Brookesia stumpffi

Brookesia stumpffi aus Ankarana
Brookesia stumpffi, Montagne d'Ambre, 2019
Brookesia stumpffi, Montagne d'Ambre, 2019
Brookesia stumpffi, Montagne d'Ambre, 2019
Brookesia stumpffi, Ankify, 2019
Brookesia stumpffi, Ankify, 2019
Brookesia stumpffi, Ankify, 2019
Brookesia stumpffi, Ankify, 2019
Brookesia stumpffi aus Ankify
Brookesia stumpffi aus Ankarana
Brookesia stumpffi aus Ankarana
CITES-Quoten
2011-13 each 200 specimens, 2014-16 each 500, 2017 for the first time 1000 specimen, 2018-2022 each 500 specimens for legal export

First description:

Boettger, 1984

Origin of the species name:

The paleontologist Oskar Böttger, then curator of the Senckenberg Museum in Francfort (Germany), named the species after Anton Stumpff. Together with Carl Ebenau, General Representative of the German East African Society, Stumpff traveled in the 1880s, especially to the island of Nosy Be in Madagascar. Both collected numerous chameleons and sent them to Germany.

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Brookesia stumpffi

loading map - please wait...

Nosy Be: -13.402311, 48.324738
Nosy Komba: -13.470900, 48.347700
Nosy Sakatia: -13.303400, 48.161000
Ankify: -13.557800, 48.367400
Ambanja: -13.625801, 48.437004
Ambilobe: -13.171927, 49.055843
Ankarafantsika: -16.254231, 46.928101
Antsiranana (Diego Suarez): -12.399024, 49.345093
Antsohihy: -14.909289, 47.973518
Katsepy: -15.765100, 46.242800
Montagne d\'Ambre: -12.601140, 49.179611
Montagne de Francais: -12.464067, 49.190598
Ankarana: -12.959734, 49.132233
Andrafiamena: -13.015262, 49.277802
Anivorano: -12.741600, 49.233600
Benavony: -13.746305, 48.466101
Berara: -14.374160, 47.758255
Forêt d\'Orangea: -12.251779, 49.386463
Manongarivo: -14.019356, 48.390656
Soalala: -16.102900, 45.328500
Anjajavy: -15.010785, 47.234688

Distribution:

This species is a common leaf chameleon in western Madagascar, especially in the more northern dry forests, such as Ankarana national park, and some spiny forests in the hot south. But also rainforests like Amber Mountain, islands (Nosy Komba, Nosy Be, Nosy Sakatia) or simply secondary vegetation serves as habitat. Brookesia stumpffi lives on the ground and low vegetation. Rarely you can even find them climbing on trees. During the nighttime, they usually sleep knee-high on small branches in the shrubs, mostly vertically. They are bright-colored then and easy to find.

Appearance & size:

These animals grow up to 93 mm and are rather beige to light brown colored. Both sides wear nine to ten spiny scales that end in a suspicious pelvic shield. The tail has no spines. The bony appendage above the eye is more roundish and not very large compared to other species. In contrast to other leaf chameleons, the mouth and nose area seems to be a little longer.

Captivity:

Brookesia stumpffi has been bred for some years, although not in high amounts.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 28 28 28 28 25 23 23 24 26 28 29 28
Minimum temperature 23 22 23 22 18 16 15 16 19 21 22 23
Maximum temperature 33 33 33 33 33 31 31 32 33 35 35 34
Rain days 16 12 6 1 1 0 0 0 1 1 2 9

The given data were measured and compiled by us within several years with thermo- and hygrometers directly at the finding places of the animals. "Average temperature" means that the values of an entire month were calculated to an average value, e.g. all measured minimum values of February were calculated to an average minimum value for February. This means in plain language that individual peak values of a day can be significantly higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum values. It is therefore possible that although the average maximum is 29 degrees, it was 33°C or even 35°C warm on some days of the month.

Ankify is a coastal town directly on the Mozambique Channel. The climate is warm all year round, only in the rainy season from October to April it gets a little warmer during the day. The temperatures reach over 25°C all year round and in the rainy season they often exceed 30°C.

At night it is only a few degrees colder, but a little wind on the coast makes the temperatures always bearable. During the rainy season the climate is very humid and it rains every day, in the dry season the climate is only moderately dry with still regular rainfall, but it is shorter and smaller.

2016 UVI Ankify

The UVB data were measured with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (early April) at the highest activity time of the chameleons. The maximum values to be achieved by the chameleon in the habitat were measured.

Unfortunately there are no ground temperatures available for Ankify yet.

Habitat:

The following pictures show the habitat of Brookesia stumpffi at the end of the rainy season. Some are even from finding places of this species. Generally, this species has no high demands concerning specialized habitats, it can cope with various environments. In Ankify and Ambanja, this species occurs in the thick foliage layer of coffee and cocoa plantations. On Nosy Be, along the coast of Ankify and on Nosy Komba, they rather inhabit rocky environments with dense undergrowth and mossy soil areas. In contrast, the habitat in Ankarana has entwined undergrowth with lots of twigs and thin branches, much foliage, and small plants. The ground ist diffused with rocks and stones here, too.

Hereinafter you can find some 360° pictures from Ankify, coffee plantations of Ambanja and dry forest of Ankarana. You can move inside these pictures via mouse click in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, a new window with an enlarged view will open. You will also have the opportunity to look at the pictures in full-screen mode. Enjoy!

Kakao- und Kaffeeplantage in Ambanja, Region Diana, Nordwest-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Kakao- und Kaffeeplantage in Ambanja, Region Diana, Nordwest-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Kakaoplantage nahe Ankify, Region Diana, Nordwest-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Weg nahe Ankify, Region Diana, Nordwest-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Ankarana, Region Diana, Nordwest-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Brookesia stumpffi

Brookesia stumpffi aus Ankarana
Brookesia stumpffi aus Ankarana
Brookesia stumpffi aus Ankarana
Brookesia stumpffi aus Nosy Be
Brookesia stumpffi aus Ankify
CITES-Quoten
2011-13 je 200 Tiere, 2014-16 je 500 Tiere, 2017 erstmals 1000 Tiere, 2018 wieder 500 Tiere für den legalen Export freigegeben

Erstbeschreibung:

Boettger, 1984

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Brookesia stumpffi

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Nosy Be: -13.402311, 48.324738
Nosy Komba: -13.470900, 48.347700
Nosy Sakatia: -13.303400, 48.161000
Ankify: -13.557800, 48.367400
Ambanja: -13.625801, 48.437004
Ambilobe: -13.171927, 49.055843
Ankarafantsika: -16.254231, 46.928101
Antsiranana (Diego Suarez): -12.399024, 49.345093
Antsohihy: -14.909289, 47.973518
Katsepy: -15.765100, 46.242800
Montagne d\'Ambre: -12.601140, 49.179611
Montagne de Francais: -12.464067, 49.190598

Verbreitung:

Diese Art lebt im Westen Madagaskars in den Trockenwäldern des Nordens, zum Beispiel dem Ankarana Nationalpark, und einigen Dornwälern im heißen Süden. Aber auch Regenwälder wie der Montagne d’Ambre, Inseln (Nosy Komba, Nosy Be, Nosy Sakatia) oder ganz schlicht Sekundärvegetation nahe Ambanja, Ankify und Ambilobe dienen als Lebensraum. Brookesia stumpffi bewohnt den Boden, aber auch niedrige Sträucher. Seltener findet man sie sogar niedrig auf Bäumen kletternd. Nachts findet man sie knapp über Kniehöhe auf dünnen Ästchen im Gebüsch, meist vertikal schlafend. Sie sind dann sehr hell gefärbt und dadurch relativ leicht zu finden.

Aussehen & Größe:

Diese Tiere werden bis zu 93 mm lang und sind eher beige bis hellbraun gefärbt. An den Körperseiten verlaufen neun bis zehn dornartige Schuppen, die in einem auffälligen Hüftschild enden. Der Schwanz trägt keine „Stacheln“. Der Fortsatz über den Augen ist eher rund und nicht besonders groß. Der Nasen- und Mund-Bereich scheint gegenüber anderen Arten ein wenig länger zu sein. Im Folgenden findest du ein paar Fotos von Jungtieren der Art.

Besonderheiten:

Diese Art lässt sich wie viele Erdchamäleons bei Bedrohung gerne einfach fallen oder vibriert.

Terraristik:

Brookesia stumpffi wird seit Längerem immer wieder mal nachgezüchtet, wenn auch noch nicht in großem Umfang.

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 28 28 28 28 25 23 23 24 26 28 29 28
Minimale Temperatur 23 22 23 22 18 16 15 16 19 21 22 23
Maximale Temperatur 33 33 33 33 33 31 31 32 33 35 35 34
Regentage 16 12 6 1 1 0 0 0 1 1 2 9

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Ankify ist ein Küstenort direkt am Kanal von Mosambik. Das Klima ist das ganze Jahr über warm, lediglich in der Regenzeit von Oktober bis April wird es tagsüber noch etwas wärmer. Die Temperaturen erreichen ganzjährig über 25°C und in der Regenzeit gerne über 30°C.

Nachts ist es nur wenige Grad kälter, aber eine wenig Wind an der Küste macht die Temperaturen immer gut erträglich. Während der Regenzeit ist das Klima sehr feucht und es regnet täglich, in der Trockenzeit wird das Klima nur moderat trocken mit immernoch regelmäßigem Niederschlag, der aber kürzer und kleiner ausfällt.

2016 UVI Ankify

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Anfang April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Ankify verfügbar.

Habitat:

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat von Brookesia stumpffii zur Regenzeit. Generell stellt diese Art wenig Ansprüche an ein bestimmtes Habitat, sie kommt in verschiedenen Lebensräumen gut zurecht. In Ankify und um Ambanja kommt die Art in der dicken Laubschicht am Boden von Kaffee- und Kakaoplantagen vor. Auf Nosy Be, entlang der Küste von Ankify und auf Nosy Komba sind es eher felsige Mikrohabitate mit Unterholz und moosigen Erdbereichen, wo man diese Erdchamäleons findet. Das Habitat in Ankarana dagegen ist eher verschlungenes Unterholz mit vielen dünnen Ästen, viel Laub und kleinen, schmalblättrigen Pflanzen. Auch hier ist der Erdboden mit vielen Felsen und Steinen durchsetzt.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus Ankify, den Kaffeeplantagen um Ambanja und dem Trockenwald von Ankarana, die wir während der Regenzeit aufgenommen haben. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Kakao- und Kaffeeplantage in Ambanja, Region Diana, Nordwest-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Kakao- und Kaffeeplantage in Ambanja, Region Diana, Nordwest-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Kakaoplantage nahe Ankify, Region Diana, Nordwest-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Weg nahe Ankify, Region Diana, Nordwest-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Ankarana, Region Diana, Nordwest-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove