Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Brookesia karchei

Brookesia karchei
Brookesia karchei
Brookesia karchei
CITES quotas
no legal export possible

First description:

Brygoo, Blanc & Domergue, 1970

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Brookesia karchei

loading map - please wait...

Marojejy: -14.466596, 49.663696

Distribution:

Brookesia karchei mainly occurs in Marojejy national park in northeast Madagascar, where it prefers humid leaf layer between rocks and moss as habitat. We could find it several times between Camp Mantella and Camp Marojejya – which is not easy with a chameleon of this tiny size!

Appearance & size:

The dwarfs become about 50 mm long, females stay a little smaller. Along the back, each side has a row of twelve to thirteen enlarged, spiny scales that are not continued on tail (in contrast to some other very similar Brookesia species). Above noses and eyes, there is a small bony appendage, otherwise these chameleons look rather unsuspicious. They are beige to light brown.

Good to know:

This species is part of the minima group, which includes the smallest chameleons of the world.

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature
Minimum temperature
Maximum temperature
Rain days

Data will come soon.

Marojejy mainly consists of rainforest that extends over the eponymic sacred mountain at elevations of 800 to maximally 2100 m above sea level. In the highest areas, climate is cool and vegetation sparse, but most chameleons live in the warmer dense rainforest below.

In Marojejy, there is few difference between rainy and dry season. Humidity is always very, very high. In rainy season, precipitation is more intense with rainfalls that may last for days and sometimes are accompagnied by heavy storms. In dry season, temperatures are a little lower, but it never becomes really cold. And it stills rains almost daily. It really cannot become dry in Marojejy during "dry" season. Humidity is the main key factor of this rainforest.

2014 UVI Marojejy 2015 UVI Marojejy

Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (end of March until beginning of April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Marojejy available yet.

Habitat:

The following pictures show the habitat of Brookesia karchei between Camp Mantella and Marojejya in Marojejy. The rainforest here consists of huge tree giants and slippery, mossy, round stones in very lush undergrowth. Ferns, lianas and moss dominate the scene. You can find these chameleons in the middle of the dense foliage and on bark pieces.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Brookesia karchei

Brookesia karchei
Brookesia karchei
Brookesia karchei
CITES-Quoten
kein legaler Export möglich

Erstbeschreibung:

Brygoo, Blanc & Domergue, 1970

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Brookesia karchei

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Marojejy: -14.466596, 49.663696

Verbreitung:

Brookesia karchei kommt vorwiegend im Nationalpark Marojejy im Nordosten Madagaskars vor, wo es die feuchten Laubschichten zwischen Steinen und Moos als Lebensraum bevorzugt. Dort konnten wir es schon einige Male zwischen Camp Mantella und Camp Marojejya finden – was bei dieser Größe wirklich nicht leicht ist!

Aussehen & Größe:

Diese Winzlinge werden insgesamt etwa 50 mm lang, die Weibchen bleiben etwas kleiner. Entlang des Rückens verläuft auf jeder Seite je eine Reihe zwölf oder dreizehn vergrößerter, spitzer Schuppen, die sich am Schwanz aber nicht fortsetzen (im Gegensatz zu einigen sehr ähnlichen Brookesia-Arten). Über der Nase und über den Augen ragt ein Fortsatz in die Höhe, ansonsten sehen diese Chamäleons recht unauffällig aus. Die Schuppenfarbe ist beige bis hellbraun.

Besonderheiten:

Diese Art gehört zu den kleinsten Chamäleons der Welt, der sogenannten minima-Gruppe.

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur
Minimale Temperatur
Maximale Temperatur
Regentage

Daten folgen.

Marojejy besteht vorwiegend aus einem Regenwald, der sich über das gleichnamige heilige Gebirge auf Höhen von 800 bis maximal 2100 m über Meeresniveau erstreckt. In den höchsten Gebieten ist das Klima kühl und die Vegetation karg, die meisten Chamäleons leben jedoch im wärmeren Regenwald darunter.

In Marojejy gibt es nur wenig Unterschied zwischen Regen- und Trockenzeit. Die Luftfeuchtigkeit ist stetig sehr, sehr hoch. In der Regenzeit sind die Niederschläge ergiebiger, halten oft Tage an und gehen ab und zu mit schweren Stürmen einher. In der Trockenzeit liegen die Temperaturen etwas niedriger, richtig kalt wird es jedoch nie und es regnet immernoch fast täglich. Und trocken wird es in der Trockenzeit in Marojejy auch nicht.

2014 UVI Marojejy 2015 UVI Marojejy

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Ende März bis Anfang April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Marojejy verfügbar.

Habitat:

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat von Brookesia karchei zwischen Camp Mantella und Marojejya in Marojejy. Der Regenwald besteht aus Urwaldriesen, rutschigen, bemoosten, runden Steinen und sehr üppigem Unterholz. Farne, Lianen und Moos bestimmen das Bild. Die Chamäleons findet man nur mit sehr guter Suche in Mitten des Laubes und auf Rindenstücken.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove