Browsing Tags

Trockenwald

Brookesia brygooi in Isalo 2017

Brookesia brygooi

First description: Raxworthy & Nussbaum, 1995 Origin of the species name: Christopher J. Raxworthy from the American Museum of Natural History, New York (USA) and Ronald A. Nussbaum from the University of Michigan, Ann...
Brookesia decaryi in Ankarafantsika 2018

Brookesia decaryi

First description: Angel, 1939 Origin of the species name: Fernand Angel described this chameleon species on the basis of prepared animals that were kept in the Natural History Museum of Paris (France). The chameleons...
Brookesia stumpffi, Ankify, 2019

Brookesia stumpffi

First description: Boettger, 1984 Origin of the species name: The paleontologist Oskar Böttger, then curator of the Senckenberg Museum in Francfort (Germany), named the species after Anton Stumpff. Together with Carl Ebenau, General Representative...
Furcifer major

Furcifer major

First description: (Brygoo, 1971) Origin of the species name: The French zoologist Édouard-Raoul Brygoo described the species at the Institute Pasteur in Antananarivo, Madagascar. He considered it to be a subspecies of the carpet...
Furcifer nicosiai in Kirindy 2017

Furcifer nicosiai

First description: Jesu, Mattioli & Schimmenti, 1999 Origin of the species name: The three Italian biologists Riccardo Jesu, Fabio Mattioli, and Giovanni Schimmenti from the Aquarium Genoa (Italy) dedicated the species to Guido Nicosia,...
Furcifer rhinoceratus in Ankarafantsika 2017

Furcifer rhinoceratus

First description: (Gray, 1845) Origin of the species name: The English zoologist John Edward Gray described the species very briefly and named it after the Latin rhinoceros. By this, he meant the different pronounced...

Browsing Tags

Trockenwald

Brookesia brygooi in Isalo 2017

Brookesia brygooi

Erstbeschreibung: Raxworthy & Nussbaum, 1995 Herkunft des Artnamens: Christopher J. Raxworthy vom American Museum of Natural History, New York (USA), und Ronald A. Nussbaum von der Universität von Michigan, Ann Arbor (USA), benannten die...
Brookesia decaryi in Ankarafantsika 2018

Brookesia decaryi

Erstbeschreibung: Angel, 1939 Herkunft des Artnamens: Fernand Angel beschrieb diese Chamäleonart an Hand präparierter Tiere, die im Naturhistorischen Museum von Paris (Frankreich) aufbewahrt wurden. Die Chamäleons waren ursprünglich vom Kolonialbeamten Raymond Decary 1938 auf...
Brookesia stumpffi, Ankify, 2019

Brookesia stumpffi

Erstbeschreibung: Boettger, 1984 Herkunft des Artnamens: Der Paläontologe Oskar Böttger, damaliger Kurator des Senckenberg-Museums in Frankfurt am Main, benannte die Art nach Anton Stumpff. Stumpff bereiste zusammen mit Carl Ebenau, Generalbevollmächtiger der Deutschen Ostafrikanischen...
Furcifer major

Furcifer major

Erstbeschreibung: (Brygoo, 1971) Herkunft des Artnamens: Der Zoologe Édouard-Raoul Brygoo beschrieb die Art im Institu Pasteur in Antananarivo, Madagaskar. Er hielt sie für eine Unterart des Teppichchamäleons und nannte sie deshalb noch Furcifer lateralis...
Furcifer nicosiai in Kirindy 2017

Furcifer nicosiai

Erstbeschreibung: Jesu, Mattioli & Schimmenti, 1999 Herkunft des Artnamens: Die drei italienischen Biologen Riccardo Jesu, Fabio Mattioli und Giovanni Schimmenti vom Aquarium Genua (Italien) widmeten die Art Guido Nicosia, damals Botschafter Italiens in Madagaskar....
Furcifer rhinoceratus in Ankarafantsika 2017

Furcifer rhinoceratus

Erstbeschreibung: (Gray, 1845) Herkunft des Artnamens: Der englische Zoologe John Edward Gray beschrieb die Art sehr kurz und benannte sie nach dem Lateinischen rhinoceros, das bedeutet Nashorn. Er meinte damit die bei beiden Geschlechtern...