Brookesia therezieni

Brookesia superciliaris aus Mitsinjo, 2016
Brookesia superciliaris aus Mitsinjo am Baumstamm
CITES quotas
2011-13 each 100 specimen, 2014-21 each 500 specimen for legal export

 

First description:

Brygoo & Domergue, 1970

Origin of the species name:

Édouard-Raoul Brygoo (later working at the Natural History Museum in Paris, France) and Charles Antoine Domergue of the then Institut Pasteur in Antananarivo, Madagascar, named the species after the biologist Yves Thérézien. Jean Thiel had brought animals of the species from Andasibe to Institut Pasteur in Antananarivo for scientific research in 1967, but another leaf chameleon was already named after him. Thérézien later worked at the Natural History Museum in Paris, France, where Brygoo and Domergue later worked as well. He was mainly concerned with freshwater algae and fish and worked in various institutes on Madagascar from 1958 to 1966.

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Brookesia therezieni

loading map - please wait...

Vohimana: -18.927397, 48.489876
Anosibe An\'Ala: -19.438100, 48.206100
Anjanaharibe-Sud: -14.713791, 49.461823
Imerimandroso: -17.427900, 48.592300
Mantadia: -18.821817, 48.477173
Marojejy: -14.447979, 49.671936
Vohidrazana: -18.981948, 48.514595
Andasibe: -18.936490, 48.432884
Tampolo: -15.736745, 49.967194
Ranomafana: -21.224102, 47.440338

Distribution:

This small chameleon species is distributed in Madagascar’s eastern rainforests around Andasibe-Mantadia national park. We have found it successfully yet in the middle of the Vohimana reserve. Like all other leaf chameleons, the individuals of this species live in the forest litter, well hidden beneath the foliage or on small branches just above the soil.

Appearance & size:

This is a rather large leaf chameleon with a total length of 90 mm in males. Females reach a maximum of 68 mm. The ground colors of Brookesia therezieni are brown to beige, in general, they look similar to Brookesia superciliaris, but have a more heterogenous scalation. They also have a strong bone appendage above the eye and a point-like tubercle on the chin. To each side, there runs a series of ten or eleven spines that are – in contrast to B. superciliaris – continued on the tail. Some individuals have brighter areas on the belly.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 23 24 23 23 22 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimum temperature20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximum temperature 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Rain days 27 24 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

The region around Andasibe with the belonging forests Mantadia and Analamazaotra is located in Madagascar's eastern highlands at elevations between 900 and 1250 m above sea level. Thus temperatures sometimes reach temperatures above 25°C, but thermometers rarely climbs above 30°C or only in sunny places. At night, temperatures always drop to 10° to 15°C.

Humidity in Andasibe's rainforest is high all year long. During rainy season, it rains intensively every day, sometimes rain even lasts for days. But also dry season does not differ much besides the fact of cooler temperatures. It still rains at least every other day, in most years more often. Rain, humidity and temperature drop at night are the key features of the region around Andasibe.

2014 UVI Andasibe 2016 UVI Andasibe
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (March, April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for the region of Andasibe available yet.

Habitat:

The following pictures show the habitat of Brookesia therezieni during the rainy season in Andasibe and Vohimana. The habitat is always moist with rich undergrowth, moss, ferns and lots of small bushes and plants. This species occurs only inside rainforests and avoid any secondary vegetation.

Below you will find some 360° images from Analamazaotra. With the mouse, you can rotate in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, the images will open in an enlarged view in a separate window. There is also the possibility to run the pictures in full-screen mode. Have fun watching!

Regenwald im Nationalpark Andasibe-Mantadia, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, Madagaskar, April 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

 

Regenwald im Nationalpark Andasibe-Mantadia, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, Madagaskar, April 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Brookesia therezieni

Brookesia superciliaris aus Mitsinjo, 2016
Brookesia superciliaris aus Mitsinjo am Baumstamm
CITES-Quoten
2011-13 je 100 Tiere, 2014-20 je 500 Tiere für den legalen Export freigegeben

Erstbeschreibung:

Brygoo & Domergue, 1970

Herkunft des Artnamens:

Édouard-Raoul Brygoo und Charles Antoine Domergue vom damaligen Institut Pasteur in Antananarivo, Madagaskar, benannten die Art nach dem Biologen Yves Thérézien. Jean Thiel hatte 1967 Tiere der Art aus Andasibe nach Antananarivozum Institut Pasteur zwecks wissenschaftlicher Untersuchung gebracht, nach ihm wurde jedoch bereits ein anderes Erdchamäleon benannt.  Thérézien arbeitete später am Naturhistorischen Museum Paris, Frankreich, an dem auch Brygoo und Domergue später tätig waren. Er beschäftigte sich vor allem mit Süßwasseralgen und Fischen und arbeitete von 1958 bis 1966 in verschiedenen Instituten auf Madagaskar.

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Brookesia therezieni

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Vohimana: -18.927397, 48.489876
Anosibe An\'Ala: -19.438100, 48.206100
Anjanaharibe-Sud: -14.713791, 49.461823
Imerimandroso: -17.427900, 48.592300
Mantadia: -18.821817, 48.477173
Marojejy: -14.447979, 49.671936

Verbreitung:

Diese kleine Chamäleonart hat ihr Verbreitungsgebiet in den östlichen Regenwäldern Madagaskars rund um Andasibe-Mantadia und etwas nördlicher davon. Wir haben sie bisher erfolgreich in Mitten des Reservats Vohimanagefunden. Die Tiere dieser Art leben am Boden wie alle Erdchamäleons, gut versteckt zwischen Laub und auf niedrigen Ästchen knapp über der Erde.

Aussehen & Größe:

Für ein Erdchamäleon wird diese Art mit Gesamtlängen von 90 mm bei den Männchen verhältnismäßig groß. Die Weibchen erreichen maximal 68 mm. Die Grundfarbe von Brookesia therezieni ist braun bis beige, sie sehen Brookesia superciliaris insgesamt sehr ähnlich, tragen aber ein etwas heterogeneres Schuppenkleid. Über den Augen tragen sie einen knöchernen Fortsatz, und haben punktförmige Tuberkel am Kinn. An den Seiten verläuft je eine Serie von zehn oder elf dornartigen Schuppen, im Gegensatz zu B. superciliaris reicht sie bei B. therezieni bis über den Schwanz. Einzelne Tiere zeigen einen helleren Bereich am Bauch.

 

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 23 24 23 23 22 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimale Temperatur 20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximale Temperatur 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Regentage 27 24 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Die Region um Andasibe mit den dazugehörigen Wäldern Mantadia und Analamazaotra liegen im östlichen Hochland Madagaskars auf Höhen zwiscen 900 und 1250 m über Meeresniveau. Es wird deshalb tagsüber zwar mal über 25°C warm, über die 30°-Grenze klettert das Thermometer aber eher selten oder nur in Sonnenflecken. Nachts fallen die Temperaturen immer tief in den Keller. 10° bis 15° Grad sind die Regel.

Die Luftfeuchtigkeit in den Regenwäldern um Andasibe ist das ganze Jahr über hoch. Während der Regenzeit regnet es täglich ausgiebig, manchmal hält der Regen über Tage an. Aber auch die Trockenzeit unterscheidet sich nicht massiv, außer dass sie etwas kühlere Temperaturen aufweist. Es regnet trotzdem mindestens jeden zweiten Tag, eher öfter. Regen, hohe Luftfeuchtigkeit und nächtlicher Temperatursturz sind daher die zentralen Punkte im Klima Andasibes.

2014 UVI Andasibe 2016 UVI Andasibe

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (März, April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für die Region Andasibe verfügbar.

Habitat:

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat von Brookesia therezieni zur Regenzeit in der Region von Andasibe und Vohimana. Das Habitat ist dauerfeucht mit reichem Unterholz, Moosen, Farnen und vielerlei kleinen Sträuchern und Pflanzen. Die Art kommt ausschließlich im Regenwald vor, und meidet jegliche Sekundärvegetation.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove