Calumma oshaughnessyi

Calumma oshaughnessyi in Ranomafana 2017
Calumma oshaughnessyi in Ranomafana 2017
Calumma oshaughnessyi in Ranomafana 2017
Calumma oshaughnessyi in Ranomafana 2017
Calumma oshaughnessyi in Ranomafana 2017
Calumma oshaughnessyi in Ranomafana 2017
Calumma oshaughnessyi aus Ranomafana
Calumma oshaughnessyi
Calumma oshaughnessyi
Calumma oshaughnessyi in Ranomafana
Calumma oshaughnessyi in Ranomafana
Calumma oshaughnessyi in Ranomafana
CITES quotas
2011-13 no specimens, 2014-21 each 250 specimens for legal export

First description:

(Günther, 1881)

Origin of the species name:

The German zoologist Albert Carl Ludwig Gotthilf Günther, then Director of the Zoological Department of the Natural History Museum of London (Great Britain), gave only a few species names in honour of specific individuals. He made an exception for this chameleon species, which he dedicated to his English friend and colleague Arthur William Edgar O’Shaughnessy. O’Shaughnessy was already employed by the Natural History Museum at the age of 19 and remained there until his death at the age of only 37 in January 1881, shortly before the description of Calumma oshaughnessyi was completed.

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Calumma oshaughnessyi

loading map - please wait...

Andohahela: -24.688824, 46.742706
Andringitra: -22.172145, 47.202759
Antoetra: -20.777500, 47.318000
Befotaka: -23.653330, 47.114868
Ikongo: -21.880000, 47.436500
Ivohibe: -22.481000, 46.888100
Ranomafana: -21.207459, 47.455444
Vinanitelo: -21.732400, 47.262900
Andrambovato: -21.514000, 47.428400
Ambohimitombo: -22.285523, 47.313309
Ambahaka forest: -22.285840, 47.311935

Distribution:

The distribution of this chameleon species reaches from Ranomafana national park to the northern edges of Andohahela national park in south-east Madagascar. They prefer to live in dense evergreen rainforests where it is always extremely humid. Calumma oshaughnessyi loves deep primary forests overgrown with ferns and moss. You will hardly find them in secondary vegetation. During night excursions, you can see them in the rainforest at the ends of branches at heights of 2-4 meters.

Appearance and size:

With a total length of almost 40 cm, Calumma oshaughnessyi belongs to the large representatives of the colorful dragons. The males have two big nose appendages. Besides their green-greyish colors, they also have blue and yellow accents in the gular area and on the flanks. The head and shoulder parts are grey-whitish mainly in males, partially with, partially without a turquoise green throat. Females lack the characteristic nose appendages. Both genders have small but distinct occipital lobes. Some individuals of Calumma oshaughnessyi show some enlarged spines at the back, but most specimens completely lack them.

 

Weight table

Gewichtstabelle Calumma oshaughnessyi 2018

Gewicht = weight in grams, Kopf-Rumpf-Länge = snout-vent-length in cm, Weibchen = female, Männchen = male

Since 2017, we measure the weights of most Calumma oshaughnessyi that we find in Madagascar, of course only if practicable with calm animals (and working scales). Up to date, we have only a few weights. Over the long term, we want to get an average weight in proportion to the snout-vent-length (measured from the tip of the nose to the cloaca) from a large number of measurements for each Madagascan chameleon species. It is important to know that weights were all measured at the end of the rainy season when the chameleons have been having the highest food supply of the year. So our table may show the maximum weights of chameleons in Madagascar. Triangular symbols in females mean not pregnant, spherical symbols mean pregnant.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 23 24 23 23 21 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimum temperature 20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximum temperature 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Rain days 27 24 26 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

The rainforest of Ranomafana is located in Madagascar's southern highlands at elevations around 1000 m above sea level. Thus climate is generally cooler than e.g. on the coast or in the southwestern part of the island. Days reach temperatures around 25°C, rainy season may become a little warmer. Sunny places may get a little above 30°C sometimes. At night, temperature drops down to 20°C in rainy season and even lower to 15°C in dry season.

But "dry" season is very relative in Ranomafana, because the forest does not get dry at all. Never. It may rain less and precipitation is not lasting for days, but it is still rich enough to let ground and trees never dry completely. Key factors of Ranomafana's climate are high humidity and cool nights.

2016 UVI Ranomafana 2015 UVI Ranomafana
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (March) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Ranomafana available yet.

Habitat:

The following pictures show the habitat of Calumma oshaughnessyi in Ranomafana. This rainforest extends over several canyons so it may be rather steep sometimes. The ground is rocky with dense undergrowth. The trees are often huge and many parts are completely covered by lichen and moss. In the morning, it is often foggy, and it almost never gets dry in Ranomafana. That’s why the rainforest greens and blooms so fantastically. Calumma oshaughnessyi prefers the dense parts of the rainforest with lianas and high trees. In the night they often sleep on small branches that are on the limit to hold their weight.

Hereinafter you can find some 360° pictures from Ranomafana. You can move inside these pictures via mouse click in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, a new window with an enlarged view will open. You will also have the opportunity to look at the pictures in full-screen mode. Enjoy!

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Calumma oshaughnessyi

Calumma oshaughnessyi in Ranomafana 2017
Calumma oshaughnessyi in Ranomafana 2017
Calumma oshaughnessyi in Ranomafana 2017
Calumma oshaughnessyi in Ranomafana 2017
Calumma oshaughnessyi in Ranomafana 2017
Calumma oshaughnessyi in Ranomafana 2017
Calumma oshaughnessyi aus Ranomafana
Calumma oshaughnessyi
Calumma oshaughnessyi
Calumma oshaughnessyi in Ranomafana
Calumma oshaughnessyi in Ranomafana
Calumma oshaughnessyi in Ranomafana
CITES-Quoten
2011-13 keine Tiere, 2014-18 je 250 Tiere für den legalen Export freigegeben

Erstbeschreibung:

Günther, 1881

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Calumma oshaughnessyi

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Andohahela: -24.688824, 46.742706
Andringitra: -22.172145, 47.202759
Antoetra: -20.777500, 47.318000
Befotaka: -23.653330, 47.114868
Ikongo: -21.880000, 47.436500
Ivohibe: -22.481000, 46.888100
Ranomafana: -21.207459, 47.455444
Vinanitelo: -21.732400, 47.262900

Verbreitung:

Die Verbreitung dieser Chamäleonart zieht sich vom Nationalpark Ranomafana bis hin zu den nördlichen Randgebieten des Andohela Nationalparks im Süd-Osten Madagaskars. Die Tiere bewohnen überwiegend die dichten immergrünen Regenwälder, wo es ständig extrem feucht ist. Calumma oshaughnessyi lebt dabei ausschließlich in den tiefen, mit Farnen und Moosen überwucherten Primärwäldern. In Sekundärvegetation sind sie so gut wie nicht zu finden. Auf Nachtexkursionen kann man sie im Wald an den äußersten Enden von Ästen in Höhe vom 2-4 Metern sehen.

Aussehen und Größe:

Mit einer Gesamtlänge von fast 40 cm gehört Calumma oshaughnessyi zu den großen Vertretern der bunten Drachen. Die Männchen haben zwei schaufelförmige Nasenfortsätze, und weisen neben einem grün-grauen Farbkleid auch blaue und gelbe Applikationen am Kehlsack und den Flankenbereichen auf. Der Kopf- und Schulterbereich ist vor allem bei Männchen meist grau-weiß, teils mit, teils ohne türkisgrünen Kehlsack. Bei dieser Chamäleonart haben die Weibchen keine charakteristischen Nasenfortsätze. Beide Geschlechter weisen schmale, aber deutliche Occipitallappen auf. Manche Individuen von Calumma oshaughnessyi zeigen ein paar vergrößerte Kegelschuppen am Rückenkamm, bei den meisten fehlen sie jedoch gänzlich.

 

Gewichtstabelle

Gewichtstabelle Calumma oshaughnessyi 2018

Seit 2017 messen wir die Gewichte von uns gefundener Calumma oshaughnessyi auf Madagaskar, soweit die Tiere (und unsere Waagen) mitmachen. Bisher sind es nur wenige Gewichte, langfristig soll sich aus einer möglichst großen Anzahl Messungen ein durchschnittliches Gewicht im Verhältnis zur Kopf-Rumpf-Länge (gemessen von der Nasenspitze bis zur Kloake) ablesen lassen. Das heißt, aus den aktuellen Tabellen lässt sich leider noch nicht allzuviel herauslesen, sie können jedoch ein erster Anhaltspunkt sein. Wichtig zu wissen ist, dass alle Gewichte gegen Ende der Regenzeit (= bestes Futterangebot) gemessen wurde, es dürfte sich also um Maximalgewichte auf Madagaskar handeln. Dreieckige Symbole bei Weibchen bedeuten nicht trächtig, runde Symbole bedeuten trächtig.

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 23 24 23 23 21 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimale Temperatur 20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximale Temperatur 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Regentage 27 24 26 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Der Regenwald von Ranomafana liegt im südlichen Hochland Madagaskars auf Höhen um die 1000 m über Meeresniveau. Damit ist das Klima hier grundsätzlich kühler als z.B. an der Küste oder im Südwesten der Insel. Tagsüber wird es um die 25°C warm, während der Regenzeit auch wärmer. Sonnige Stellen erreichen auch mal knapp über 30°C. Nachts sinken die Temperaturen herunter bis auf 20°C in der Regenzeit und bis auf 15°C in der Trockenzeit.

Trockenzeit ist in Ranomafana allerdings sehr relativ, denn wirklich trocken wird es hier nie. Es regnet zwar etwas weniger und nicht tagelang am Stück, aber trotzdem noch ergiebig genug, dass Erdboden und Bäume nie völlig abtrocknen. Eine hohe Luftfeuchtigkeit und kühle Nächte sind die Schlüsselfaktoren in Ranomafana.

2016 UVI Ranomafana 2015 UVI Ranomafana

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (März) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Ranomafana verfügbar.

Habitat:

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat von Calumma oshaughnessyi in Ranomafana. Der Regenwald hier zieht sich über mehrere Schluchten, so dass es stellenweise recht steil ist. Der Boden ist felsig, und weist dichtes Unterholz auf. Die Bäume sind teils riesig, und an vielen Stellen von Flechten und Moosen völlig überwuchert. Morgens ist es meistens neblig, und trocken wird es eigentlich nie. Deshalb grünt und blüht der Regenwald auch so fantastisch. Calumma oshaughnessyi bevorzugt dichten Regenwald mit Lianen und hohen Bäumen. Nachts schlafen sie meist auf Ästen, die gerade so ihr Gewicht halten.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus Ranomafana, die wir 2017 aufgenommen haben. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove