Browsing Tags

Ranomafana

Calumma crypticum in Ranomafana 2018

Calumma crypticum

First description: Raxworthy & Nussbaum, 2006 Origin of the species name: Christopher J. Raxworthy from the American Museum of Natural History, New York (USA) and Ronald A. Nussbaum from the University of Michigan, Ann...
Calumma fallax

Calumma fallax

First description: (Mocquard, 1900) Origin of the species name: The zoologist François Mocquard of the Natural History Museum in Paris (France) borrowed the species name from the Latin fallax, which means “deceptive” or “misleading”....
Furcifer balteatus in Ranomafana 2018

Furcifer balteatus

First description: (Duméril & Bibron, 1851) Origin of the species name: The zoologist André Marie Constant Duméril, then head of herpetology at the Natural History Museum of Paris (France), together with his assistant Gabriel...
Palleon nasus in Ranomafana 2018

Palleon nasus

First description: (Boulenger, 1887) Origin of the species name: The Belgian zoologist George Alber Boulenger, at that time working at the Natural History Museum in London (Great Britain), named this chameleon species after its...

Color variation “yellow lip”

Distribution: Ranomafana national park is approximately 420 km south-east of the capital Antananarivo in Madagascar’s southern highlands. You need at least one day to get there via RN7. The village of the same name...
Calumma glawi in Ranomafana 2018

Calumma glawi

First description: Böhme, 1997 Origin of the species name: The German herpetologist Wolfgang Böhme, former head of the section for herpetology of the Museum König in Bonn (Germany), named this chameleon species in honor...
Brookesia superciliaris in Mitsinjo 2018

Brookesia superciliaris

First description: (Kuhl, 1820) Origin of the species name: The ornithologist Dr. Heinrich Kuhl from Francfort (Germany) named this chameleon species after its immediately recognizable, conspicuous bony projections above the eyes. The Latin word...
Calumma oshaughnessyi

Calumma oshaughnessyi

First description: (Günther, 1881) Origin of the species name: The German zoologist Albert Carl Ludwig Gotthilf Günther, then Director of the Zoological Department of the Natural History Museum of London (Great Britain), gave only...
Calumma tjiasmantoi, male, 2018

Calumma tjiasmantoi

First description: Prötzel, Scherz, Ratsoavina, Vences & Glaw, 2020 Origin of the species name: David Prötzel, Mark D. Scherz and Frank Glaw from the State Zoological Collection Munich (Germany), Fanomezana M. Ratsoavina from the...

Browsing Tags

Ranomafana

Calumma crypticum in Ranomafana 2018

Calumma crypticum

Erstbeschreibung: Raxworthy & Nussbaum, 2006 Herkunft des Artnamens: Christopher J. Raxworthy vom American Museum of Natural History, New York (USA) und Ronald A. Nussbaum von der Universität von Michigan, Ann Arbor (USA), entlehnten den...
Furcifer balteatus in Ranomafana 2018

Furcifer balteatus

Erstbeschreibung: (Duméril & Bibron, 1851) Herkunft des Artnamens: Der Zoologe André Marie Constant Duméril, damals Leiter der Herpetologie am Naturhistorischen Museum von Paris (Frankreich), benannte zusammen mit seinem Assistenten Gabriel Bibron diese Chamäleonart. Woher...
Calumma fallax

Calumma fallax

Erstbeschreibung: (Mocquard, 1900) Herkunft des Artnamens: Der Zoologe François Mocquard vom Naturhistorischen Museum Paris (Frankreich) entlehnte den Artnamen vom Lateinischen fallax, was so viel wie „trügerisch“ oder „irreführend“ bedeutet. Er deutete damit auf die...
Palleon nasus in Ranomafana 2018

Palleon nasus

Erstbeschreibung: (Boulenger, 1887) Herkunft des Artnamens: Der belgische Zoologe George Alber Boulenger, zu dieser Zeit tätig am Naturhistorischen Museum in London (Großbritannien), benannte diese Chamäleonart nach ihrer Nase. Man dachte damals, die Art gehöre...

Farbvariante „yellow lip“

Verbreitung: Der Nationalpark Ranomafana liegt ca. 420 Kilometer süd-östlich der Hauptstadt Antananarivo im südlichen Hochland Madagaskars. Man benötigt mindestens einen Tag für die Fahrt dorthin über die RN7. Das gleichnamige Dorf liegt in einem...
Brookesia superciliaris in Mitsinjo 2018

Brookesia superciliaris

Erstbeschreibung: (Kuhl, 1820) Herkunft des Artnamens: Der Ornithologe Dr. Heinrich Kuhl aus Frankfurt am Main benannte diese Chamäleonart nach ihren sofort erkennbaren, auffälligen knöchernen Fortsätzen über den Augen. Das lateinische Wort supercilium bedeutet so...
Calumma glawi

Calumma glawi

Erstbeschreibung: Böhme, 1997 Herkunft des Artnamens: Der deutsche Herpetologe Wolfgang Böhme, ehemals Leiter der Sektion für Herpetologie des Museum König in Bonn, benannte diese Chamäleonart zu Ehren des deutschen Herpetologen Frank Glaw. Frank Glaw...
Calumma oshaughnessyi

Calumma oshaughnessyi

Erstbeschreibung: (Günther, 1881) Herkunft des Artnamens: Der deutsche Zoologe Albert Carl Ludwig Gotthilf Günther, damals Direktor der Zoologischen Abteilung des Naturhistorischen Museums von London (Großbritannien), vergab nur wenige Artnamen zu Ehren bestimmter Personen. Eine...
Calumma tjiasmantoi, male, 2018

Calumma tjiasmantoi

  Erstbeschreibung: Prötzel, Scherz, Ratsoavina, Vences & Glaw, 2020 Herkunft des Artnamens: David Prötzel, Mark D. Scherz und Frank Glaw von der Zoologischen Staatssammlung München, Fanomezana M. Ratsoavina von der Universität von Antananarivo (Madagaskar)...