Brookesia tuberculata

Brookesia tuberculata, Montagne d'Ambre 2017
Brookesia tuberculata, Montagne d'Ambre 2017
Brookesia tuberculata, Montagne d'Ambre 2017
Brookesia tuberculata
Brookesia tuberculata
Brookesia tuberculata
Brookesia tuberculata
Brookesia tuberculata
Brookesia tuberculata, Montagne d'Ambre 2017
Brookesia tuberculata, Montagne d'Ambre, 2019
CITES quotas
no legal export possible

First description:

Mocquard, 1894

Origin of the species name:

The zoologist François Mocquard of the Natural History Museum in Paris (France) borrowed the species name from the Latin tubercula, which means “many bumps”. In his description of the species, he considered the small tubercules that this leaf chameleon carries to be species-specific in number and appearance. Mocquard, like some of his colleagues, never visited Madagascar himself but described the species based on prepared chameleons that had been collected from many countries in the Natural History Museum.

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Brookesia tuberculata

loading map - please wait...

Montagne d\'Ambre: -12.613537, 49.173431

Distribution:

These tiny chameleons solely occur in Amber Mountain national park in north Madagascar. Like all leaf chameleons, they live in the foliage, preferably at the foot of huge trees in the rainforest. Elevations are always above 1000 m there. We have been always able to find them not far from the camping ground. Of course, you need some patience to find them. At the end of the rainy season, they often sit on thin branchlets less than 10 cm above the ground. Most habitats we’ve found were the mossy roots of large, old trees.

Appearance & size:

Brookesia tuberculata, Montagne d'Ambre 2017

This male pretends to be dead

Males reach a total length of 25 to 35 mm, females become a little bigger. The cobby body sits on relatively thick small legs, the body sides wear some indistinct small tubercles. Males have a distinct supraocular cone, which the females lack. Moreover, females are often easy to recognize by their corpulence. Concerning coloration, most Brookesia tuberculata are beige, some blend into brown.

Good to know:

These chameleons belong to the smallest amniotes worldwide, the so-called minima clade.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 23 23 24 23 22 21 20 20 21 22 23 23
Minimum temperature 19 19 19 19 18 16 15 15 16 17 18 19
Maximum temperature 28 28 28 28 27 26 25 25 26 27 28 28
Rain days 20 20 17 9 6 6 7 6 5 6 7 14

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Amber Mountain is an evergreen rainforest which extends over a mountain massif of volcanic origin at elevations between 850 and 1450 m. Due to the height, nights can become rather cold with temperature drops to 10°C.

During rainy season, day temperatures rise to 28°C, in sunny places even warmer. But the average temperature is a little lower. During rainy season, it rains every day for several hours. Simply the way it is in a rainforest. 😉 But also dry season has regular precipitation, just a little shorter. Climate in Amber Mountain is very humid all year long. During dry season, temperatures are somewhat lower with day temperatures up to 25°C.

2022 Luftfeuchtigkeit MA
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (end of April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

2016 UVI Montagne d'Ambre 2022 UVI Montagne d'Ambre
Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Amber Mountain available yet.

Since 2022, in addition to other climate data, we have also been measuring air pressure at the locations we visit in Madagascar. The following data is from a day during the rainy season. On the X-axis is the time of day or night. In Madagascar, the day begins around 6 am, and night falls as early as 6 pm. The Y-axis shows the atmospheric pressure in hPa.

2022 Luftdruck MA

Habitat:

The following pictures show the habitat of Brookesia tuberculata in Amber Mountain. Some are even from finding places of this species. These small leaf chameleons prefer to live at the feet of huge trees between roots and in small bark protrusions where moss and leaves rest. You can also find them close to some fallen tree trunks in the dense foliage.

Hereinafter you can find some 360° pictures from Amber Mountain. You can move inside these pictures via mouse click in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, a new window with an enlarged view will open. You will also have the opportunity to look at the pictures in full-screen mode. Enjoy!

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Brookesia tuberculata

Brookesia tuberculata, Montagne d'Ambre 2017
Brookesia tuberculata, Montagne d'Ambre 2017
Brookesia tuberculata, Montagne d'Ambre 2017
Brookesia tuberculata
Brookesia tuberculata
Brookesia tuberculata
Brookesia tuberculata
Brookesia tuberculata
Brookesia tuberculata, Montagne d'Ambre 2017
Brookesia tuberculata, Montagne d'Ambre, 2019
CITES-Quoten
kein legaler Export möglich

Erstbeschreibung:

Moquard, 1900

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Brookesia tuberculata

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Montagne d\'Ambre: -12.613537, 49.173431

Verbreitung:

Diese winzigen Chamäleons kommen nur im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre im Norden Madagaskars vor. Sie leben wie alle Erdchamäleons in der Laubschicht am Fuße der riesigen Bäume des Bergregenwaldes auf Höhen von über 1000 Meter über NN. Wir konnten sie stets unweit des Campgrounds mit etwas Geduld finden. Oft sitzen sie am Ende der Regenzeit auf dünnen Ästchen weniger als 10 cm über dem Boden. Ihre Habitat befindet sich oft zwischen den bemoosten Wurzeln großer, alter Bäume.

Aussehen & Größe:

Männchen erreichen eine Gesamtlänge von 25 bis 35 mm, die Weibchen werden etwas größer. Der gedrungene Körper sitzt auf verhältnismäßigen dicken kleinen Beinchen, an den Körperseiten finden sich undeutlich einige kleine Tuberkel. Die Männchen weisen einen deutlichen Kopffortsatz über der Augenhöhle auf, der beim anderen Geschlecht fehlt. Die Weibchen sind außerdem meist leicht an ihrer größeren Körperfülle zu erkennen. Farblich sind die meisten Brookesia tuberculata beige, bei einigen geht die Farbe ins Braune.

Brookesia tuberculata, Montagne d'Ambre 2017

Totstellreflex bei Brookesia tuberculata

Besonderheiten:

Dieses Chamäleon gehört zu den kleinsten Amnioten weltweit. Wie die meisten Brookesia lassen sie sich bei Gefahr fallen, legen Arme und Beine eng an den Körper und stellen sich tot.

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 23 23 24 23 22 21 20 20 21 22 23 23
Minimale Temperatur 19 19 19 19 18 16 15 15 16 17 18 19
Maximale Temperatur 28 28 28 28 27 26 25 25 26 27 28 28
Regentage 20 20 17 9 6 6 7 6 5 6 7 14

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Der Montagne d'Ambre ist ein immergrüner Regenwald, der sich über ein Bergmassiv vulkanischen Ursprungs in Höhen zwischen 850 und 1450 m ausbreitet. Durch die Höhe wird es hier nachts empfindlich kalt mit Temperaturstürzen bis auf 10°C.

Während der Regenzeit wird es tagsüber bis zu 28°C warm, an Sonnenflecken auch etwas wärmer. Die Durschnittstemperatur liegt allerdings etwas niedriger. Während der Regenzeit schüttet es mehrfach täglich, und auch mal ganze Tage durch. Typisch Regenwald eben 😉 . Aber auch in der Trockenzeit regnet es regelmäßig, wenn auch kürzer und eher in kleinen Schauern. Das Klima im Montagne d'Ambre ist daher das ganze Jahr über feucht. Während der Trockenzeit bleiben die Temperaturen vor allem tagsüber etwas niedriger mit bis zu 25°C.

2016 UVI Montagne d'Ambre

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Ende April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für den Montagne d'Ambre verfügbar.

Habitat:

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat von Brookesia tuberculata im Montagne d’Ambre. Einige sind direkt von Fundorten der Art. Die kleinen Erdchamäleons leben bevorzugt am Fuße riesiger Bäume zwischen den Wurzeln und in kleinen Ausbuchtungen der Rinde, in denen Moos und Laub sich sammeln. Man findet sie jedoch auch nahe umgestürzter Baumstämme im dichten Laub.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus dem Montagne d’Ambre, die wir im Montagne d’Ambre aufgenommen haben. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove