Feces and urates

Kotabsatz Furcifer rhinoceratus 2016, Ankarafantsika
Kotabsatz Calumma gallus, Vohimana 2016
Kotabsatz Brookesia tuberculata
Kotabsatz Furcifer pardalis, Ambilobe,
Kotabsatz Brookesia stumpffi, Ankify

Feces and urates

In contrast to humans, dogs, cats and other mammals, chameleons do not release liquid urine. Instead, they produce so-called urate, which consists of the salts of uric acid. Urat is a white to beige-coloured, creamy mass. Sometimes it is somewhat yellowish or orange in colour.

Chameleon droppings are dark brown, elongated and soft, they can be easily pressed in with the fingers. If the excrement has been lying on the floor for a while, it dries out and becomes relatively hard and firm.

Kotabsatz Furcifer petteri, 2013 im Montagne d'Ambre

A female of the species Furcifer petteri dropping faeces and urate

Chameleons have a cloaca into which both rectum and ureter flow. Unlike mammals, there are no “two separate exits”. Thus excrement and urate of chameleons are usually released together from the cloaca. An additional, transparent slimy portion can also be included and is no cause for concern.

The frequency of chameleon droppings depends mainly on the ambient temperature, activity and amount of feed. The intestinal passage of reptiles always lasts several days, so it is not to be expected that adult chameleons will have a daily turnover of excrements and urates. Younger chameleons deposit feces more frequently than older chameleons due to the higher feed intake.

 

How faeces should not look like

Diarrhea in chameleons, like in other animal species, can be recognized by excrement that is no longer formed but drips from the cloaca mushy to watery. Often the cloaca is already smeared with excrement, in a healthy chameleon it should be clean and free of excrements. Sometimes it is difficult to find digestible insect parts in the faeces. These insect parts should not make up the main part of the faeces – if the faeces consists of “compressed insects”, there is obviously a problem with digestion.

Blood never belongs in the droppings of a healthy chameleon. Fresh blood can easily be recognized as light red streaks, blood that has coagulated and thus turned black becomes a little more difficult. Normal chameleon droppings do not smell very strong – even very bad smelling droppings are cause for concern.

 

Fecal examinations

The most important precaution for a parasite-free chameleon is to quarantine the animal when it enters your home and to regularly sample faeces for parasitological examination. Parasite infestation must always be expected in wild caughts. Most parasite stages can be detected in the faeces of the animals under the microscope, but cannot be seen with the naked eye. Therefore, it makes sense to regularly give chameleon faeces samples to a reptile veterinarian and have them examined. The faeces should be as fresh and moist as possible in a dense plastic container. Suitable containers can usually be obtained from the reptile veterinarian. In urgent cases, the vet may also take a cloacal flush sample from the chameleon to test for parasites.

Important:

If nothing is found in the faeces, it does not automatically mean that the chameleon is free of parasites!

Faeces, urate and collection tubes

Many parasite stages are not constantly excreted via the faeces. Even a chameleon, which has a high degree of parasite infestation in the intestine, can temporarily excrete faeces in which not a single parasite is detectable. A single faecal sample is therefore not sufficient: Two to four faeces samples per year are a sensible precaution – even for animals that have already been treated against parasites or have undergone quarantine. If you have a larger collection, you can give one collective faeces sample per room. Chameleons, which are kept close together, fed with the same feeding utensils, supplied with the same spray bottles and where the keeper handles in several terrariums one after the other, usually also have the same parasites.

If excrement samples are sent by mail to a veterinarian or a laboratory, they should be packed as small parcels. Unfortunately, there are numerous cases in which a small droppings tube in a padded envelope has been damaged by the franking machine. That is annoying not only for the owner, who must send in then a new sample, but also for the person which gets the envelope smeared with faeces.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Kot und Urat

Kotabsatz Furcifer rhinoceratus 2016, Ankarafantsika
Kotabsatz Calumma gallus, Vohimana 2016
Kotabsatz Brookesia tuberculata
Kotabsatz Furcifer pardalis, Ambilobe,
Kotabsatz Brookesia stumpffi, Ankify

Kot und Urat

Im Gegensatz zu Mensch, Hund, Katze und anderen Säugetieren setzen Chamäleons keinen flüssigen Urin ab. Sie produzieren stattdessen sogenannten Urat, der aus den Salzen der Harnsäure besteht. Urat ist eine weiß bis beigefarbene, cremige Masse. Manchmal ist sie etwas gelblich oder orange verfärbt.

Der Kot von Chamäleons ist dunkelbraun, länglich geformt und weich, er kann mit den Fingern leicht eingedrückt werden. Liegt der Kot schon etwas länger auf dem Boden, trocknet er aus und wird relativ hart und fest.

Kotabsatz Furcifer petteri, 2013 im Montagne d'Ambre

Ein Weibchen der Art Furcifer petteri beim Absetzen von Kot und Urat

Chamäleons haben eine Kloake, in die sowohl Enddarm als auch Harnleiter münden. Es gibt nicht wie bei Säugetieren „zwei getrennte Ausgänge“. Dadurch werden Kot und Urat bei Chamäleons hin der Regel zusammen aus der Kloake abgegeben. Ein zusätzlicher, transparent-schleimiger Anteil kann ebenfalls dabei sein und ist kein Grund zur Sorge.

Die Häufigkeit des Kotabsatzes bei Chamäleons richtet sich vor allem nach der Umgebungstemperatur, Aktivität und Futtermenge. Die Darmpassage von Reptilien  dauert stets mehrere Tage, es ist also bei adulten Chamäleons nicht mit täglichem Kot- und Uratabsatz zu rechnen. Jüngere Chamäleons setzen durch die höhere Futteraufnahme häufiger Kot ab als ältere.

 

So sollte Kot nicht aussehen

Durchfall erkennt man beim Chamäleon wie bei anderen Tierarten an Kot, der nicht mehr geformt ist, sondern breiig bis wässrig aus der Kloake tropft. Häufig ist die Kloake bereits kotverschmiert, bei einem gesunden Chamäleon sollte sie sauber und frei von Kotanhaftungen sein. Manchmal kann man schwer verdauliche Insektenteile im Kot finden. Diese Insektenteile sollten nicht den Hauptanteil des Kots ausmachen – besteht der Kot quasi nur aus „zusammen gedrückten Insekten“, gibt es offenbar ein Problem mit der Verdauung.

Blut gehört niemals in den Kot eines gesunden Chamäleons. Frisches Blut kann man als hellrote Schlieren leicht erkennen, bei geronnenem und damit schwarz verfärbten Blut wird es schon etwas schwieriger. Normaler Chamäleonkot riecht nicht besonders stark – auch stark übel riechender Kot ist Anlass zur Sorge.

 

Kotuntersuchungen

Wichtigste Vorsorge für ein parasitenfreies Chamäleon sind die Quarantäne beim Einzug des Tieres sowie regelmäßige Kotproben zwecks parasitologischer Untersuchung. Insbesondere bei Wildfängen ist immer mit Parasitenbefall zu rechnen. Die meisten Parasitenstadien sind im Kot der Tiere unter dem Mikroskop nachweisbar, aber mit dem bloßen Auge nicht zu erkennen. Daher macht es Sinn, regelmäßig Kotproben des Chamäleons beim reptilienkundigen Tierarzt abzugeben und untersuchen zu lassen. Abgegeben wird möglichst frischer, noch feuchter Kot in einem dichten Plastik-Behältnis. Geeignete Kotröhrchen kann man in der Regel beim reptilienkundigen Tierarzt erhalten. In dringenden Fällen kann der Tierarzt auch eine Kloakenspülprobe vom Chamäleon nehmen, um diese auf Parasiten zu untersuchen.

Wichtig:

Wurde nichts im Kot gefunden, bedeutet das nicht automatisch, dass das Chamäleon frei von Parasiten ist!

Kot, Urat und Sammelröhrchen

Viele Parasitenstadien werden nicht ständig über den Kot ausgeschieden. Selbst ein Chamäleon, das im Darm einen hochgradigen Parasitenbefall hat, kann zeitweise Kot ausscheiden, in dem kein einziger Parasit nachweisbar ist. Eine einzige Kotprobe reicht also nicht aus: Zu einer sinnvollen Vorsorge gehören zwei bis vier Kotproben pro Jahr – auch bei Tieren, die schon einmal gegen Parasiten behandelt wurden oder eine Quarantäne absolviert haben. Wer einen größeren Bestand hat, kann pro Raum jeweils eine Sammelkotprobe abgeben. Chamäleons, die auf nahem Raum beieinander gehalten werden, mit gleichen Futterutensilien gefüttert, mit gleichen Sprühflaschen versorgt werden und bei denen der Halter nacheinander in mehreren Terrarien hantiert, haben meist auch alle die gleichen Parasiten.

Werden Kotproben per Post an einen Tierarzt oder ein Labor versandt, sollte man diese unbedingt als Päckchen verpacken. Es gibt leider zahlreiche Fälle, in denen ein kleines Kotröhrchen im gepolsterten Briefumschlag von der Frankiermaschine beschädigt wurde. Das ist nicht nur für den Halter ärgerlich, der dann eine neue Kotprobe einschicken muss, sondern auch für denjenigen, der den mit Kot verschmierten Umschlag bekommt.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove