Gutloading

In terraristics, the term gutloading refers to the enhancement of feeders before feeding them to the chameleon by means of targeted feeding of home-mixed or commercial feeds. Gutloading, as it was originally used in zoos, is intended as an alternative to supplementation with vitamin and calcium powders. In order to actually gutload the feed animals sufficiently, they must be fed special diets (not simply “leftovers from the kitchen”). Nowadays, there are quite a few studies that deal with the sense and purpose of Gutloading.

Today, gutloading is often used in terraristics as a term to generally feed insects with fresh vegetables and fruits after purchasing them in cans from the wholesaler. This definition of gutloading has only developed over time and usually does not correspond to adequate supplementation of vitamins and calcium. This article, therefore, deals with the original definition of gutloading.

Why Gutloading or Supplementation?

This question is answered in great detail in this article. Therefore, we refrain from repeating the text section here.

Advantages and disadvantages of gutloading and supplementation

Gutloading has the advantage that no further treatment of the feeders is required before feeding. On the other hand, it has the disadvantage that the feeders have to be fed with a special diet. So you have to calculate and compose or buy a suitable diet and then offer it specifically in a certain period of time. The composition of the feed animals themselves does not or hardly change by gutloading. Only their digestive tract is filled with additional nutrients, which are then available to the chameleon when fed in addition to the insect.

With supplementation, some powder may fall off the feeder animal during feeding. Many feeders preen themselves and thus even actively shed powder. With gutloading, the insect may excrete the diet should it remain uneaten in the terrarium for too long. It is therefore crucial for both supplementation and gutloading that the feeders are eaten quickly and do not remain in the terrarium for hours. Possibly gutloading has a small (short) advantage over supplementation here.

One disadvantage of gutloading is that the capacity of the gastrointestinal tract varies between different feed animal species and ages. This means that not all feeders are equally suitable for gutloading. In supplementation, however, the powder does not adhere equally well to every feed animal either.

One advantage of Gutloading is that, according to current studies, the diet found in the insect’s gastrointestinal tract is actually almost completely available to the chameleon in addition to the insect itself. This means that what is in the feeding insect’s intestine also arrives in the chameleon. Of course, what was fed two weeks ago no longer arrives (see next section).

With regard to the commercial availability of suitable feed animal diets, gutloading is unfortunately currently lagging behind in the German-speaking countries. In other countries, several gutloading diets are commercially available in pet shops. A large number of vitamin and calcium preparations for supplementation are available, too.

When and how long do I need to feed the insects?

This depends on the insect species, the environmental conditions of the feeders, and how well the offered diet is eaten by the insects. As a general rule, insects must be fed for at least 24 hours, preferably several days, to achieve adequate gutloading with a diet. This means that gutloading can only be applied if the feeding animals spend at least this time in their own boxes with the appropriate diet. Some studies even assume two to five days.

Caution: Gutloading diets often cannot be used permanently for feeders. Due to the altered mineral and nutrient content, they lead to the premature death of the insects and poorer reproduction. It is, therefore, necessary to feed the insects “normally” in the long term and to offer the gutloading diet only to feeders that are to be fed to chameleons within the next few days.

What diets are suitable for gutloading?

Probably the most urgent question you have as a chameleon keeper: What do I feed the insects now to achieve a good Gutloading?

Unfortunately, commercially available gutloading diets do not appear to be good sources of calcium according to studies to date, even if the manufacturers advertise this intensively in some cases and even sell the diets specifically for gutloading. One diet from the American market that was found to be suitable in a study is T-Rex Calcium Plus Food for Crickets. Otherwise, if necessary, the vitamin and calcium powders actually used for supplementation can be incorporated into a homemade gutloading diet.

Example of ingredients for a freshly homemade gutloading diet

Self-prepared diets unfortunately always run the risk of not containing enough vitamins and minerals. Estimates of a chameleon’s need for vitamin A, vitamin D3 (the majority of which is synthesized via UV-B radiation), vitamin E, and calcium, and magnesium can be found in this article. The following tables provide an overview of how much vitamin A, vitamin E, calcium, and phosphorus are contained in which foods per 100 grams. These are average values, prepared by the Institute for Biological Chemistry and Nutritional Sciences at the University of Hohenheim and the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA). Foods high in oxalic acids and foods with an inverse calcium-phosphorus ratio (significantly more phosphorus than calcium) should be used at very low levels or not at all if the insects are later to be fed to chameleons. In order to improve the calcium content of the gutloading diet, which is itself composed of these ingredients, an added calcium content of 8% calcium carbonate is suitable.

Fruits

Vitamin A Vitamin E Calcium Phosphorus Other
Pineapple 10 µg 0,1 mg 16 mg 9 mg
Apple 8 µg 0,5 mg 7 mg 11 mg
Apricot 298 µg 0,5 mg 17 mg 20 mg P>Ca
Banana 38 µg 0,3 mg 9 mg 28 mg P>Ca
Pear 3 µg 0,4 mg 9 mg 15 mg P>Ca
Blackberry 45 µg 0,6 mg 45 mg 30 mg
Strawberry 8 µg 0,1 mg 25 mg 25 mg
Grapefruit 3 µg 0,3 mg 18 mg 17 mg
Blueberry 6 µg 1,9 mg 13 mg 13 mg
Raspberry 3 µg 0,7 mg 40 mg 45 mg P>Ca
Currant 7 µg 0,6 mg 30 mg 30 mg
Kiwi 62 µg 0,5 mg 38 mg 31 mg
Mango 462 µg 1 mg 12 mg 13 mg
Orange 15 µg 0,2 mg 42 mg 23 mg
Papaya 93 µg 0,7 mg 21 mg 16 mg
Passion fruit 40 µg 0,4 mg 17 mg 57 mg P>Ca
Peach 73 µg 1 mg 7 mg 25 mg P>Ca
Plum 61 µg 0,9 mg 14 mg 18 mg
Rhubarb 12 µg 0,3 mg 52 mg 24 mg high oxalic acid content
Gooseberry 35 µg 0,6 mg 30 mg 30 mg
Cherry 14 µg 0,1 mg 17 mg 20 mg
Water melon 33 µg 0,1 mg 11 mg 11 mg
Grapes 4 µg 0,6 mg 18 mg 20 mg

Vegetables

Vitamin A Vitamin E Calcium Phosphorus Other
Spinach leaves 781 µg 1,3 mg 126 mg 55 mg high oxalic acid content
Cauliflower 2 µg 0,1 mg 20 mg 54 mg P>Ca
Green beans 35 µg 0,1 mg 37 mg 38 mg
Broccoli 142 µg 0,6 mg 60 mg 60 mg
Chiccory 572 µg 0,1 mg 26 mg 26 mg
Iceberg lettuce 600 µg 0,6 mg 19 mg 20 mg
Endive lettuce 280 µg 1,0 mg 54 mg 54 mg
Corn salad 650 µg 0,6 mg 35 mg 49 mg P>Ca
Fennel 783 µg 6,0 mg 109 mg 51 mg
Kale 500 µg 1,5 mg 150 mg 92 mg
Carott 1574 µg 0,4 mg 41 mg 35 mg
Potato 1 µg 0,1 mg 6 mg 46 mg only use cooked
Cabbage turnip 33 µg 0,4 mg 68 mg 50 mg
Butterhead lettuce 240 µg 0,6 mg 37 mg 33 mg
Butternut squash 1144  µg 1,29 mg 84 mg 55 mg
Spinach beet 588 µg 1,5 mg 103 mg 39 mg high oxalic acid content
Bok Choy 71 µg 0,3 mg 40 mg 30 mg
Green pepper 180 µg 2,5 mg 11 mg 29 mg
Parsnip 3 µg 0,9 mg 51 mg 73 mg P>Ca
Radish 4 µg 0,0 mg 34 mg 26 mg
Radicchio 133 µg 0,5 mg 40 mg 27 mg
Roman lettuce 260 µg 0,6 mg 36 mg 45 mg
Cucumber 66 µg 0,1 mg 15 mg 23 mg
Celery 483 µg 0,2 mg 80 mg 48 mg
Sweet potato 1246 µg 4,6 mg 35 mg 45 mg high oxalic acid content
Tomato 84 µg 0,8 mg 14 mg 26 mg
Haricot bean 27 µg 0,0 mg 48 mg 181 mg P>Ca
Zucchini 58 µg 0,5 mg 30 mg 23 mg

Herbs

Vitamin A Vitamin E Calcium Phosphorus Other
Basil 658 µg 0,0 mg 177 mg 56 mg
Stinging nettle 101 µg 0,8 mg 481 mg 71 mg
Watercress 692 µg 1,0 mg 180 mg 64 mg
Dandelion 1317 µg 2,5 mg 158 mg 70 mg
Alfalfa 16 µg 0,1 mg 32 mg 70 mg P>Ca
Parsley 902 µg 3,6 mg 245 mg 128 mg medium to high oxalic acid content depending on study
Rosemary 92 µg 0,0 mg 370 mg 20 mg
Sorrel 833 µg 1,9 mg 54 mg 71 mg high oxalic acid content
Chive 50 µg 1,6 mg 129 mg 75 mg medium to high oxalic acid content depending on study

Other food

Vitamin A Vitamin E Calcium Phosphorus Other
Bee pollen* bis 1500 µg <6,21 mg 0,2-5,8 mg 0,8-9,6 mg see *
Cashews 1 µg 0,8 mg 41 mg 426 mg P>Ca
Peanuts 0 µg 8,0 mg 65 mg 409 mg P>Ca
Oatmeal 0 µg 0,8 mg 54 mg 391 mg P>Ca
Hazelnuts 5 µg 26,1 mg 225 mg 335 mg P>Ca
Pumpkin seed 38 µg 4,0 mg 41 mg 830 mg P>Ca
Cereals 10 µg 3,0 mg 51 mg 296 mg P>Ca
Pine nuts 3 µg 12,5 mg 26 mg 510 mg P>Ca
Raisins 5 µg 0,6 mg 31 mg 110 mg P>Ca
Sunflower seed 3 µg 37,2 mg 100 mg 618 mg P>Ca
Spirulina 67 µg 5,0 mg 120 m 118 mg
Walnuts 8 µg 1,9 mg 87 mg 410 mg P>Ca

* More about bee pollen:

Bee pollen is often used as gutloading food. The pollen comes from plants and is collected by bees from the flowers. For commercial use, the pollen is taken from the bees by means of so-called pollen traps at the entrance to their hive. To make the pollen more durable, it is dried. Bee pollen contains a high percentage of carbohydrates (40-85%), including mainly fructose and glucose. The protein content of bee pollen contains all the amino acids essential for humans. In addition, bee pollen is rich in vitamins, especially vitamins B3 and E, and contains a variety of minerals.

Bees with pollen in front of the flight hole of a hive

For humans, bee pollen is recommended worldwide as a dietary supplement. Bee pollen is considered to be liver and heart-protective, anti-inflammatory, antioxidant and antimicrobial. With just 50 g of bee pollen, a person can meet his or her daily requirement of vitamins and essential amino acids. And here is the problem with bee pollen: Evidence for great benefit exists only for humans. Unfortunately, the vitamin, mineral, and nutrient requirements of Malagasy chameleons are not yet known. Therefore, it is also not clear whether bee pollen is as valuable for chameleons as it is for humans or not.

The assumption that chameleons in nature eat mainly pollen-collecting insects has not yet been well studied or proven. Only a few Madagascan chameleon species have already been studied in terms of their food spectrum. Even small numbers of samples showed enormous differences between different chameleon species. Therefore, it cannot be assumed that the feeding spectrum of individual species can be unconditionally transferred to other species. At present, it is completely unclear whether bee pollen in a gutloading diet is beneficial for chameleons, and if so, what benefits it has.

Bee pollen

Generally difficult in the use of bee pollen is that the composition can vary extremely depending on the origin. The composition is influenced by the plants used, the location of the plants, the time of year and day, the time of collection, and many other components. In addition, bee pollen is not approved as a food supplement either in the European Union or in the USA, which is why there are no mandatory quality standards. Potential risks of bee pollen lie in the possible content of heavy metals, pesticides, and mycotoxins (fungal toxins such as ochratoxin A and aflatoxin B1).

For more information on bee pollen, see the studies by Gonzaléz et al. 2005, Estevino et al. 2011, Soares de Arruda et al. 2013, Li et al. 2018, and Thakur and Nanda 2020.

What else needs to be considered when gutloading?

Young crickets eat very finely powdered diets better than coarse pieces or pellets. Powdered or highly chopped diets also have the advantage that the feeders cannot choose what they particularly like and what they do not. If you mix diets yourself, you should also grind them in a blender. Only the finished powder or mash is offered to the feed animals as a gutloading diet. Caution: Mash must not become moldy under any circumstances, otherwise the feed animals may also ingest mycotoxins. It must therefore be replaced at least once a day. In the case of mash or other moist gutloading diets, care should also be taken to ensure that, if necessary, any paper towel in the feeder box is replaced at least daily.

Crickets fed a freshly formulated gutloading diet

The feeders should not be too old for gutloading: Crickets eat significantly less shortly before the end of their lifespan than in younger life stages. In addition, the ambient temperature can be increased slightly; most insects will eat more of the gutloading diet then. In addition, the smaller and younger an insect, the greater the proportion of its total weight that is accounted for by the gastrointestinal tract. In adult crickets, gutloading as a percentage of body weight is 11-13%, while in nymphs it is 13-15%. Put another way: Younger insects are slightly better at gutloading.

Water gels should not be offered during gutloading. It is often eaten preferentially to the diet itself and thus reduces the effect of gutloading. Water can instead be offered in a small bowl with a wet cotton ball, which also prevents drowning of the insects.

More references and information on gutloading for reference can be found in the studies by Allen and Oftedal 1989, Ferguson 1996, Anderson 2000, Klasing et al. 2000, Hunt et al. 2001, Finke 2003, Finke et al. 2005, Hunt-Coslik et al. 2009, Li et al. 2009, Ogilvy et al. 2012, and Attard 2013.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Gutloading

Unter dem Begriff gutloading (von Englisch gut = Darm, und loading = laden) versteht man in der Terraristik die Aufwertung von Futtertieren vor dem Verfüttern ans Chamäleon mittels gezieltem Verfüttern selbst gemischter oder kommerzieller Futtermittel. Das Gutloading, wie es ursprünglich in Zoos verwendet wurde, ist als Alternative zur Supplementation mittels Vitamin- und Kalziumpulvern gedacht. Um dabei die Futtertiere tatsächlich ausreichend aufzuwerten, muss man ihnen spezielle Diäten (nicht einfach „Reste aus der Küche“) füttern. Inzwischen gibt es etliche Studien, die sich mit Sinn und Zweck des Gutloading beschäftigen.

Heute wird Gutloading in der Terraristik oft als Begriff benutzt, Insekten nach dem Kauf in Dosen vom Großhändler generell mit frischem Gemüse und Obst anzufüttern. Diese Definition von Gutloading hat sich erst im Laufe der Zeit entwickelt und entspricht meistens keiner ausreichenden Supplementation von Vitaminen und Kalzium. Dieser Artikel beschäftigt sich daher mit der ursprünglichen Definition des Gutloadings.

Wozu Gutloading oder Supplementation?

Diese Frage wird in diesem Artikel sehr ausführlich beantwortet. Deshalb verzichten wir darauf, den Textabschnitt hier zu wiederholen.

Vor- und Nachteile von Gutloading und Supplementation

Gutloading hat den Vorteil, dass vor dem Verfüttern keine weitere Behandlung der Futtertiere mehr vorgenommen werden muss. Dafür hat es den Nachteil, dass man die Futtertiere mit spezieller Diät anfüttern muss. Man muss also eine passende Diät errechnen und zusammenstellen oder kaufen und diese dann gezielt in einem bestimmten Zeitraum anbieten. Die Zusammensetzung der Futtertiere selbst ändert sich durchs Gutloading nicht oder kaum. Nur ihr Verdauungstrakt wird mit zusätzlichen Nährstoffen gefüllt, die dann dem Chamäleon bei Verfütterung zusätzlich zum Insekt zur Verfügung stehen.

Bei der Supplementation kann ein Teil des Pulvers während der Verfütterung vom Futtertier abfallen. Viele Futtertiere putzen sich und streifen damit sogar aktiv Pulver ab. Beim Gutloading kann das Insekt die Diät ausscheiden, sollte es zu lange ungefressen im Terrarium verweilen. Es ist also sowohl bei der Supplementation als auch beim Gutloading entscheidend, dass die Futtertiere zügig aufgefressen werden und nicht noch stundenlang im Terrarium herumlaufen. Möglicherweise hat hier Gutloading einen kleinen (kurzen) Vorteil gegenüber der Supplementation.

Ein Nachteil des Gutloading ist, dass die Kapazität des Magen-Darm-Trakts zwischen den verschiedenen Futtertier-Arten und –Altersstufen variiert. Das bedeutet, dass sich zum Gutloading nicht alle Futtertiere gleichermaßen eignen. Bei der Supplementation haftet allerdings das Pulver auch nicht an jedem Futtertier gleich gut.

Ein Vorteil des Gutloading ist, dass nach aktueller Studienlage dem Chamäleon tatsächlich die im Magen-Darm-Trakt des Insekts befindliche Diät nahezu vollständig zusätzlich zum Insekt selbst zur Verfügung steht. Das heißt: Was im Futtertierdarm ist, kommt auch im Chamäleon an. Natürlich kommt nicht mehr an, was vor zwei Wochen mal verfüttert wurde (siehe nächster Abschnitt).

Bei der kommerziellen Verfügbarkeit geeigneter Futtertier-Diäten hat im deutschsprachigen Raum aktuell leider das Gutloading das Nachsehen. Vitamin- und Kalziumpräparate zur Supplementation werden in einer Vielzahl angeboten, Gutloading-Diäten noch nicht (siehe übernächster Abschnitt).

Wann und wie lange muss ich die Insekten anfüttern?

Das hängt von der Insektenart, den Umweltbedingungen der Futtertiere und davon ab, wie gut die angebotene Diät von den Insekten gefressen wird. Grundsätzlich gilt: Insekten müssen mindestens 24 Stunden, besser mehrere Tage lang angefüttert werden, um ein ausreichendes Gutloading mit einer Diät zu erzielen. Das bedeutet, dass Gutloading nur dann angewandt werden kann, wenn die Futtertiere mindestens diese Zeit in eigenen Boxen mit der entsprechenden Diät verbringen. Einige Studien gehen sogar von zwei bis fünf Tagen aus.

Vorsicht: Die Gutloading-Diäten kann man häufig nicht dauerhaft für Futtertiere verwenden. Auf Grund der veränderten Mineral- und Nährstoffgehalte führen sie zu verfrühtem Ableben der Insekten und schlechterer Fortpflanzung. Es ist also notwendig, die Insekten langfristig „normal“ zu füttern und die Gutloading-Diät nur den Futtertieren anzubieten, die innerhalb der nächsten Tage an Chamäleons verfüttert werden sollen.

Welche Diäten eignen sich fürs Gutloading?

Die wahrscheinlich dringendste Frage, die man als Chamäleonhalter hat: Was füttere ich den nun den Insekten, um ein gutes Gutloading zu erreichen?

Kommerziell erhältliche Gutloading-Diäten scheinen leider nach bisheriger Studienlage keine guten Kalziumquellen darzustellen, auch wenn die Hersteller dies teils intensiv bewerben und die Diäten sogar speziell fürs Gutloading verkaufen. In Deutschland gibt es aktuell keine käufliche Diät, die überhaupt schon auf ihre Gutloading-Qualität getestet wurde. Eine Diät aus dem amerikanischen Markt, die in einer Studie für geeignet befunden wurde, ist T-Rex Calcium Plus Food for Crickets. Ansonsten kann man gegebenenfalls die eigentlich zur Supplementation genutzten Vitamin- und Kalziumpulver in eine selbst hergestellte Gutloading-Diät einbauen.

Beispiel für Zutaten einer selbst zusammen gestellten Gutloading-Diät

Selbst zusammengestellte Diäten bergen leider stets die Gefahr, nicht ausreichend Vitamine und Mineralien zu enthalten. Schätzungen zum Bedarf eines Chamäleons an Vitamin A, Vitamin D3 (wird mehrheitlich über UV-B-Strahlung synthetisiert), Vitamin E sowie Kalzium und Magnesium finden sich in diesem Artikel. Die folgenden Tabellen geben eine Übersicht, in welchen Lebensmitteln pro 100 Gramm wie viel Vitamin A, Vitamin E, Kalzium und Phosphor enthalten ist. Es handelt sich dabei um Durchschnittswerte, erstellt vom Institut für biologische Chemie und Ernährungswissenschaften der Universität Hohenheim sowie des U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA). Lebensmittel mit einem hohen Gehalt an Oxalsäuren sowie Lebensmittel mit einem umgekehrten Kalzium-Phosphor-Verhältnis (deutlich mehr Phosphor als Kalzium) sollten nur sehr gering oder gar nicht verwendet werden, wenn die Insekten später an Chamäleons verfüttert werden sollen. Um den Kalzium-Gehalt der selbst aus diesen Zutaten zusammen gestellten Gutloading-Diät zu verbessern, eignet sich ein zugesetzter Kalzium-Anteil von 8% Kalziumcarbonat.

Obst

Vitamin A Vitamin E Kalzium Phosphor Sonstiges
Ananas 10 µg 0,1 mg 16 mg 9 mg
Apfel 8 µg 0,5 mg 7 mg 11 mg
Aprikose 298 µg 0,5 mg 17 mg 20 mg P>Ca
Banane 38 µg 0,3 mg 9 mg 28 mg P>Ca
Birne 3 µg 0,4 mg 9 mg 15 mg P>Ca
Brombeere 45 µg 0,6 mg 45 mg 30 mg
Erdbeere 8 µg 0,1 mg 25 mg 25 mg
Grapefruit 3 µg 0,3 mg 18 mg 17 mg
Heidelbeere 6 µg 1,9 mg 13 mg 13 mg
Himbeere 3 µg 0,7 mg 40 mg 45 mg P>Ca
Johannisbeere 7 µg 0,6 mg 30 mg 30 mg
Kiwi 62 µg 0,5 mg 38 mg 31 mg
Mango 462 µg 1 mg 12 mg 13 mg
Orange 15 µg 0,2 mg 42 mg 23 mg
Papaya 93 µg 0,7 mg 21 mg 16 mg
Passionsfrucht 40 µg 0,4 mg 17 mg 57 mg P>Ca
Pfirsich 73 µg 1 mg 7 mg 25 mg P>Ca
Pflaume 61 µg 0,9 mg 14 mg 18 mg
Rhabarber 12 µg 0,3 mg 52 mg 24 mg hoher Oxalsäuregehalt
Stachelbeere 35 µg 0,6 mg 30 mg 30 mg
Süßkirsche 14 µg 0,1 mg 17 mg 20 mg
Wassermelone 33 µg 0,1 mg 11 mg 11 mg
Weintrauben 4 µg 0,6 mg 18 mg 20 mg

Gemüse

Vitamin A Vitamin E Kalzium Phosphor Sonstiges
Blattspinat 781 µg 1,3 mg 126 mg 55 mg hoher Oxalsäuregehalt
Blumenkohl 2 µg 0,1 mg 20 mg 54 mg P>Ca
Brechbohnen 35 µg 0,1 mg 37 mg 38 mg
Brokkoli 142 µg 0,6 mg 60 mg 60 mg
Chicorée 572 µg 0,1 mg 26 mg 26 mg
Eisbergsalat 600 µg 0,6 mg 19 mg 20 mg
Endiviensalat 280 µg 1,0 mg 54 mg 54 mg
Feldsalat 650 µg 0,6 mg 35 mg 49 mg P>Ca
Fenchel 783 µg 6,0 mg 109 mg 51 mg
Grünkohl 500 µg 1,5 mg 150 mg 92 mg
Karotte 1574 µg 0,4 mg 41 mg 35 mg
Kartoffel 1 µg 0,1 mg 6 mg 46 mg nur gekocht zu verwenden
Kohlrabi 33 µg 0,4 mg 68 mg 50 mg
Kopfsalat 240 µg 0,6 mg 37 mg 33 mg
Kürbis, Butternuss 1144  µg 1,29 mg 84 mg 55 mg
Mangold 588 µg 1,5 mg 103 mg 39 mg hoher Oxalsäuregehalt
Pak Choi 71 µg 0,3 mg 40 mg 30 mg
Paprika 180 µg 2,5 mg 11 mg 29 mg
Pastinake 3 µg 0,9 mg 51 mg 73 mg P>Ca
Radieschen 4 µg 0,0 mg 34 mg 26 mg
Radicchio 133 µg 0,5 mg 40 mg 27 mg
Romanasalat 260 µg 0,6 mg 36 mg 45 mg
Salatgurke 66 µg 0,1 mg 15 mg 23 mg
Sellerie 483 µg 0,2 mg 80 mg 48 mg
Süßkartoffel 1246 µg 4,6 mg 35 mg 45 mg hoher Oxalsäuregehalt
Tomate 84 µg 0,8 mg 14 mg 26 mg
Weiße Bohnen 27 µg 0,0 mg 48 mg 181 mg P>Ca
Zucchini 58 µg 0,5 mg 30 mg 23 mg

Kräuter

Vitamin A Vitamin E Kalzium Phosphor Sonstiges
Basilikum 658 µg 0,0 mg 177 mg 56 mg
Brennnessel 101 µg 0,8 mg 481 mg 71 mg
Brunnenkresse 692 µg 1,0 mg 180 mg 64 mg
Löwenzahn 1317 µg 2,5 mg 158 mg 70 mg
Luzernesprossen
(Alfalfa)
16 µg 0,1 mg 32 mg 70 mg P>Ca
Petersilie 902 µg 3,6 mg 245 mg 128 mg mittlerer bis hoher Oxalsäuregehalt je nach Studie
Rosmarin 92 µg 0,0 mg 370 mg 20 mg
Sauerampfer 833 µg 1,9 mg 54 mg 71 mg hoher Oxalsäuregehalt
Schnittlauch 50 µg 1,6 mg 129 mg 75 mg mittlerer bis hoher Oxalsäuregehalt je nach Studie

Sonstige  Lebensmittel

Vitamin A Vitamin E Kalzium Phosphor Sonstiges
Bienenpollen* bis 1500 µg <6,21 mg 0,2-5,8 mg 0,8-9,6 mg siehe *
Cashewkerne 1 µg 0,8 mg 41 mg 426 mg P>Ca
Erdnüsse 0 µg 8,0 mg 65 mg 409 mg P>Ca
Haferflocken 0 µg 0,8 mg 54 mg 391 mg P>Ca
Haselnüsse 5 µg 26,1 mg 225 mg 335 mg P>Ca
Kürbiskerne 38 µg 4,0 mg 41 mg 830 mg P>Ca
Müsli 10 µg 3,0 mg 51 mg 296 mg P>Ca
Pinienkerne 3 µg 12,5 mg 26 mg 510 mg P>Ca
Rosinen 5 µg 0,6 mg 31 mg 110 mg P>Ca
Sonnenblumenkerne 3 µg 37,2 mg 100 mg 618 mg P>Ca
Spirulina 67 µg 5,0 mg 120 m 118 mg
Walnüsse 8 µg 1,9 mg 87 mg 410 mg P>Ca

* Mehr zu Bienenpollen:

Bienenpollen werden häufig als Gutloading-Futter verwendet. Die Pollen stammen von Pflanzen und werden von Bienen aus den Blüten gesammelt. Zur kommerziellen Nutzung werden den Bienen die Pollen mittels sogenannter Pollenfallen am Eingang ihres Stocks abgenommen. Um die Pollen haltbarer zu machen, werden sie getrocknet. Bienenpollen enthalten einen hohen Anteil von Kohlenhydraten (40-85%), darunter vor allem Fructose und Glucose. Der Eiweißanteil von Bienenpollen enthält alle für den Menschen essentiellen Aminosäuren. Dazu sind Bienenpollen reich an Vitaminen, vor allem Vitamin B3 und E, und enthalten eine Vielzahl an Mineralien.

Bienen mit Pollen vor dem Flugloch einer Beute

Für Menschen wird Bienenpollen weltweit als Nahrungsergänzungsmittel empfohlen. Bienenpollen gilt als Leber und Herz schützend, antiinflammatorisch, antioxidativ und antimikrobiell. Mit gerade mal 50g Bienenpollen kann ein Mensch seinen Tagesbedarf an Vitaminen und essentiellen Aminosäuren decken. Und hier ergibt sich bereits das Problem an der Sache mit den Bienenpollen: Evidenz für großen Nutzen gibt es nur für den Menschen. Der Vitamin-, Mineralien- und Nährstoffbedarf madagassischer Chamäleons ist leider noch nicht bekannt. Daher ist auch nicht klar, ob Bienenpollen für Chamäleons ähnlich wertvoll sind wie für den Menschen oder nicht.

Die Annahme, dass Chamäleons in der Natur vorwiegend Pollen sammelnde Insekten fressen, ist bisher weder gut untersucht noch nachgewiesen. Nur von wenigen madagassischen Chamäleonarten gibt es überhaupt bereits Untersuchungen zum Futterspektrum. Dabei zeigten sich bereits in kleinen Probenzahlen enorme Unterschiede zwischen unterschiedlichen Chamäleonarten. Es ist daher nicht anzunehmen, dass man das Futterspektrum einzelner Arten vorbehaltlos auf weitere Arten übertragen kann. Aktuell ist schlicht völlig unklar, ob und wenn ja welchen Nutzen für Chamäleons Bienenpollen in einer Gutloading-Diät haben könnte oder nicht.

Bienenpollen

Generell schwierig bei der Verwendung von Bienenpollen ist, dass die Zusammensetzung je nach Herkunft extrem voneinander abweichen kann. Beeinflusst wird die Zusammensetzung von den genutzten Pflanzen, dem Standort der Pflanzen, der Jahres- und Tageszeit, dem Zeitpunkt des Sammelns und vielen weiteren Komponenten. Dazu sind Bienenpollen weder in der Europäischen Union noch in den USA als Nahrungsergänzungsmittel zugelassen, weshalb es keine verpflichtenden Qualitätsstandards gibt. Potenzielle Risiken von Bienenpollen liegen im möglichen Gehalt von Schwermetallen, Pestiziden und Mykotoxinen (Pilzgifte wie Ochratoxin A und Aflatoxin B1).

Weitere Informationen zu Bienenpollen finden sich in den Studien von Gonzaléz et al. 2005, Estevino et al. 2011, Soares de Arruda et al. 2013, Li et al. 2018 sowie  Thakur und Nanda 2020.

Was muss beim Gutloading sonst noch beachtet werden?

Junge Grillen fressen sehr fein pulverisierte Diäten besser als grobe Stücke oder Pellets. Pulverisierte oder stark zerkleinere Diäten haben außerdem den Vorteil, dass die Futtertiere nicht auswählen können, was sie besonders mögen und was nicht. Wer Diäten selbst mischt, sollte diese ebenfalls im Mixer zerkleinern. Erst das fertige Pulver oder der fertige Brei wird den Futtertieren als Gutloading-Diät angeboten. Vorsicht: Brei darf auf keinen Fall schimmeln, sonst können die Futtertiere auch Mykotoxine mit aufnehmen. Er muss also mindestens einmal täglich ausgetauscht werden. Bei Brei oder anderen feuchten Gutloading-Diäten sollte man außerdem darauf achten, dass gegebenenfalls Unterlagen in der Futtertierbox wie Küchenpapier mindestens täglich ausgetauscht werden.

Steppengrillen, die mit einer frisch zusammen gestellten Gutloading-Diät gefüttert werden

Die Futtertiere sollten fürs Gutloading nicht zu alt sein: Grillen fressen kurz vor Ende ihrer Lebenszeit deutlich weniger als in jüngeren Lebensstadien. Zusätzlich kann man die Umgebungstemperatur etwas erhöhen, auch dann fressen die meisten Insekten mehr von der Gutloading-Diät. Je kleiner und jünger ein Insekt, desto größer ist außerdem der Anteil des Magen-Darm-Trakts an seinem Gesamtgewicht. Bei adulten Grillen liegt der prozentuale Anteil des Gutloading am Körpergewicht auf 11-13%, bei Nymphen auf 13-15%. Anders formuliert: Jüngere Insekten kann man etwas besser gutloaden.

Auf das Anbieten von Wassergels sollte während dem Gutloading verzichtet werden. Es wird häufig bevorzugt gegenüber der eigentlichen Diät gefressen und verringert so den Effekt des Gutloading. Wasser kann stattdessen in einem Schälchen mit einem nassen Wattebausch angeboten werden, der ebenfalls das Ertrinken der Insekten verhindert.

Mehr Hinweise und Informationen zum Gutloading zum Nachlesen finden sich in den Studien von Allen und Oftedal 1989, Ferguson 1996, Anderson 2000, Klasing et al. 2000, Hunt et al. 2001, Finke 2003, Finke et al. 2005, Hunt-Coslik et al. 2009, Li et al. 2009, Ogilvy et al. 2012, und Attard 2013.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove