Zoologen Léon Louis Vaillant und Guillaume Grandidier arbeiteten gemeinsam in der zoologischen Gesellschaft Frankreichs an verschiedenen Veröffentlichungen. Sie benannten diese Chamäleonart nach dem Lateinischen...
Calumma gallus in Vohimana 2018

Calumma gallus

Erstbeschreibung: (Günther, 1877) Herkunft des Artnamens: Der deutsche Zoologe Albert Carl Ludwig Gotthilf Günther, damals Direktor der Zoologischen Abteilung des Naturhistorischen Museums von London (Großbritannien), beschrieb diese Chamäleonart in wenigen Sätzen. Warum er das...
Calumma gastrotaenia aus Anjozorobe 2018

Calumma gastrotaenia

Erstbeschreibung: (Boulenger, 1888) Herkunft des Artnamens: Der belgische Zoologe George Alber Boulenger, zu dieser Zeit tätig am Naturhistorischen Museum in London (Großbritannien), benannte diese Chamäleonart wahrscheinlich nach dem Lateinischen gastro taenia, was sich etwa...
Calumma glawi

Calumma glawi

Erstbeschreibung: Böhme, 1997 Herkunft des Artnamens: Der deutsche Herpetologe Wolfgang Böhme, ehemals Leiter der Sektion für Herpetologie des Museum König in Bonn, benannte diese Chamäleonart zu Ehren des deutschen Herpetologen Frank Glaw. Frank Glaw...