Color variation “orange eye”

Calumma parsonii parsonii orange eye 2014
Calumma parsonii parsonii orange eye 2014
Calumma parsonii parsonii orange eye 2015
Calumma parsonii parsonii orange eye in Mahambo 2018
Calumma parsonii parsonii orange eye in Mahambo 2018
Calumma parsonii parsonii orange eye 2015
Calumma parsonii parsonii orange eye in Mahambo 2018 (1)

Distribution:

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Orange eyes

loading map - please wait...

Anjahambe: -17.379000, 49.142900
Nosy Boraha (St. Marie): -16.736167, 49.995689
Akanin\'ny Nofy: -18.601998, 49.197807

Parson’s chameleons of the color variation “orange eye” occur in several areas of Madagascar’s east coast between Toamasina (Tamatave) until Mananara. We want to introduce you to some of these. All of the east coast habitats differ significantly in climate from other Parsons’ habitats. With elevations from 0 to 500 m above sea level, the orange eyes’ distribution area is much lower than the distribution areas of other color variations. Thus it is much warmer as e.g. in Vohimana (yellow giants) or Ranomafana (yellow lips), which are both located in the highlands.

The island St. Marie (in Malagasy Nosy Boraha) is located in the center part of Madagascar’s east coast and belongs to Analanjirofo region. St. Marie is about 50 km long and has a width of two to seven kilometers and approximately 16.000 inhabitants. The capital of the island is Ambodifotatra. Today, a small, modern airport offers daily flights to Antananarivo. Otherwise, you can reach St. Marie easily by boat from Soanierana Ivongo. Especially the white dreamlike beaches of St. Marie are famous, and you can snorkel and dive in many places. That is why the island has been used mainly for tourism for the last decades. Sadly, there is not much intact rainforest left, and it is restricted to a really tiny area in the north of the island. It is often difficult to find Calumma parsonii parsonii here at all nowadays.

Another distribution area, where you can find the same color variation of Calumma parsonii parsonii, is somewhat more southern on Madagascar’s east coast. It is the area around Anjahambe. The habitat here belongs to the less unbeknown distribution areas of this species. Similar to the color variation “yellow giant”, orange eyes here loves to spend time in coffee plantations, but also inside rainforest residues. The denser the forest, the more difficult to find a Parson’s.

Appearance & size:

The typical coloration of “orange eye” males is a darkish green or turquoise colored body with bright orange-colored eyelids. Males often have a white-beige spot on the flanks, but not all. Every now and then you can find animals with a light turquoise colored body and almost white head, only the eyelids are colored orange. In terraristics there is a lot of discussions whether there are different varieties of “orange eyes”. In Madagascar we have not yet been able to find this out in any way – both the white-headed and the green-headed “orange eyes” with white lips can be found in the same habitat.

Weight table

Gewichtstabelle Calumma parsonii parsonii 2018

Weibchen = females, Männchen = males, KRL = snout-vent-length in cm, Gewicht = body weight in grams

Since 2015, we have been measuring the weights of some chameleons that we found in Madagascar, of course only if practicable with calm animals (and working scales). Up to date, we have only a few weights. Over the long term, we want to get an average weight in proportion to the snout-vent-length (measured from the tip of the nose to the cloaca) from a large number of measurements for each Madagascan chameleon species. It is important to know that weights were all measured at the end of the rainy season when the chameleons have been having the highest food supply of the year. So our table may show the maximum weights of chameleons in Madagascar. Triangular symbols in females mean not pregnant, spherical symbols mean pregnant. Up to date, we have one shared table for all color variations of Calumma parsonii parsonii since it is all the same species.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 23 24 23 23 21 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimum temperature 20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximum temperatures 27 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 24 25 26 27
Rain days 18 20 21 13 11 11 15 14 15 16 20 25

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Nosy Boraha island is located at Madagascar's east coast and has a pleasant warm climate all year long. During rainy season temperatures are a little higher with average temperatures in the 20ies and a slight night drop to 20°C. At daytime it usually has more than 30°C. In dry season, temperatures are a little cooler during day and nighttime.

Precipitation on Nosy Boaha is rather moderate all year long. Rainy season of course has more intense rain, but also "dry" season has regular rainfall. The island is a common destination for foreign tourists and Malagasy vacationers which is mainly due to the mild climate and the beautiful beaches.

2016 UVI Nosy Boraha St. Marie
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (end of March) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Nosy Boraha (St. Marie) available yet.
Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 23 24 23 23 21 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimum temperatures 20 20 20 19 18 15 15 16 15 16 18 19
Maximum temperatures 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Rain days 18 20 21 13 11 11 15 14 15 16 20 25

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Climate in Anjahambe is warm all year long due to its coastal location and low elevation. Only sunny places usually reach temperatures above 30°C and nights have only moderate temperature drops.

It rains on a regular base during the whole year, so dry season only becomes suspicious by slightly lower temperatures.

2016 UVI Ostküste
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (March) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Anjahambe available yet.

Habitat:

The left habitat on Nosy Boraha or St. Marie is rather small and consists of coffee plantations and pitiable residues of rainforest. The plantations have low, broadly branched coffee branches above a thick foliage layer, and some bigger trees stay in between. In the secondary vegetation around Ambodifotratra and other holiday villages, you will not find this species anymore. The following pictures show the habitat close to Anjahambe.

Here are some 360° pictures from lake Ampitabe. With the mouse you can rotate in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, the pictures open in an enlarged view in a separate window. There is also the possibility to execute the images in full screen mode. Have fun watching!

Regenwald im Reservat Akanin’ny Nofy, Region Atsinanana, Ostküste, Madagaskar, März 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Reservat Akanin’ny Nofy, Region Atsinanana, Ostküste, Madagaskar, März 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Reservat Akanin’ny Nofy, Region Atsinanana, Ostküste, Madagaskar, März 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Reservat Akanin’ny Nofy, Region Atsinanana, Ostküste, Madagaskar, März 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Farbvariante „orange eye“

Calumma parsonii parsonii orange eye 2014
Calumma parsonii parsonii orange eye 2014
Calumma parsonii parsonii orange eye 2015
Calumma parsonii parsonii orange eye in Mahambo 2018
Calumma parsonii parsonii orange eye in Mahambo 2018
Calumma parsonii parsonii orange eye 2015
Calumma parsonii parsonii orange eye in Mahambo 2018 (1)

Verbreitung:

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Orange eyes

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Anjahambe: -17.379000, 49.142900
Nosy Boraha (St. Marie): -16.736167, 49.995689
Akanin\'ny Nofy: -18.601998, 49.197807

Parsons Chamäleons der Farbvariante „orange eye“ besiedeln bestimmte Gebiete der Ostküste Madagaskars zwischen Toamasina (Tamatave) und Mananara. Einige Gebiete möchten wir hier näher vorstellen. Das Besondere an fast allen dieser Gebiete ist, dass sie sich klimatisch deutlich von den anderen Parsons-Habitaten unterscheiden. Sie liegen mit Höhenlagen von 0 bis 500 Meter zum einen deutlich tiefer als die Verbreitungsgebiete anderer Farbvarianten. Dadurch ist es wesentlich wärmer als z.B. in Vohimana (yellow giants) oder Ranomafana (yellow lips), die beide im Hochland liegen.

Die Insel St. Marie (auf madagassisch Nosy Boraha) liegt an der mittleren Ostküste und gehört zur Region Analanjirofo. St. Marie ist etwa 50 km lang bei einer Breite von zwei bis sieben Kilometern und etwa 16.000 Einwohnern. Die Hauptstadt der Insel ist Ambodifotatra. Ein moderner, kleiner Flughafen bietet heute tägliche Flüge nach Antananarivo an, ansonsten ist St. Marie mit dem Boot von Soanierana Ivongo aus gut zu erreichen. Vor allem die weißen Traumstrände St. Maries sind berühmt, an vielen Orten kann man tauchen und schnorcheln. Dadurch ist die Insel seit Jahrzehnten vor allem touristisch genutzt. Es ist leider dadurch kaum noch intakter Regenwald vorhanden, der sich auf ein geradezu winziges Gebiet im Norden der Insel beschränkt. Hier überhaupt noch Calumma parsonii parsonii zu finden gestaltet sich oft schwierig.

Ein weiteres Verbeitungsgebiet, in dem man die gleiche Farbvariante von Calumma parsonii parsonii findet, ist Anjahambe, ein Ort etwas weiter südlich an der Ostküste Madagaskars. Das hiesige Habitat zählt zu den unbekannteren Verbeitungsgebieten der Art. Ähnlich zu der Farbvariante „yellow giant“ bevorzugt Calumma parsonii parsonii hier den Aufenthalt in Kaffee-Plantagen, aber auch in Regenwaldresten sind sie zu finden. Je dichter der Wald, desto schwieriger jedoch das Auffinden eines Parsons.

Aussehen & Größe:

Das typische Farbenkleid der „orange eyes“ zeigt bei den Männchen markante orange gefärbte Augenlider bei sonst eher gedecktem, dunkelgrün-türkisem Farbkleid mit leichter Bänderung. Die Männchen tragen häufig einen weiß-beigen Fleck an der Seite, aber nicht immer. Immer mal wieder findet man auch Tiere mit eher helltürkisem Farbkleid und fast weißem Kopf, lediglich die Augenlider sind orange gefärbt. In der Terraristik wird seit kurzer Zeit eifrig disskutiert, ob es möglicherweise verschieden Varianten von „orange eyes“ gibt. Auf Madagaskar haben wir das bisher in keinster Weise feststellen können – sowohl die weißköpfigen als auch die eher grünköpfigen „orange eyes“ mit weißen Lippen findet man im gleichen Habitat.

 

Gewichtstabelle

Gewichtstabelle Calumma parsonii parsonii 2018

Seit 2015 messen wir die Gewichte von uns gefundener Parsons Chamäleons auf Madagaskar, soweit die Tiere (und unsere Waagen) mitmachen. Bisher sind es nur wenige Gewichte, langfristig soll sich aus einer möglichst großen Anzahl Messungen ein durchschnittliches Gewicht im Verhältnis zur Kopf-Rumpf-Länge (gemessen von der Nasenspitze bis zur Kloake) für jede Art ablesen lassen. Wichtig zu wissen ist, dass alle Gewichte gegen Ende der Regenzeit (= bestes Futterangebot) gemessen wurde, es dürfte sich also um Maximalgewichte auf Madagaskar handeln. Dreieckige Symbole bei Weibchen bedeuten nicht trächtig, runde Symbole bedeuten trächtig. Bei Calumma parsonii parsonii haben wir bisher eine gemeinsame Tabelle für alle Farbvarianten, da es sich bei allen vieren um die gleiche Art handelt.

 

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 23 24 23 23 21 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimale Temperatur 20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximale Temperatur 27 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 24 25 26 27
Regentage 18 20 21 13 11 11 15 14 15 16 20 25

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Die Insel Nosy Boraha liegt an der Ostküste Madagaskars und weist das ganze Jahr über ein angenehm warmes Klima auf. In der Regenzeit ist es etwas wärmer mit durchschnittlichen Temperaturen mittig in den 20ern und einer geringen Nachtabsenkung bis 20°C. Tagsüber wird es regelmäßig über 30°C warm. In der Trockenzeit ist es ein kleines bisschen kühler, sowohl tags als auch nachts.

Der Niederschlag auf Nosy Boraha ist über das ganze Jahr eher moderat. In der Regenzeit regnet es intensiver, aber auch in der Trockenzeit fällt regelmäßig Niederschlag. Die Insel ist ein häufiges Ziel für ausländische Touristen und madagassische Urlauber, was vor allem auf das milde Klima und die schönen Strände zurückzuführen ist.

2016 UVI Nosy Boraha St. Marie

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Ende März) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Nosy Boraha (St. Marie) verfügbar.
Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 23 24 23 23 21 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimale Temperatur 20 20 20 19 18 15 15 16 15 16 18 19
Maximale Temperatur 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Regentage 18 20 21 13 11 11 15 14 15 16 20 25

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Das Klima in Anjahambe ist durch die Küstennähe und niedrige Höhe das ganze Jahr über warm und feucht. Über 30°C steigt die Temperatur nur in der Sonne, und nachts ist nur ein moderater Temperaturabfall vorhanden.

Es regnet hier das ganze Jahr über regelmäßig, so dass die Trockenzeit nur durch die etwas niedrigeren Temperaturen auffällt.

2016 UVI Ostküste

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (März) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Anjahambe verfügbar.

Habitat:

Das verbliebene Habitat auf Nosy Boraha oder St. Marie ist ziemlich überschaubar und besteht aus Kaffeeplantagen und kläglichen Resten von Regenwald. In den Plantagen stehen niedrige, breit verzweigte Kaffeebäume über einer dicken Laubschicht, und einige größere Bäume finden sich dazwischen. In der Sekundärvegetation um Ambodifotratra oder anderen Urlaubsstädten findet man die Art nicht mehr. Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat nahe Anjahambe.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus Akanin’ny Nofy. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Regenwald im Reservat Akanin’ny Nofy, Region Atsinanana, Ostküste, Madagaskar, März 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Reservat Akanin’ny Nofy, Region Atsinanana, Ostküste, Madagaskar, März 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Reservat Akanin’ny Nofy, Region Atsinanana, Ostküste, Madagaskar, März 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Reservat Akanin’ny Nofy, Region Atsinanana, Ostküste, Madagaskar, März 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove