Calumma tjiasmantoi

Calumma tjiasmantoi, male, 2018
Calumma tjiasmantoi, female, 2018
Calumma tjiasmantoi, female, 2018
Calumma tjiasmantoi, male, 2018
Calumma tjiasmantoi,
Calumma tjiasmantoi,
CITES-Quoten
no legal export possible

First description:

Prötzel, Scherz, Ratsoavina, Vences & Glaw, 2020

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Calumma tjiasmantoi

loading map - please wait...

Ranomafana: -21.225382, 47.424889
Sampanandrano: -24.201138, 47.077789
Andohahela: -24.764062, 46.805878

Distribution:

Calumma tjiasmantoi is only known from the rainforests of the southeast of Madagascar. It is best found in the Ranomafana National Park in the southern highlands. However, the distribution area reaches up to 400 km far into the south, into the forests of Andohahela. The animals are relatively difficult to photograph, as they are usually very shy and immediately turn darkly colored behind each branch as soon as they discover a potential threat.

Look and size:

Calumma tjiasmantoi is a small chameleon. It grows to a maximum length of 7.7 to 9.3 cm, with the females being only slightly smaller than the males. Characteristic is a very short, rounded nose extension – in females, it is no more than a small snub nose. The rostral scale just below the rostral appendage is not integrated into the appendage. Males wear a low casque (around 1.3 mm) and sometimes a dorsal crest with few conical scales, sometimes not. In a relaxed state, the males are broadly yellow and blue-banded on the body, the limbs are yellow-green and the head is light green. The females are mostly brown-beige-green marbled. All Calumma tjiasmantoi wear a dark stripe on both sides, which reaches from the nose over the eyelid to the casque.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 23 24 23 23 21 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimum temperature 20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximum temperature 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Rain days 27 24 26 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

The rainforest of Ranomafana is located in Madagascar's southern highlands at elevations around 1000 m above sea level. Thus climate is generally cooler than e.g. on the coast or in the southwestern part of the island. Days reach temperatures around 25°C, rainy season may become a little warmer. Sunny places may get a little above 30°C sometimes. At night, temperature drops down to 20°C in rainy season and even lower to 15°C in dry season.

But "dry" season is very relative in Ranomafana, because the forest does not get dry at all. Never. It may rain less and precipitation is not lasting for days, but it is still rich enough to let ground and trees never dry completely. Key factors of Ranomafana's climate are high humidity and cool nights.

2016 UVI Ranomafana 2015 UVI Ranomafana
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (March) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Ranomafana available yet.

Habitat:

The following photos show parts of the habitat of Calumma tjiasmantoi during the rainy season in Ranomafana. The rainforest here stretches over several canyons so that it is quite steep in some places. The ground is rocky and has dense undergrowth. The trees are partly huge and in many places completely overgrown by lichens and mosses. In the morning it is mostly foggy, and it never gets dry. That’s why the rainforest is so fantastically green and blooming. Calumma tjiasmantoi is not only found in the intact rainforest, but also at the edge of the rainforest in adjacent secondary vegetation. They prefer dense bushes to trees and preferably thin, narrow branches on shrubby plants.

 

In the following you will find some 360° pictures of Ranomfanas rainforests. With the mouse, you can turn in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, the pictures will open in a separate window in an enlarged view. There you also have the possibility to view the pictures in full-screen mode. Have fun while watching it!

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar, März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar, März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar, März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Calumma tjiasmantoi

Calumma tjiasmantoi, male, 2018
Calumma tjiasmantoi, female, 2018
Calumma tjiasmantoi, female, 2018
Calumma tjiasmantoi, male, 2018
Calumma tjiasmantoi,
Calumma tjiasmantoi,
CITES-Quoten
kein legaler Export möglich

 

Erstbeschreibung:

Prötzel, Scherz, Ratsoavina, Vences & Glaw, 2020

Herkunft des Artnamens:

David Prötzel, Mark D. Scherz und Frank Glaw von der Zoologischen Staatssammlung München, Fanomezana M. Ratsoavina von der Universität von Antananarivo (Madagaskar) sowie Miguel Vences vom Zoologischen Institut der TU Braunschweig benannten die Art auf Wunsch des Indonesiers Wewin Tjiasmanto nach ihm selbst. Tjiasmanto hatte über das Projekt BIOPAT eine Patenschaft für eine Chamäleonart übernommen. Dabei zahlt der jeweilige Pate für eine Patenschaft ab 2600 € aufwärts. Das Geld wird ausschließlich zur Unterstützung wissenschaftlicher Forschungsprojekte verwendet. Im Gegenzug darf der Pate einer neu entdeckten Pflanzen- oder Tierart seiner Wahl einen Wunschnamen verleihen

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Calumma tjiasmantoi

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Ranomafana: -21.225382, 47.424889
Sampanandrano: -24.201138, 47.077789
Andohahela: -24.764062, 46.805878

Verbreitung:

Calumma tjiasmantoi ist nur aus Regenwäldern des Südostens Madagaskars bekannt. Am besten findet man sie im Nationalpark Ranomafana im südlichen Hochland. Das Verbreitungsgebiet reicht jedoch bis zu 400 km weit in den Süden, bis in die Wälder von Andohahela.  Die Tiere sind relativ schwierig zu fotografieren, da sie meist sehr scheu sind und sich sofort dunkel gefärbt hinter jedes Ästchen drehen, sobald sie eine potenzielle Bedrohung entdecken.

Aussehen und Größe:

Calumma tjiasmantoi ist ein kleines Chamäleon. Es wird insgesamt maximal 7,7 bis 9,3 cm lang, wobei die Weibchen nur minimal kleiner sind als die Männchen.  Charakteristisch ist ein sehr kurzer, abgerundeter Nasenfortsatz – bei den Weibchen ist es nicht mehr als eine kleine Stupsnase. Die rostrale Schuppe direkt unter dem Nasenfortsatz ist nicht Teil desselben. Die Männchen tragen einen niedrigen Helm (um 1,3 mm) und manchmal einen Rückenkamm mit konischen Schuppen, manchmal nicht. In entspanntem Zustand sind die Männchen am Körper breit gelb und blau gebändert, die Extremitäten sind gelb-grün und der Kopf ist hellgrün. Die Weibchen sind meist braun-beige-grün marmoriert. Alle Calumma tjiasmantoi tragen beidseitig einen dunklen Streifen, der von der Nase über das Augenlid bis zum Helm reicht.

 

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 23 24 23 23 21 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimale Temperatur 20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximale Temperatur 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Regentage 27 24 26 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Der Regenwald von Ranomafana liegt im südlichen Hochland Madagaskars auf Höhen um die 1000 m über Meeresniveau. Damit ist das Klima hier grundsätzlich kühler als z.B. an der Küste oder im Südwesten der Insel. Tagsüber wird es um die 25°C warm, während der Regenzeit auch wärmer. Sonnige Stellen erreichen auch mal knapp über 30°C. Nachts sinken die Temperaturen herunter bis auf 20°C in der Regenzeit und bis auf 15°C in der Trockenzeit.

Trockenzeit ist in Ranomafana allerdings sehr relativ, denn wirklich trocken wird es hier nie. Es regnet zwar etwas weniger und nicht tagelang am Stück, aber trotzdem noch ergiebig genug, dass Erdboden und Bäume nie völlig abtrocknen. Eine hohe Luftfeuchtigkeit und kühle Nächte sind die Schlüsselfaktoren in Ranomafana.

2016 UVI Ranomafana 2015 UVI Ranomafana

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (März) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Ranomafana verfügbar.

Habitat:

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat von Calumma tjiasmantoi zur Regenzeit in Ranomafana. Der Regenwald hier zieht sich über mehrere Schluchten, so dass es stellenweise recht steil ist. Der Boden ist felsig und weist dichtes Unterholz auf. Die Bäume sind teils riesig, und an vielen Stellen von Flechten und Moosen völlig überwuchert. Morgens ist es meistens neblig, und trocken wird es eigentlich nie. Deshalb grünt und blüht der Regenwald auch so fantastisch. Calumma tjiasmantoi ist nicht ausschließlich im intakten Regenwald zu finden, sondern kommt auch am Rande des Regenwaldes in angrenzender Sekundärvegetation vor. Sie bevorzugen dichte Büsche gegenüber Bäumen und möglichst dünne, schmale Ästchen an strauchigen Gewächsen.

 

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus Ranomfanas Regenwäldern. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar, März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar, März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar, März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove