Calumma hilleniusi

CITES quotas
no legal export possible

First description:

(Brygoo, Blanc & Domergue, 1973)

Origin of the species name:

The Dutch herpetologist Dick Hillenius received his doctorate in 1959 on the genus Chamaeleo at the Zoological Museum of Amsterdam (Netherlands). At that time Calumma brevicorne was still called Chamaeleo brevicornis. Many similar-looking chameleon species, including Calumma hilleniusi, were not yet known and described as such. Hillenius already recognized in his doctoral thesis that the chameleon population from Ankaratra was clearly different from the “normal” brevicorne. In 1973, Calumma hilleniusi was finally described as an own species. The three authors of the new description were Édouard-Raoul Brygoo and Charles Antoine Domergue from the then Institut Pasteur in Antananarivo and Charles Pierre Blanc from the zoogeographical laboratory of the University Paul Valéry in Montpellier (France). They dedicated the species to Dick Hillenius for his foresight 14 years earlier.

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Calumma hilleniusi

loading map - please wait...

Manjakatompo (Ankaratra): -19.381114, 47.232971
Ambatolampy: -19.382571, 47.426949

Distribution:

Calumma hilleniusi occurs on the slopes of the Ankaratra Massif in the central highlands of Madagascar. The Ankaratra Massif is of volcanic origin and lies in an imaginary triangle between Antananarivo, Ampefy, and Antsirabe. The former volcanic craters are now lakes and surrounded by small forests. The highest areas of the Ankaratra massif belong to the Manjakatompo Ankaratra Protected Area, established in 1922 and designated a reserve in 2015. The chameleons actually occur quite high up, at elevations between 1950 and 2200 meters above sea level. We actually found them lower many years ago, just not far west of Ambatolampy at around 1600 m. Since then we have not yet been able to rediscover Calumma hilleniusi. According to few observations on iNaturalist, this slightly lower living population still exists today.

Appearance & size:

Calumma hilleniusi belongs to the small chameleons with a rather heterogeneous scaling. Males grow up to 15 cm long including the tail, females only slightly smaller. Both sexes bear medium-sized occipital lobes, which are completely separated from each other. The scales on the occipital lobes are significantly larger than those on the rest of the body. The dorsal crest consists only of single, widely separated, high conical scales. They extend to the tip of the tail. There is no ventral crest in Calumma hilleniusi.

Male Calumma hilleniusi carry a very small nasal process that barely extends beyond the snout. They also have a narrow gular crest consisting of only six cone scales. Males are predominantly light green in coloration on the body and bear an indistinct gray-white lateral stripe.  Some bear light blue accents on the head area. Female Calumma hilleniusi are brown to beige in color, and the occipital lobes and rostral crest are often reddish. Females sometimes bear a gular crest and sometimes do not.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 18 18 18 17 15 13 11 12 16 19 19 19
Minimum temperature 14 13 15 12 10 8 7 6 7 11 12 14
Maximum temperature 21 21 21 20 19 17 15 17 22 24 23 22
Rain days 30 24 28 15 18 11 16 8 1 19 20 25

The data given were measured and compiled by us within one year with thermo- and hygrometers in Ankaratra. "Average temperature" means that the values of an entire month were calculated to an average value, e.g. all measured minimum values of a month were calculated to an average minimum value for February. This means in plain language that individual peak values of a day can be significantly higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum values. So it is possible that while the average maximum is 29 degrees, it was 33°C or even 35°C on some days of the month.

Ankaratra is located in the central highlands of Madagascar at an altitude of up to 2600 m above sea level. It is therefore the highest area of the highlands: Montane forests, where it is correspondingly cold. The climate is overall subhumid.

In the rainy season, the region reaches its maximum temperatures at around 20°C, in the sun it can get up to 28°C. At night it gets sensitively cold, temperatures around 15°C are the rule. It rains almost every day from November to the end of March, only with the onset of the dry season from April the rainfall decreases. During the dry season, the higher elevations of the Ankaratra massif reach near-freezing temperatures of up to 3°C between June and August. Cold and especially the very cold dry season in contrast to the warmer rainy season is one of the key elements of the climate of Ankaratra.

Unfortunately, UVB data for the Ankaratra Massif are not yet available.
Unfortunately, ground temperatures for the Ankaratra Massif are not yet available.

Habitat:

Photos will follow as soon as we were back on site. The habitat of Calumma hilleniusi is quite special on Madagascar. The mountain forests of Ankaratra are rich in plants with extremely many, small leaflets and herbaceous, very dense growth. Several plants are spiny. Very common are Weinmannia species. Summer lilac (Buddleja) and a species of holly (Ilex mitis) also make up a large proportion of the plants. In the higher areas, the plant growth becomes lower and more like heather. There are entire fields of heather, little scrub, and low growing plants. Surprisingly, however, Calumma hilleniusi do not seem to be exclusively tied to this very specific habitat. They also occur in pine forests introduced to Madagascar.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Calumma hilleniusi

CITES-Quoten
kein legaler Export möglich

Erstbeschreibung:

(Brygoo, Blanc & Domergue, 1973)

Herkunft des Artnamens:

Der niederländische Herpetologe Dick Hillenius promovierte 1959 über die Gattung Chamaeleo am Zoologischen Museum von Amsterdam (Niederlande). Damals hieß Calumma brevicorne noch Chamaeleo brevicornis. Viele ähnlich aussehende Chamäleon-Arten, darunter auch Calumma hilleniusi, waren noch nicht als solche bekannt und beschrieben. Hillenius erkannte bereits in seiner Promotionsschrift, dass sich die Chamäleonpopulation aus Ankaratra deutlich von den „normalen“ brevicorne unterschied. 1973 war es dann tatsächlich so weit und Calumma hilleniusi wurde als eigene Art beschrieben. Die drei Autoren der Neubeschreibung waren Édouard-Raoul Brygoo und Charles Antoine Domergue vom damaligen Institut Pasteur in Antananarivo sowie Charles Pierre Blanc vom zoogeografischen Labor der Universität Paul Valéry in Montpellier (Frankreich). Sie widmeten die Art Dick Hillenius für seine Weitsicht 14 Jahre zuvor.

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Calumma hilleniusi

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Manjakatompo (Ankaratra): -19.381114, 47.232971
Ambatolampy: -19.382571, 47.426949

Verbreitung:

Calumma hilleniusi kommt an den Hängen des Ankaratra-Massiv im zentralen Hochland Madagaskars vor. Das Ankaratra-Massiv ist vulkanischen Ursprungs und liegt in einem gedachten Dreieck zwischen Antananarivo, Ampefy und Antsirabe. Die ehemaligen Vulkankrater sind heute Seen und umgeben von kleinen Wäldern. Die höchsten Bereiche des Ankaratra-Massivs gehören zum 1922 gegründeten und 2015 zum Reservat ernannten Schutzgebiet von Manjakatompo Ankaratra. Die Chamäleons kommen eigentlich recht weit oben vor, auf Höhen zwischen 1950 und 2200 m über Meeresniveau. Wir haben sie tatsächlich vor vielen Jahren schon niedriger gefunden, nur unweit westlich von Ambatolampy auf rund 1600 m. Seitdem konnten wir Calumma hilleniusi noch nicht wieder entdecken. Wenigen Beobachtungen auf iNaturalist zufolge existiert diese etwas niedriger lebende Population noch heute.

Aussehen & Größe:

Calumma hilleniusi gehört zu den kleinen Chamäleons mit eher heterogener Beschuppung. Männchen werden einschließlich Schwanz bis zu 15 cm lang, Weibchen nur geringfügig kleiner. Beide Geschlechter tragen mittelgroße Occipitallappen, die vollständig voneinander getrennt sind. Die Schuppen auf den Occipitallappen sind deutlich größer als die am restlichen Körper. Der Rückenkamm besteht nur aus einzelnen, weit voneinander entfernten, hohen Kegelschuppen. Sie reichen bis zur Schwanzspitze. Einen Bauchkamm gibt es bei Calumma hilleniusi nicht.

Männliche Calumma hilleniusi tragen einen sehr kleinen Nasenfortsatz, der kaum über die Schnauze hinausragt. Sie verfügen außerdem über einen schmalen Kehlkamm, der aus nur sechs Kegelschuppen besteht. Männchen sind am Körper überwiegend hellgrün gefärbt und tragen einen undeutlichen, grau-weißen Lateralstreifen.  Einige tragen hellblaue Akzente im Kopfbereich. Weibliche Calumma hilleniusi sind  braun bis beige gefärbt, die Occipitallappen und der Rostralkamm sind häufig rötlich. Weibchen tragen teils einen Kehlkamm, teils nicht.

 

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 18 18 18 17 15 13 11 12 16 19 19 19
Minimale Temperatur 14 13 15 12 10 8 7 6 7 11 12 14
Maximale Temperatur 21 21 21 20 19 17 15 17 22 24 23 22
Regentage 30 24 28 15 18 11 16 8 1 19 20 25

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb eines Jahres mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Ankaratra liegt im zentralen Hochland Madagaskars auf einer Höhe von bis zu 2600 m über Meeresniveau. Es handelt sich also um die höchsten Bereiche des Hochlandes: Montanwälder, in denen es entsprechend kalt ist. Das Klima ist insgesamt subhumid.

In der Regenzeit erreicht die Region ihre Höchsttemperaturen mit um die 20°C, in der Sonne können es bis zu 28°C warm werden. Nachts wird es empfindlich kalt, Temperaturen um 15°C sind die Regel. Es regnet von November bis Ende März fast täglich, erst mit Einsetzen der Trockenzeit ab April gehen die Niederschläge zurück. In der Trockenzeit erreichen die höheren Lage des Ankaratra-Massivs zwischen Juni und August frostnahe Temperaturen bis zu 3°C. Kälte und vor allem die sehr kalte Trockenzeit im Gegensatz zur wärmeren Regenzeit ist eines der Schlüsselelemente des Klima von Ankaratra.

Leider sind noch keine UVB-Daten für das Ankaratra-Massiv verfügbar.
Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für das Ankaratra-Massiv verfügbar.

Habitat:

Fotos folgen, so bald wir mal wieder vor Ort waren. Der Lebensraum von Calumma hilleniusi ist ziemlich besonders auf Madagaskar. Die Gebirgswälder von Ankaratra sind reich an Pflanzen mit extrem vielen, kleinen Blättchen und krautigem, sehr dichten Wachstum. Etliche Pflanzen sind stachelbewehrt. Sehr häufig sind Weinmannia-Arten. Auch Sommerflieder (Buddleja) und eine Art von Stechpalme (Ilex mitis) machen einen großen Anteil der Pflanzen aus. In den höheren Bereichen wird das Pflanzenwachstum niedriger und eher einer Heide ähnlich. Es gibt ganze Felder mit Heiderkräutern, wenig Gebüsch und niedrig wachsenden Pflanzen. Erstaunlicherweise scheinen Calumma hilleniusi aber nicht ausschließlich an diesen sehr speziellen Lebensraum gebunden zu sein. Sie kommen auch in Pinienwäldern vor, die nach Madagaskar eingeschleppt wurden.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove