Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

“Free range” and chameleons inside the living room

  • Home
  • The cage
  • “Free range” and chameleons inside the living room

Again and again, pictures pop off in the world wide web showing chameleons “free roaming” inside the living room, optionally in kitchen, sleeping room or at the balcony, too. In most cases, the animals sit on wardrobes, curtain rods, walk over carpets or are carried around by their keeper on arms or sitting on the head. In this article, we have summarized why these “walks” or “free range” can become a problem for a chameleon and why in our opinion, chameleons should generally stay inside their cages.

The original idea of keeping reptiles in captivity is to have certain animal in your house or flat, but imitate its natural habitat as close as possible. Climate is among these natural conditions, and thanks to several different types of bulbs, cages, plants and other equipment, it is absolutely no problem to imitate a rainforest or dry forest anymore at home.

But the climate in human households is completely different: A continuous lightning and imitation of natural sunlight is not possible with some single bulbs in the living room (additionally, those bulbs would be reachable for the animals and thus represent an enormous risk of injury). In living rooms, the essential supply with UVB radiation does not work, too. Normal windows do not let UVB through, but chameleons instinctively walk there because it is the brightest place in the room. Normally, the brightest place in wilderness is the place where is plenty of warmth and UVB. But instead, in human living rooms the place in front of the window is cold and the air is dry by heating. In a cage, climate is substantially influenced by living plants. Between the plants, the humidity that is necessary for keeping a chameleon can be reached easily. But living or sleeping rooms as well as kitchens and other rooms cannot be planted densely, let alone regularly spraying with water. So a living room has always too low humidity for a chameleon.

Another problem is the temperature of the environment. In a cage, you can create temperatures dropping from top to bottom, having sunny places with warming bulbs and temperatures over 25°C available all day long. An average living room instead has a room temperature of 20 to 22°C. Reptiles are ectotherm, which means their body temperatures depend on their environment. They cannot keep a certain body temperature in a cooler environment like humans, dogs or cats do. Reptiles rely on sunny places, so their whole body and with it all metabolic processes can work.

A chameleon that is exposed to suboptimal environmental conditions again and again (here: temperature, brightness, UVB, air humidity) will develop a weakened immune system on a long-term base. It will be more prone to diseases. Even after years, this “free range” keeping inside living rooms or on windowsills can still lead to diseases. Sadly, lately recognized pneumonias are quite common among chameleons kept this way.

More reasons that argue against keeping chameleons outside their cages or let them run around in the house:

Chameleons are extremely well climbers and can reach the most impossible locations. Desk lamps, bottles and other stuff fall over if a chameleon tries to climb up on it. Mostly, the stuff falls down completely including the chameleon. Tilted windows or slammed doors may become sources of danger easily. In worst case, these end deadly for such a relatively small animal like a chameleon. It does not need to be a hot plate or a predator such as a dog or cat – the average living room already offers plenty of opportunities to injure a chameleon. You can completely avoid all these dangers by keeping your chameleon in a cage.

But chameleons are not only exposed to many sources of danger in rooms, they can also easily “disappear” behind wardrobes, under or even in couches or other allegedly inaccesable places. This may sound strange for a moment, but that is reality. Many chameleon keepers that had their animal running around in living areas already spent hours to find their animal again.

If you keep a chameleon completely or mainly outside a cage, you also take away one of the already limited opportunities for environmental enrichment by feeders. In a cage, the reptile has to hunt for its feeders, but noone wants to have crickets and roaches run around freely in his living room for sure.

“He tries to come out!” –  An often completely falsely interpreted behaviour.

Often, chameleon keeper say that their animal “wants” to go out, that it even scratches the glass. Usually, this chameleon does not look for “the new habitat living room”, but for the brightest place nearby – often this is a window with direct sun rays coming in. In these cases, the cage has a problem: The lightning might be too dark, there may be too less UVB radiation or temperatures are not adequate. A too small or insufficiently equipped cage can also make a chameleon look for a “better” place. It follows its instincts, but cannot know that a living room is an even less suitable place than its obviously suboptimal cage. This is the point when we as keepers need to improve the cage instead of leaving the chameleon “roam freely” around. By the way, chameleons do not recognize glass walls, because nature has not any. And since they learn slowely, they often try rigidly for a long time again and again to get over the invisible barrier. As a keeper, you can find a remedy by making the cage borders “visible” for your animal. This way the problem is quickly solved. But please keep in mind to think about your cage setup, and optimize it if necessary.

Finally, keeping a reptile in living rooms is also a matter of hygiene. As non-domesticated wild animals, chameleons cannot be trained to use a certain place to defacate. So their droppings fall to the floor, on couches or kitchen tables.  This (and only this) is the only disadvantage every keeper has to decide for himself.

 

Conclusion

The often well intentioned “free range” is mostly a bad idea in chameleons. The better choice would be to create a species-appropriate equipped cage that imitates nature as close as possible. “Free roaming” in rooms is not healthy for a chameleon for sure.

If you want to offer your animal more space or some kind of climbing park, please create a larger cage or transform a complete room (with sealed walls, good plantation, rain systems etc.) into a chameleon cage. In summer, generously spaced outdoor cages are great and let the chameleon enjoy natural sunshine. This is also when the only allegeldy advantage of “free roaming” drops: That the chameleon has a larger radius of movement. Finally, size and equipment of a cage are questions of costs, but please do not try to safe money at the expense of your chameleon.

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

„Freilauf“ und Haltung im Wohnzimmer

Immer wieder tauchen im Internet Fotos auf, die Chamäleons beim „Freilauf“ im Wohnzimmer, wahlweise Schlafzimmer, Küche oder Balkon, zeigen. Dabei sitzen die Tiere auf Schränken, Gardinenstangen, laufen über den Teppich oder werden vom Besitzer auf Arm oder Kopf durch die Gegend getragen. Warum diese „Spaziergänge“ problematisch für das Chamäleon sind und weshalb ein Chamäleon unserer Meinung nach grundsätzlich in seinem Terrarium bleiben sollte, haben wir hier zusammengefasst.

Die ursprüngliche Idee der Terraristik ist es, sich ein bestimmtes Tier ins Wohnzimmer zu holen, dabei aber dessen Lebensraum der Natur so ähnlich wie möglich nachzuempfinden. Dazu zählen auch die klimatischen Begebenheiten, die man inzwischen dank unterschiedlichster im Handel erhältlicher Lampen, Terrarien, Pflanzen und anderer Utensilien gut nachstellen kann.

In von Menschen bewohnten Räumen sieht das Klima jedoch anders aus: Eine durchgehende Beleuchtung und damit eine Nachstellung des natürlichen Sonnenlichts ist selbst mit vereinzelten Lampen im Wohnzimmer nicht gegeben (zumal diese erreichbar wären und somit eine erhebliche Verletzungsgefahr darstellen würden). Auch die lebensnotwendige UV-B-Bestrahlung findet in Wohnräumen nicht statt. Normale Fenster lassen kein UV-B durch, das Chamäleon läuft aber instinktiv dorthin, wo es am hellsten ist. Normalerweise gibt es in der Natur dort Wärme und UV-B, im durchschnittlichen deutschen Wohnzimmer gibt es dort stattdessen Kälte oder trockene Heizungsluft.

Im Terrarium wird das Klima maßgeblich auch durch lebende Pflanzen bestimmt. Zwischen den Pflanzen wird die für die Haltung eines Chamäleons nötige Luftfeuchtigkeit erreicht. Wohn- oder Schlafzimmer sowie Küchen und andere Wohnräume jedoch können nicht dicht bepflanzt werden, geschweige denn regelmäßig besprüht werden. Somit herrscht im Wohnraum für ein Chamäleon eine stetig zu niedrige Luftfeuchtigkeit.

Ein weiteres Problem ist die Umgebungstemperatur. Im Terrarium kann man leicht ein Temperaturgefälle herstellen, das auch Sonnenplätze mit wärmenden Lampen und Temperaturen über 25°C anbietet. Durchschnittliche Wohnräume dagegen liegen bei 20 bis 22°C Raumtemperatur. Reptilien sind wechselwarm, passen also ihre Körpertemperatur der Umgebung an und können sie in einer kühleren Region nicht halten, wie es Menschen, Hunde und Katzen tun. Sie sind auf Sonnenplätze angewiesen, damit ihr gesamter Körper und damit alle Stoffwechselprozesse funktionieren können.

Ein Chamäleon, dass ständig oder immer wieder suboptimalen Umweltbedingungen ausgesetzt ist (hier: Temperatur, Helligkeit, UV-B, Luftfeuchtigkeit) wird langfristig ein schwächeres Immunsystem entwickeln und damit anfälliger für Krankheiten. Bei „Wohnzimmer“- oder „Fensterbank“-Chamäleons kann eine solche Haltung auch nach Jahren noch zu Erkrankungen führen, besonders häufig sind beispielsweise spät erkannte Lungenentzündungen.

Weitere Punkte, die stark gegen eine Haltung von Chamäleons außerhalb eines Terrariums oder „Freilauf“ sprechen:

Chamäleons sind extrem findig, klettern sehr gut und kommen an die unmöglichsten Orte. Schreibtischlampen, Flaschen und andere Gegenstände können jedoch leicht umfallen, wenn ein Chamäleon versucht, daran hochzuklettern. Meist fallen sie dann einfach samt dem Tier um. Auch gekippte Fenster oder zuschlagende Türen können leicht zu Gefahrenquellen werden, die bei einem relativ kleinen Tier wie einem Chamäleon im schlechtesten Fall tödlich enden. Es muss nicht gleich eine Herdplatte oder ein Beutegreifer wie Hund oder Katze sein – das durchschnittliche Wohnzimmer bietet auch so schon ausreichend Verletzungsquellen für Chamäleons. Diese kann man durch reine Terrarienhaltung vollständig vermeiden.

Chamäleons sind aber nicht nur vielen Gefahrenquellen ausgesetzt, sie können auch leicht hinter Schränken, unter oder sogar in Sofas oder anderen vermeintlich völlig unzugänglichen Orten „verschwinden“. Das mag im ersten Moment absurd klingen, ist jedoch die Realität. Sehr viele Chamäleonhalter, die ihr Tier im Wohnraum hielten, durften irgendwann schon einmal Stunden damit verbringen, das Chamäleon wiederzufinden.

Wird ein Chamäleon ausschließlich oder größtenteils außerhalb des Terrariums gehalten, so wird ihm meist auch eine der wenigen Möglichkeiten des environmental enrichments durch Futtertiere genommen. Im Terrarium muss das Tier wie in der Natur seinen Beutetieren nachstellen, im Wohnraum wird jedoch wohl kaum jemand Heimchen und Schaben frei laufen lassen wollen.

„Der kratzt ja an der Scheibe!“ – Ein oft falsch interpretiertes Verhalten.

Oft erzählen Chamäleonhalter, ihr Tier „wolle“ ja aus dem Terrarium, es kratze sogar an der Scheibe. Meist sucht das Chamäleon nicht das „Habitat Wohnzimmer“, sondern den hellsten Ort in der Nähe – oft ist das ein Fenster mit Sonneneinstrahlung. Sollte dies der Fall sein, ist der Fehler klar beim Terrarium zu suchen: Ist die Beleuchtung zu dunkel, gibt es zu wenig UV-B oder stimmen die Temperaturen nicht? Auch ein zu kleines oder unpassend eingerichtetes Terrarium kann ein Chamäleon dazu veranlassen, einen „besseren“ Platz aufsuchen zu wollen. Es folgt seinen Instinkten, kann jedoch nicht wissen, dass das Wohnzimmer ein noch ungeeigneterer Ort ist als sein offensichtlich suboptimales Terrarium. Hier sind wir als Halter gefordert, das Terrarium nachzubessern. Chamäleons kennen Glasscheiben übrigens nicht, da es in der Natur keine gibt. Sie können daher lange und unnachgiebig versuchen, durch die unsichtbare Barriere zu kommen. Auch hier sollte man als Halter Abhilfe schaffen und die entsprechenden Terrariengrenzen für das Tier „sichtbar“ machen. Damit erledigt sich das Problem schnell.

Zuletzt und abschließend ist ein Reptil im Wohnraum auch eine Frage der Hygiene. Als nicht domestizierte Wildtiere kann man Chamäleons nicht an bestimmte Stellen gewöhnen, an denen Kot und Urat abgesetzt werden sollen. Die Hinterlassenschaften landen also auf dem Boden, dem Sofa oder dem Küchentisch. Diese (und nur diese) Frage muss aber wohl jeder Halter für sich selbst klären.

 

Fazit

Der oft gut gemeinte „Freilauf“ ist bei Chamäleons leider meist keine gute Idee. Die bessere Wahl ist das artgerecht gestaltete, möglichst naturnahe Terrarium. Im Sinne des Tieres und seiner Gesundheit ist ein „Freilauf“ oder eine vollständige Haltung im Wohnzimmer sicher nicht.

Wer seinem Tier besonders viel Platz oder einen regelrechten Klettergarten anbieten möchte, der kann das mit größeren Terrarien oder zu Terrarien umgestalteten Räumen (mit versiegelten Wänden, entsprechender Bepflanzung, Regenanlagen usw.) oder im Sommer großzügigen Außengehegen ermöglichen. Damit entfällt auch der einzige vermeintliche Vorteil der Wohnraum-Haltung: Dass das Chamäleon einen deutlich größeren Bewegungsradius hat. Die Größe und Ausgestaltung des Terrariums ist letztlich vor allem eine Platz- und Kostenfrage des Halters, an der man grundsätzlich nicht auf Kosten des Tieres sparen sollte.