Calumma linotum

Calumma linotum im Montagne d'Ambre 2017
Calumma linotum
Calumma linotum
Calumma linotum
Calumma linotum
Calumma linotum
Calumma linotum
Calumma linotum
Calumma linotum
Calumma linotum, Montagne d'Ambre, 2019
Calumma linotum, Montagne d'Ambre, 2019
Calumma linotum, Montagne d'Ambre, 2019
CITES quotas
no legal export possible

First description:

(Müller, 1924)

Origin of the species name:

The German herpetologist Lorenz Müller, then curator of the herpetological department of the State Zoological Collection of Munich (Germany), described this chameleon species in 1924. Müller himself had never been to Madagascar but had received prepared chameleons of the species for the State Collection. Unfortunately, he did not reveal in his first description why he chose the species name.

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Calumma linotum

loading map - please wait...

Montagne d\'Ambre: -12.594774, 49.165878

Distribution:

Calumma linotum inhabits the forest areas of the north. Until now, only the cool and humid Amber Mountain national park and the somewhat more southern area of Andampy are known as habitats. In Amber Mountain, you can find these animals easily at night around the campground. They sleep at head heights and both genders always sleep relatively close to each other (only some meters away).

Appearance and size:

With a total length of 13 cm in males and only 10 to 11 cm in females, this species is one of the small chameleons. It has a distinct, soft, leaf-shaped nasal process, which is more pronounced in males and characteristically bright blue in both sexes when excited. Colors are brown-gray to beige, sometimes with a light lateral stripe to the base of the tail and light throat pouch, and often with dark transverse banding on the eyelids. The legs are colored green. The helmet is very flat, barely higher than the back, and bears narrow occipital lobes. The dorsum bears enlarged cone scales at regular, larger intervals instead of a whole “crest”. Stressed females are white-brown marbled on the body with green legs, bright blue nose, and bright blue markings on the helmet. Excited males are very bright whitish-beige in color with green arms and legs and bright blue noses.

Reproduction:

January through March is hatching season, and hatchlings are found in large numbers, especially around the Amber Mountain campground.

Good to know:

Calumma linotum was thought to be a synonym of Calumma boettgeri for a long time since scientific collections contained only one single specimen with the unclear finding place “Madagascar”. Genetic examinations of Prötzel et al stated in 2015 that the small blue noses in Amber Mountain are not Calumma boettgeri, but an own species. They have larger scales on arms, legs and nose and a not continuing dorsal ridge that C. boettgeri lacks. And finally, both species do not occur in the same region in Madagascar.

Calumma linotum has a quite unique defense behaviour: If you try to touch them on a branch or let them walk on your hand, they roll up their bodies and fall down suddenly.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 23 23 24 23 22 21 20 20 21 22 23 23
Minimum temperature 19 19 19 19 18 16 15 15 16 17 18 19
Maximum temperature 28 28 28 28 27 26 25 25 26 27 28 28
Rain days 20 20 17 9 6 6 7 6 5 6 7 14

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Amber Mountain is an evergreen rainforest which extends over a mountain massif of volcanic origin at elevations between 850 and 1450 m. Due to the height, nights can become rather cold with temperature drops to 10°C.

During rainy season, day temperatures rise to 28°C, in sunny places even warmer. But the average temperature is a little lower. During rainy season, it rains every day for several hours. Simply the way it is in a rainforest. 😉 But also dry season has regular precipitation, just a little shorter. Climate in Amber Mountain is very humid all year long. During dry season, temperatures are somewhat lower with day temperatures up to 25°C.

2022 Luftfeuchtigkeit MA
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (end of April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

2016 UVI Montagne d'Ambre 2022 UVI Montagne d'Ambre
Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Amber Mountain available yet.

Since 2022, in addition to other climate data, we have also been measuring air pressure at the locations we visit in Madagascar. The following data is from a day during the rainy season. On the X-axis is the time of day or night. In Madagascar, the day begins around 6 am, and night falls as early as 6 pm. The Y-axis shows the atmospheric pressure in hPa.

2022 Luftdruck MA

Habitat:

The following pictures show the habitat of Calumma linotum in Amber Mountain. Amber Mountain is an imperssing rainforest full of tree giants with meter wide nest ferns. Everything is full of lianas, moss and lichens, the undergrowth is lush and dense. Everything greens and blooms and it’s very humid all year round. Calumma linotum climbs and sleeps mostly on very thin twigs in shrubs and bushes or on the small branches of thin trees.

Hereinafter you can find some 360° pictures from Amber Mountain. You can move inside these pictures via mouse click in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, a new window with an enlarged view will open. You will also have the opportunity to look at the pictures in full-screen mode. Enjoy!

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Calumma linotum

Calumma linotum im Montagne d'Ambre 2017
Calumma linotum
Calumma linotum
Calumma linotum
Calumma linotum
Calumma linotum
Calumma linotum
Calumma linotum
Calumma linotum
Calumma linotum, Montagne d'Ambre, 2019
Calumma linotum, Montagne d'Ambre, 2019
Calumma linotum, Montagne d'Ambre, 2019
CITES-Quoten
kein legaler Export möglich

Erstbeschreibung:

(Müller, 1924)

Herkunft des Artnamens:

Der Herpetologe Lorenz Müller, damals Kurator der herpetologischen Abteilung der Zoologischen Staatssammlung München, beschrieb diese Chamäleonart 1924. Müller selbst war nie auf Madagaskar, sondern hatte präparierte Chamäleons der Art für die Staatssammlung bekommen. Leider verriet er in seiner Erstbeschreibung nicht, weshalb er den Artnamen wählte.

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Calumma linotum

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Montagne d\'Ambre: -12.594774, 49.165878

Verbreitung:

Calumma linotum bewohnt die Waldgebiete des Nordens. Dabei sind bisher als Habitate lediglich der kühle Montagne d’Ambre-Nationalpark sowie die etwas südlicher gelegenere Gegend von Andampy bekannt. Im Montagne d’Ambre kann man Tiere bereits rund um den Campground in Kopfhöhe zahlreich finden. Hat man ein Tier gefunden, findet man das gegengeschlechtliche Chamäleon dazu meist in weniger als zwei, drei Meter Umkreis.

Aussehen und Größe:

Mit einer Gesamtlänge von 13 cm bei den Männchen und nur 10 bis 11 cm bei Weibchen gehört diese Art zu den kleinen Chamäleons. Sie hat einen ausgeprägten, weichen, blattförmigen Nasenfortsatz, der bei den Männchen deutlicher ausgeprägt und charakteristisch leuchtend blau gefärbt ist. Die Farben sind braun-grau bis beige, manchmal mit einem hellen Lateralstreifen bis zum Schwanzansatz und hellem Kehlsack oder hellen Lippen, und oft mit dunkler Querbinde auf den Augenlidern. Durch die großen, blau-türkis gefärbten Schuppen können Arme und Beine von Weitem blau scheinen. Der Helm ist sehr flach, kaum höher als der Rücken, und trägt schmale Occipitallappen. Der Rücken trägt in regelmäßigen, größeren Abständen vergrößerte Kegelschuppen statt einem ganzen „Kamm“. Gestresste Tiere zeigen dunkle Abzeichen vor allem am Schwanz.

Fortpflanzung:

In den Monaten Januar bis März ist Schlupfzeit, und besonders in den Nadelbäumen des Montagne d’Ambre sind die Schlüpflinge in großer Zahl zu finden.

Besonderheiten:

Calumma linotum galt lange als Synonym für Calumma boettgeri, da in den wissenschaftlichen Sammlungen lediglich ein einziges Tier mit dem ungenauen Fundort „Madagaskar“ existierte. Genetische Untersuchungen von Prötzel et al stellten jedoch 2015 fest, dass es sich bei den kleinen Nasenträgern im Montagne d’Ambre gar nicht um Calumma boettgeri handelt. Die Tiere haben größere Tuberkelschuppen auf den Armen, Beinen und auf der Nase und einen (nicht durchgehenden) Rückenkamm, der bei C. boettgeri nicht ausgebildet ist. Die Männchen haben eine leuchtend blaue Nase, was bei C. boettgeri nicht vorkommt – und zuletzt kommen die beiden Arten, soweit man bisher weiß, nicht in den gleichen Regionen Madagaskars vor.

Calumma linotum hat ein recht einzigartiges Abwehrverhalten: Versucht man sie auf einem Ast anzufassen, kugeln sie sich zusammen und lassen sich fallen.

 

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 23 23 24 23 22 21 20 20 21 22 23 23
Minimale Temperatur 19 19 19 19 18 16 15 15 16 17 18 19
Maximale Temperatur 28 28 28 28 27 26 25 25 26 27 28 28
Regentage 20 20 17 9 6 6 7 6 5 6 7 14

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Der Montagne d'Ambre ist ein immergrüner Regenwald, der sich über ein Bergmassiv vulkanischen Ursprungs in Höhen zwischen 850 und 1450 m ausbreitet. Durch die Höhe wird es hier nachts empfindlich kalt mit Temperaturstürzen bis auf 10°C.

Während der Regenzeit wird es tagsüber bis zu 28°C warm, an Sonnenflecken auch etwas wärmer. Die Durschnittstemperatur liegt allerdings etwas niedriger. Während der Regenzeit schüttet es mehrfach täglich, und auch mal ganze Tage durch. Typisch Regenwald eben 😉 . Aber auch in der Trockenzeit regnet es regelmäßig, wenn auch kürzer und eher in kleinen Schauern. Das Klima im Montagne d'Ambre ist daher das ganze Jahr über feucht. Während der Trockenzeit bleiben die Temperaturen vor allem tagsüber etwas niedriger mit bis zu 25°C.

2016 UVI Montagne d'Ambre

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Ende April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für den Montagne d'Ambre verfügbar.

Habitat:

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat von Calumma linotum im Montagne d’Ambre. Der Montagne d’Ambre ist ein beeindruckender Regenwald voller Urwaldriesen, in denen riesige, meterbreite Nestfarne thronen. Alles ist voller Lianen, Moose und Flechten, das Unterholz ist dicht und üppig. Alles grünt und blüht, und fast alles ist ständig feucht. Calumma linotum ist meist auf sehr dünnen Ästchen in Gebüschen und Sträuchern unterwegs, oder auf den Ästchen dünner, aber reich beblätterter Bäumchen.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus dem Montagne d’Ambre. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove