Color variation “yellow lip”

Calumma parsonii yellow lip aus Ranomafana 2017
Calumma parsonii yellow lip aus Ranomafana 2017
Calumma parsonii yellow lip
Calumma parsonii yellow lip
Calumma parsonii yellow lip

Distribution:

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Yellow lip

loading map - please wait...

Ranomafana: -21.407687, 47.407379

Ranomafana national park is approximately 420 km south-east of the capital Antananarivo in Madagascar’s southern highlands. You need at least one day to get there via RN7. The village of the same name lies in a long valley, and some small villages surround the national park. The park itself consists of primary rainforest, while the surrounding areas mainly comprise banana plantations, cleared slopes, and secondary vegetation. Only a few fragments of the original rainforest remain outside the national park, and Calumma parsonii parsonii prefers exactly these areas. This color variation is difficult to find inside the national park, you have to go by car a little further – most times. The habitat is also used by Furcifer balteatus.

Appearance & size:

Calumma parsonii parsonii occurring around and in Ranomafana are called “yellow lip”. Males are blue to turquoise colored with clearly contrasted yellow lips and a yellow nose appendage. The casque can show yellow accents, too. Like in all other Parson’s color variations, the females are bright green. In Ranomafana, we have found extraordinary big animals, with a total length of about 70 cm. Those are surely among the largest chameleons ever found in Madagascar.

Weight table


Gewicht = weight, Kopf-Rumpf-Länge = snout-vent-length, Weibchen = female, Männchen = male

Since 2015, we measure weights of all chameleons found by us in Madagascar, as long as the animals (and our scales) cooperate. Until now, we have only a few weights yet, but on a long-term base, we want to get a preferably high number to get an average weight with regard to snout-vent-length (measured from the tip of the snout to the cloaca) for each species. That means our up to date tables cannot tell that much yet, but the might be a first reference. It is important to know that all weights were taken at the end of the rainy season (= best food range), so we suggest these may be maximal weights of these animals in Madagascar. Triangular symbols for females mean not gravid, round symbols mean gravid.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 23 24 23 23 21 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimum temperature 20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximum temperature 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Rain days 27 24 26 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

The rainforest of Ranomafana is located in Madagascar's southern highlands at elevations around 1000 m above sea level. Thus climate is generally cooler than e.g. on the coast or in the southwestern part of the island. Days reach temperatures around 25°C, rainy season may become a little warmer. Sunny places may get a little above 30°C sometimes. At night, temperature drops down to 20°C in rainy season and even lower to 15°C in dry season.

But "dry" season is very relative in Ranomafana, because the forest does not get dry at all. Never. It may rain less and precipitation is not lasting for days, but it is still rich enough to let ground and trees never dry completely. Key factors of Ranomafana's climate are high humidity and cool nights.

2016 UVI Ranomafana 2015 UVI Ranomafana
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (March) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Ranomafana available yet.

Habitat:

The leftover habitat south of Ranomafana, where the animals are rather well findable, extends over a hilly area with few isolated rainforest residues. Trees are slender and high, the undergrowth is dense and the animals love to roam around high up in the trees. The soil is always humid and densely covered with foliage. Around these regions, there is sadly nothing left but secondary vegetation with mango, jackfruit and tamarind trees. The species only sometimes use those trees to climb on. In Ranomafana itself, “yellow lips” are mainly found in the intact rainforest with huge trees, lianas, and many ferns. The trees are almost always moist and mossy. The forest stretches over several canyons and is accordingly rocky, the ground is covered with thick foliage. To find the animals here in the dense rainforest is extremely difficult despite their size.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Farbvariante „yellow lip“

Calumma parsonii yellow lip aus Ranomafana 2017
Calumma parsonii yellow lip aus Ranomafana 2017
Calumma parsonii yellow lip
Calumma parsonii yellow lip
Calumma parsonii yellow lip

Verbreitung:

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Yellow lip

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Ranomafana: -21.407687, 47.407379

Der Nationalpark Ranomafana liegt ca. 420 Kilometer süd-östlich der Hauptstadt Antananarivo im südlichen Hochland Madagaskars. Man benötigt mindestens einen Tag für die Fahrt dorthin über die RN7. Das gleichnamige Dorf liegt in einem lang gestreckten Tal, und verschiedene kleine Dörfer gruppieren sich um den Nationalpark. Der Nationalpark selbst besteht aus primärem Regenwald, während die umliegenden Gebiete vor allem aus Bananenplantagen, abgerodeten Hängen und Sekundärvegetation bestehen. Nur wenige Fragmente des ursprünglichen Regenwaldes sind außerhalb des Nationalparks noch erhalten, in deren Nähe sich Calumma parsonii parsonii bevorzugt aufhält.  Die Farbvariante ist nur schwierig im Nationalpark selbst zu finden. Meist muss man etwas weiter rausfahren, um die Art zu finden. Der Lebensraum überschneidet sich mit dem von Furcifer balteatus.

Aussehen & Größe:

Die in und um Ranomafana vorkommenden Calumma parsonii parsonii werden auch „yellow lip“ genannt. Die Männchen sind türkisbläulich bis grün gefärbt und haben klar abgesetzte gelbe Lippen sowie einen gelben Nasenfortsatz. Auch der Helm weist gelbe Akzente auf. Die Weibchen sind wie bei allen Lokalformen schlicht grün. Hier haben wir besonders große Tiere gefunden, die mit einer Gesamtlänge von rund 70 cm zu den größten von uns auf Madagaskar je gefundenen Chamäleons zählen dürften.

Gewichtstabelle

Seit 2015 messen wir die Gewichte von uns gefundener Parsons Chamäleons auf Madagaskar, soweit die Tiere (und unsere Waagen) mitmachen. Bisher sind es nur wenige Gewichte, langfristig soll sich aus einer möglichst großen Anzahl Messungen ein durchschnittliches Gewicht im Verhältnis zur Kopf-Rumpf-Länge (gemessen von der Nasenspitze bis zur Kloake) für jede Art ablesen lassen. Wichtig zu wissen ist, dass alle Gewichte gegen Ende der Regenzeit (= bestes Futterangebot) gemessen wurde, es dürfte sich also um Maximalgewichte auf Madagaskar handeln. Dreieckige Symbole bei Weibchen bedeuten nicht trächtig, runde Symbole bedeuten trächtig. Bei Calumma parsonii parsonii haben wir bisher eine gemeinsame Tabelle für alle Farbvarianten, da es sich bei allen vieren um die gleiche Art handelt.

 

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 23 24 23 23 21 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimale Temperatur 20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximale Temperatur 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Regentage 27 24 26 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Der Regenwald von Ranomafana liegt im südlichen Hochland Madagaskars auf Höhen um die 1000 m über Meeresniveau. Damit ist das Klima hier grundsätzlich kühler als z.B. an der Küste oder im Südwesten der Insel. Tagsüber wird es um die 25°C warm, während der Regenzeit auch wärmer. Sonnige Stellen erreichen auch mal knapp über 30°C. Nachts sinken die Temperaturen herunter bis auf 20°C in der Regenzeit und bis auf 15°C in der Trockenzeit.

Trockenzeit ist in Ranomafana allerdings sehr relativ, denn wirklich trocken wird es hier nie. Es regnet zwar etwas weniger und nicht tagelang am Stück, aber trotzdem noch ergiebig genug, dass Erdboden und Bäume nie völlig abtrocknen. Eine hohe Luftfeuchtigkeit und kühle Nächte sind die Schlüsselfaktoren in Ranomafana.

2016 UVI Ranomafana 2015 UVI Ranomafana

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (März) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Ranomafana verfügbar.

Habitat:

Das noch übrige kleine Habitat südlich von Ranomafana, in dem die Tiere relativ gut zu finden sind, erstreckt sich über eine hügelige Gegend mit wenigen, vereinzelten Regenwaldresten. Die Bäume sind schlank und hoch, das Unterholz ist dicht und die Tiere sind gerne sehr weit oben in den Bäumen unterwegs. Der Erdboden ist ständig feucht und dick mit Laub bedeckt. Drumherum ist leider gar nichts mehr außer Sekundärvegetation mit Mango-, Jackfruit- und Tamarindenbäumen, in die die Tiere aber nur ab und zu kommen.  In Ranomafana selbst kommen „yellow lips“ vor allem in intaktem Regenwald vor, der mit riesigen Bäumen, Lianen und vielen Farnen aufwartet. Die Bäume sind quasi immer feucht und moosig bewachsen. Der Wald zieht sich über mehrere Schluchten und ist entsprechend felsig, der Erdboden ist von dickem Laub bedeckt. Die Tiere hier im dichten Regenwald zu finden, ist trotz ihrer Größe enorm schwierig.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove