Furcifer minor

Furcifer minor aus dem Fundort nahe RN7 2018
Furcifer minor aus dem Fundort nahe RN7 2018
Furcifer minor aus dem Fundort nahe RN7 2018
CITES quotas
no legal export possible

First descriptions:

(Günther, 1879)

Origin of the species name:

The German zoologist Albert Carl Ludwig Gotthilf Günther, then director of the Zoological Department of the Natural History Museum of London (Great Britain), received a small collection of chameleons in the 1870s. They came from the British missionary George Andrew Shaw from Fianarantsoa. Günther described three chameleons of the collection as a new species. He considered them to be very close relatives of Furcifer bifidus, but thought the species was much smaller. Therefore he gave the new species the Latin name minor, in English “small”.

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Furcifer minor

loading map - please wait...

Ambositra: -20.533100, 47.244900
Ambatomenaloha: -19.461413, 46.134338
Betafo: -19.835000, 46.835000
Fianarantsoa: -21.453400, 47.085400
Itremo: -20.593900, 46.637100
Ambatofinandrahana: -20.550700, 46.803600

Distribution:

This chameleon species inhabits the cooler areas of the central highlands. It settles the region from Ambositra to Ivato and Itremo which is approximately 230 km south of the capital Antananarivo. We have found these animals in papaya plantings and in the sparse residues of primary forest. They are by far not as adapted to secondary vegetation as for example Furcifer lateralis. Overall, these animals are difficult to see and a rare finding.

Appearance and size:

This very attractively colored chameleon species belongs to the middle-sized chameleons and reaches sizes of 16 cm in females and up to 23 cm total length in males. Males have two noticeable nose appendages with serrated ridges and a beige-grey or brown coloration with three diagonal bright stripes at the posterior part of the body. Females are much more colorful with a green color pattern and violet spots. During gravidity, females become even more lovely colored and often show their stress coloration: Yellow stripes on almost black (dark green) background with violet spots on the flanks and red dots on the head. Both genders may have an indistinct parietal, lateral and temporal crest. The dorsal crest is only visible in the anterior part of the body with single spines. Between arms and flanks, these chameleons have two spots surrounded by black. In stressed females, those glow blueish-red. The ventral crest is few developed but has a uniformly white color.

Reproduction:

These chameleons lay 10 to 15 eggs which survive a temperature drop to 15 °C and lower during incubation. After 190 to 230 days, the small chameleon babies hatch. In captivity, this species is bred from time to time.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 21 22 20 19 17 15 14 15 16 19 20 20
Minimum temperature 17 17 16 15 12 10 10 10 11 13 15 16
Maximum temperatur 26 27 26 25 23 21 20 21 24 26 27 26
Rain days 26 23 25 19 17 18 21 21 16 17 20 24

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Ambositra is located in Madagascar's central highlands at heights of about 860 meters above sea level. Accordingly, the climate here is much cooler than climate on the coast or in the south of the island. Ambositra is said to be one of the coldest cities in Madagascar.

During the rainy season, this region reaches the highest temperatures around 25°C, sunny places may sometimes even almost reach 30°C for short. In the night, the temperature drops down to 15°C. It is raining almost every day. It's not before the dry season starts in April that precipitation declines a little. But it will not become completely "dry" here - even during the dry season, it is raining at least every second day. The dry season has even colder nights with drops to 10°C and less in some single nights. During the daytime, Ambositra only sometimes reaches 20° and more in the dry season.

2016 UVI Ambositra
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (end of March) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have not ground temperatures for Ambositra available yet.

Habitat:

Furcifer minor lives very hidden in secondary vegetation. You can find them sometimes in coffee plantations around Itremo. The trees are rather small to simplify harvest and overgrown with vines. The ground is covered by foliage and many knee-high plants surround the trees. Another habitat close to Ambositra is the residues of dry forests in a savanna-like landscape. Furcifer minor prefers gnarled, middle-sized trees here. We’ve never seen them in the grass of open areas.

Hereinafter you can find some 360° pictures from Anja Community Reserve. You can move inside these pictures via mouse click in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, a new window with an enlarged view will open. You will also have the opportunity to look at the pictures in full-screen mode. Enjoy!

Habitat von Furcifer campani zwischen Ambositra und Ranomfana, Madagaskar, März 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Furcifer minor

Furcifer minor aus dem Fundort nahe RN7 2018
Furcifer minor aus dem Fundort nahe RN7 2018
Furcifer minor aus dem Fundort nahe RN7 2018
CITES-Quoten
kein legaler Export möglich

Erstbeschreibung:

Günther, 1879

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Furcifer minor

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Ambositra: -20.533100, 47.244900
Ambatomenaloha: -19.461413, 46.134338
Betafo: -19.835000, 46.835000
Fianarantsoa: -21.453400, 47.085400
Itremo: -20.593900, 46.637100
Ambatofinandrahana: -20.550700, 46.803600

Verbreitung:

Diese Chamäleonart bewohnt die kühleren Gegenden des zentralen Hochlandes. Dabei werden die Gegenden von Ambositra bis hin nach Ivato und Itremo besiedelt, welche ca. 230 Kilometer südlich der Hauptstadt Antananarivo gelegen sind. Diese Tiere konnten wir in Papayapflanzungen und auch in den kargen Überresten des Primärwaldes finden, sie sind jedoch bei Weitem nicht so stark an Sekundärvegetation angepasst wie beispielsweise Furcifer lateralis. Insgesamt sind die Tiere schwierig zu finden und eher ein seltener Fund.

Aussehen und Größe:

Diese sehr attraktiv gefärbte Chamäleonart gehört zu den mittelgroßen Chamäleons und erreicht eine Größe von 16 cm bei den Weibchen und bis zu 23 cm Gesamtlänge bei den Männchen. Die Männchen haben zwei auffällige Nasenfortsätz mit gezackten Kämmen und sind mit einem beige-grauen oder braunen Farbkleid mit drei diagonalen, hellen Banden auf der hinteren Hälfte des Körper ausgestattet. Die Weibchen sind bunter gefärbt und haben ein grünes Farbmuster mit lilafarbenen Punkten. Während der Trächtigkeit sind die Weibchen sehr auffallend gefärbt und zeigen oft ihre Stressfärbung: Eine gelbe Bänderung auf fast schwarzem Untergrund mit violetten Punkten an den Flanken und roter Punktmusterung auf dem Kopf. Ein undeutlicher Parietal-, Lateral- und Temporalkamm kann bei beiden Geschlechtern vorhanden sein, der Rückenkamm besitzt nur im vorderen Bereich einzelne, vergrößerte Kegelschuppen. Zwischen Armen und Flanken zeigen diese Chamäleons zwei schwarz umrandete Flecken, die bei den Weibchen in Stressfärbung blau-rot leuchten. Der Bauchkamm ist nicht ausgeprägt, weist aber eine durchgehende weiße Farbe auf.

Fortpflanzung:

Diese Chamäleons legen zwischen 10 bis 15 Eier, welche im Laufe der Inkubation einen Temperatursturz bis auf 15 Grad und niedriger überstehen. Nach 190 bis 230 Tagen schlüpfen dann die kleinen Chamäleonbabys. In der Terraristik hat sich die Art bisher nur vereinzelt wiedergefunden.

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 21 22 20 19 17 15 14 15 16 19 20 20
Minimale Temperatur 17 17 16 15 12 10 10 10 11 13 15 16
Maximale Temperatur 26 27 26 25 23 21 20 21 24 26 27 26
Regentage 26 23 25 19 17 18 21 21 16 17 20 24

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Ambositra liegt im zentralen Hochland Madagaskars auf einer Höhe von rund 860 m über Meeresniveau. Entsprechend ist das Klima hier deutlich kühler als an der Küste oder im Süden der Insel.

In der Regenzeit erreicht die Region ihre Höchsttemperaturen mit um die 25°C, in der Sonne können es knapp 30°C werden. Nachts wird es jedoch empfindlich kalt mit Temperaturen um die 15°C. Es regnet dabei fast täglich, erst mit Einsetzen der Trockenzeit ab April gehen die Niederschläge ein wenig zurück. "Trocken" wird es aber nicht, es regnet auch während der Trockenzeit mindestens jeden zweiten Tag. In der Trockenzeit wird es sogar noch kälter: Tagsüber erreicht Ambositra dann nur noch mit Mühe über 20°C, und nachts sinken die Temperaturen bis auf 10°C und vereinzelt sogar darunter.

2016 UVI Ambositra

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Ende März) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Ambositra im zentralen Hochland verfügbar.

Habitat:

Furcifer minor lebt sehr versteckt in Sekundärvegetation. Man kann sie in vereinzelten Kaffeeplantagen um Itremo herum finden. Die Bäumchen sind in der Regel eher klein, um die Ernte zu erleichtern, und mit Rankpflanzen bewachsen. Der Erdboden ist von Laub bedeckt und viele kniehohe Pflanzen umgeben die Bäumchen. Ein anderer Lebensraum nahe Ambositra sind Reste von Trockenwäldern in einer savannenartigen Landschaft, wobei Furcifer minor knorrige, mittelgroße Bäume bevorzugt. Im Gras direkt im offenen Gelände haben wir sie noch nie gefunden.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus einem Habitat nahe Ambositra. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Habitat von Furcifer campani zwischen Ambositra und Ranomfana, Madagaskar, März 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove