Calumma marojezense

CITES quotas
2011-13 no specimens, 2014-21 each 300 specimens for legal export

First description:

(Brygoo, Blanc & Domergue, 1970)

Origin of the species name:

The zoologists Édouard-Raoul Brygoo, Charles Pierre Blanc and Charles Antoine Domergue of the Institut Pasteur in Antananarivo, Madagascar, named the species after its place of origin Marojejy. Originally they thought it was a subspecies called Calumma gastrotaenia marojezense. When the chameleons were raised to own species in 1997 by Wolfgang Böhme, head of the herpetology department of the Museum Alexander König in Bonn (Germany), the name marojezense was simply kept.

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Calumma marojezense

loading map - please wait...

Marojejy: -14.446649, 49.671936
Anjanaharibe-Sud: -14.725745, 49.468689
Anandrivola: -15.681799, 49.627991

Distribution:

Calumma marojezense settles the mountain cloud forests of Marojejy at elevations of 750 to 1300 meters. Their habitat is dense rainforest. If you are lucky, you can find these animals in Marojejy national park nearby Camp Marojejya (Camp 2). In spring, the young chameleons are relatively easy to see sleeping on low branches.

Appearance and size:

Calumma marojezense belongs to gastrotaenia group. With a total length of maximally 14 cm, it is one of the smaller chameleons. Coloration is bright to dark green with wave-shaped dark stripes. Younger specimens have white accents on the belly. Along the belly, there run two small, parallel, white lines. Males of Calumma marojezense have a small, white lateral stripe. The following picture shows a juvenile.

Good to know:

We were somewhat puzzled to hear this species being listed on CITES export quotas. This fact is very special because Calumma marojezense exclusively occurs inside protected national parks and nowhere else. Catching animals there is highly illegal.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 26 26 26 25 25 23 23 22 23 24 25 26
Minimum temperature 24 24 23 23 22 21 20 19 20 21 22 24
Maximum temperature 30 29 29 29 28 27 25 25 25 27 28 30
Rain days 28 23 27 22 24 21 20 18 23 22 16 25

Marojejy mainly consists of rainforest that extends over the eponymic sacred mountain at elevations of 800 to maximally 2100 m above sea level. In the highest areas, climate is cool and vegetation sparse, but most chameleons live in the warmer dense rainforest below.

In Marojejy, there is few difference between rainy and dry season. Humidity is always very, very high. In rainy season, precipitation is more intense with rainfalls that may last for days and sometimes are accompagnied by heavy storms. In dry season, temperatures are a little lower, but it never becomes really cold. And it stills rains almost daily. It really cannot become dry in Marojejy during "dry" season. Humidity is the main key factor of this rainforest.

2014 UVI Marojejy 2015 UVI Marojejy

Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (end of March until beginning of April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Marojejy available yet.

Habitat:

The following pictures show the habitat of Calumma marojezense around Camp Marojejya in Marojejy. This pristine rainforest consists of tree giants. The ground is covered by slippery, mossy, round stones and very lush undergrowth. Ferns, lianas, and moss dominate the scene. You can find these chameleons in high shrubs and bushes, but also on small trees.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Calumma marojezense

CITES-Quoten
2011-13 keine Tiere, 2014-20 je 300 Tiere für den legalen Export freigegeben

Erstbeschreibung:

(Brygoo, Blanc & Domergue, 1970)

Herkunft des Artnamens:

Die Zoologen Édouard-Raoul Brygoo, Charles Pierre Blanc und Charles Antoine Domergue des Instituts Pasteur in Antananarivo, Madagaskar, benannten die Art nach ihrem Herkunftsort Marojejy. Ursprünglich dachten sie, es handele sich um eine Unterart namens Calumma gastrotaenia marojezense. Als die Chamäleons 1997 von Wolfgang Böhme, Leiter der Abteilung Herpetologie des Museum Alexander König in Bonn, in den Arstatus erhoben wurden, behielt man den Namen marojezense einfach.

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Calumma marojezense

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Marojejy: -14.446649, 49.671936
Anjanaharibe-Sud: -14.725745, 49.468689

Verbreitung:

Calumma marojezense besiedelt ausschließlich die Bergnebelwälder von Marojejy in Höhenlagen von 750 – 1300 Meter. Der Lebensraum ist dichter Regenwald. Mit etwas Glück kann man die Tiere im Marojejy Nationalpark nahe Camp Marojejya (Camp 2) finden. Im Frühjahr sind die Jungtiere abends recht leicht im Geäst zu finden.

Größe & Aussehen:

Calumma marojezense gehört zur gastrotaenia-Gruppe, und ist mit einer Gesamtlänge von max. 14 cm den kleineren Chamäleons zuzuordnen. Die Färbung ist hell bis dunkelgrün, und wird von wellenförmigen dunklen Längsstrichen geschmückt. Jüngere Tiere haben auch weiße Akzente insbesondere im Bauchbereich.  Entlang des Bauchs verlaufen zwei schmale, parallele, weiße Linien. Männchen von Calumma marojezense haben einen schmalen, weißen Lateralstreifen. Im Folgenden findest du ein Foto von einem Jungtier der Art.

Besonderheiten:

Zu unserem großen Erstaunen wird diese Art in den aktuellen CITES-Export-Quoten gelistet. Erstaunlich ist diese Tatsache deshalb, weil Calumma marojezense ausschließlich innerhalb geschützter Nationalparks gefunden werden kann. In diesen ist jegliche Entnahme von Tieren illegal.

 

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 26 26 26 25 25 23 23 22 23 24 25 26
Minimale Temperatur 24 24 23 23 22 21 20 19 20 21 22 24
Maximale Temperatur 30 29 29 29 28 27 25 25 25 27 28 30
Regentage 28 23 27 22 24 21 20 18 23 22 16 25

Marojejy besteht vorwiegend aus einem Regenwald, der sich über das gleichnamige heilige Gebirge auf Höhen von 800 bis maximal 2100 m über Meeresniveau erstreckt. In den höchsten Gebieten ist das Klima kühl und die Vegetation karg, die meisten Chamäleons leben jedoch im wärmeren Regenwald darunter.

In Marojejy gibt es nur wenig Unterschied zwischen Regen- und Trockenzeit. Die Luftfeuchtigkeit ist stetig sehr, sehr hoch. In der Regenzeit sind die Niederschläge ergiebiger, halten oft Tage an und gehen ab und zu mit schweren Stürmen einher. In der Trockenzeit liegen die Temperaturen etwas niedriger, richtig kalt wird es jedoch nie und es regnet immernoch fast täglich. Und trocken wird es in der Trockenzeit in Marojejy auch nicht.

2014 UVI Marojejy 2015 UVI Marojejy

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Ende März bis Anfang April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Marojejy verfügbar.

Habitat:

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat von Calumma marojezense rund um Camp Marojejya in Marojejy. Der Regenwald hier besteht aus Urwaldriesen, rutschigen, bemoosten, runden Steinen und sehr üppigem Unterholz. Farne, Lianen und Moos bestimmen das Bild. Die Chamäleons findet man in hohen Sträuchern und Gebüschen, aber auch auf kleinen Bäumen.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove