All Posts

Archives

Building instructions for a double outdoor enclosure

These building instructions belong to an outdoor aviary system we designed and built ourselves, which we use for large chameleons. The materials are from professional aviary construction for birds. As always, we do not...
Terrarienbau Nachzuchtbecken (1)

Terrarium construction: tips

After building our own chameleon terrariums for about 20 years now, we would like to pass on some experiences that cannot be found in the building instructions. After all, some things you only think...

Pathfinder

Since our website now contains around 200 individual articles, this guide was created to provide an overview. This page explains what can be found where and which topics are sorted where and in which...
Eier Gelege Inkubation

Incubation data

If you want to breed chameleons, there is usually no way around incubating the eggs under controlled conditions. However, for many less commonly kept species, the question is how exactly to incubate? In general,...

Temporary pair bonding

Photo above: A female and a male Furcifer oustaleti during the rainy season, found sitting not far from each other in bushes near Andavadompy in the central highlands Chameleons are considered to be strict...

Gutloading

In terraristics, the term gutloading refers to the enhancement of feeders before feeding them to the chameleon by means of targeted feeding of home-mixed or commercial feeds. Gutloading, as it was originally used in...

Building instructions for a fast, converted outdoor enclosure

If you quickly need a spacious outdoor enclosure for summer but don’t necessarily feel like sawing every part to size yourself, this proposal for an outdoor enclosure is a good choice. The aviary has...
Calumma emelinae female, Moramanga, 2020

Frequently asked questions about taxonomy

Here we have put together a collection of questions and answers that are asked on our pages regarding species descriptions of chameleons. If further questions should fit here, we would be glad about an...
Egg Monitor Buddy Mk2 mit Ei

Using an Egg Monitor

With an egg monitor, the pulse of an embryo still in the egg can be measured during incubation. Originally the Egg Monitor was developed for bird eggs. Most chameleon eggs are significantly smaller than...
Terraristikbörse

Where to buy?

Once you have clarified what species of chameleon you want to keep and have already prepared a terrarium, an important question arises: Where do you get your chameleon from?   Pet shop Like guinea...

All Posts

Archives

Gutloading

Unter dem Begriff gutloading (von Englisch gut = Darm, und loading = laden) versteht man in der Terraristik die Aufwertung von Futtertieren vor dem Verfüttern ans Chamäleon mittels gezieltem Verfüttern selbst gemischter oder kommerzieller...

Bauanleitung für ein schnelles, umgebautes Außengehege

Wer schnell für einen Sommer ein großzügiges Außengehege benötigt, aber nicht unbedingt Lust hat, jedes Teil selbst zurecht zu sägen, ist mit diesem Vorschlag für ein Außengehege gut bedient. Die Voliere hat Endmaße von...
Calumma emelinae female, Moramanga, 2020

Häufig gestellte Fragen zur Taxonomie

Hier haben wir eine Sammlung an Fragen und Antworten zusammen gestellt, die sich auf unseren Seiten bezüglich Artbeschreibungen einzelner Chamäleons immer wieder mal stellen. Sollten weitere Fragen hierher passen, freuen wir uns über eine...
Egg Monitor Buddy Mk2 mit Ei

Nutzung eines Egg Monitors

Mit einem Egg Monitor kann der Puls eines noch im Ei befindlichen Embryo während der Inkubation gemessen werden. Ursprünglich wurde der Egg Monitor für Vogeleier entwickelt. Die meisten Chamäleoneier sind deutlich kleiner als die...
Terraristikbörse

Wo kaufen?

Hat man geklärt, welche Art Chamäleon man halten möchte, und bereits ein Terrarium vorbereitet, steht eine wichtige Frage an: Woher bekommt man eigentlich ein Chamäleon?   Zoohandlung Wie Meerschweinchen, Wellensittiche und Mäuse kann man...
Wasserfall in Ranomafana

Brunnen und Wasserfälle

Im Zoohandel wird eine Vielzahl bunter Kartons mit Zimmerbrunnen, kleinen Wasserfällen oder Terrarien-Springbrunnen angeboten. Viele Chamäleonhalter versprechen sich von Wasserfällen und Brunnen eine schöne Terrariendekoration, die dazu noch zum Trinken anregt. Dieser Artikel soll...
Leider befinden sich hier noch keine Fotos

Lokalform Nosy Mitsio

Verbreitung der Lokalform Nosy Mitsio: Nosy Mitsio ist keine einzelne Insel, sondern eine kleine Inselgruppe vulkanischen Ursprungs an der Nordwestküste Madagaskars. Das Archipel gehört zur Region Antsiranana und liegt rund 40 km vor dem...

Terrarienbau – welches Material?

Glas Terrarien aus Glas gehören zu den ältesten in der Terraristik und haben über viele Jahre bis heute gute Dienste geleistet. Leider sind die üblichen Standard-Glasterrarien aus dem Handel auf Grund ihrer schlechten Belüftung...
Nebel über Ranomafana

Nebel und Nebler

Was ist Nebel? Nebel ist eigentlich nichts anderes als eine Wolke, die sehr nah über dem Boden hängt. Er entsteht, wenn die Temperatur der Luft und der Taupunkt fast gleich sind. Nebel kommt in...

Tropftränke

Im Bild: 1 Schutzkappen, 2 Belüftungsloch, 3 Tropfkammer, 4 Rollklemme Tropftränken sind hervorragend dafür geeignet, die Wasserversorgung eines Chamäleons im Terrarium sicherzustellen. Bei einem gut eingerichteten Becken mit hohem Bodengrund und gut verwurzelten Pflanzen...