Locale Antalaha

Get directionsExport as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Antalaha

loading map - please wait...

Antalaha -14.898660, 50.277809 Antalaha, Antsiranana, Madagascar (Directions)

Distribution of the locale Antalaha:

Antalaha is located in northeast Madagascar in region Sava. With approximately 35.000 inhabitants, it is a rather large city, but up to date it is difficult to reach. The land route leads from Ambilobe via Vohemar, but this road is hardly drivable. The following road from Vohemar to Antalaha instead is in a relatively good condition. Although Antalaha once had an airport, it has not been in use for years. So what rests is the river way from Maroantsetra by boat (about 24 hours) or from Toamasina (Tamatave, about 3 days driving time by boat). The inhabitants of Antalaha mainly subsist on the many plantations in the area which mainly harvest vanilla, but also cocoa, Ylang-Ylang or litchis.

You can find panther chameleons in Antalaha along the beach and in many, relatively open vegetation areas, sometimes even in the shrubs between the huts at the edge of the city. In south Antalaha, there flows a big river where this locale finds its natural barrier. These specimen thus cannot mix with the locale of Cap Est. West of Antalaha, the Masoala peninsula has another own locale of panther chameleons.

Appearance of the locale:

The males here wear predominantly red colours with white and partially blue colour accents. Sometimes the red colour blends into orange and green.

Weight table

Gewichtstabelle Furcifer pardalis 2018

Gewicht = weight in grams, Kopf-Rumpf-Länge = snout-vent-length in cm, Weibchen = females, Männchen = males

Since 2015 we have been measuring the weights of chameleons we have found in Madagascar, as far as the animals (and our scales) are participating. So far there are only a few weights, in the long term an average weight in relation to the snout-vent-length It is important to know that all weights were measured towards the end of the rainy season (= best food supply), so they are probably maximum weights in Madagascar. Triangular symbols in females do not mean pregnant, round symbols mean pregnant. In the case of Furcifer pardalis, contrary to our original assumption, there have been no serious differences in the ratio of SVL to the weight of the individual locales.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 21 23 24 23 25 22 22 22 22 24 25 27
Minimum temperature 21 21 21 20 20 17 17 16 17 18 20 20
Maximum temperature 29 29 29 29 28 26 26 27 38 38 29 30
Rain days 24 26 23 15 18 17 15 13 17 10 18 25

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

In Antalaha, it is warm with temperatures around 25°C all year long. In sunny places, temperatures may reach above 30°C easily. In the night, temperature drops a little, but in rainy season does not fall below 20°C. In dry season from April to September, climate is somewhat cooler, at night and during the day.

In Antalaha, it rains a lot and daily during rainy season, sometimes even without a stop for days. Humidity increases enormously and makes chameleons mate. From April on, it rains less but still on a regular base, so Antalaha always remains green.

Unfortunately, we have no UVB indices for Antalaha available yet.
Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Antalaha available yet.

Habitat:

The habitat of panther chameleons in Antalaha solely consists of secondary vegetation. Shrubs, bushes, fruit trees and tamarinds – they use everything that offers enough coverage and is well to climb.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Lokalform Antalaha

Wegbeschreibung berechnenAls KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Antalaha

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Antalaha -14.898660, 50.277809 Antalaha, Antsiranana, Madagascar (Routenplaner)

Verbreitung der Lokalform Antalaha:

Antalaha liegt im Nordosten Madagaskars in der Region Sava. Mit rund 35.000 Einwohnern ist es eine recht große Stadt, aber aktuell nur sehr schwierig zu erreichen. Der Landweg führt von Ambilobe über Vohemar, wobei diese Strecke nahezu nicht befahrbar ist. Die darauffolgende Straße von Vohemar nach Antalaha befindet sich in relativ gutem Zustand. Da der Flughafen von Antalaha nicht benutzbar ist, bleibt nur der Flussweg von Maroantsetra (rund 24 h) oder Toamasina (Tamatave, rund 3 Tage Fahrtzeit). Die Einwohner Antalahas leben vor allem von den vielen Plantagen in der Gegend, auf denen vorwiegend Vanille, aber auch Kakao, Ylang-Ylang oder Litschis angebaut werden.

Pantherchamäleons findet man in Antalaha entlang des Strandes und auf vielen, relativ offenen Grünflächen, durchaus auch mal im ein oder anderen Gestrüpp zwischen den Hütten. Im Süden Antalahas verläuft ein großer Fluss, der Onive, so dass diese Lokalform hier eine natürliche Grenze findet und sich nicht mit den Tieren von Cap Est vermischt. Im Westen grenzt sich die Halbinsel Masoala mit einer eigenen Lokalform von Pantherchamäleons ab.

Aussehen der Lokalform:

Die Männchen tragen hier ein überwiegend rotes Farbkleid mit weißen und teilweise blauen Farbakzenten. Das Rot geht teils in Orange und Grün über.

Gewichtstabelle

Gewichtstabelle Furcifer pardalis 2018

Seit 2015 messen wir die Gewichte von uns gefundener Chamäleons auf Madagaskar, soweit die Tiere (und unsere Waagen) mitmachen. Bisher sind es nur wenige Gewichte, langfristig soll sich aus einer möglichst großen Anzahl Messungen ein durchschnittliches Gewicht im Verhältnis zur Kopf-Rumpf-Länge (gemessen von der Nasenspitze bis zur Kloake) für jede Art ablesen lassen. Wichtig zu wissen ist, dass alle Gewichte gegen Ende der Regenzeit (= bestes Futterangebot) gemessen wurde, es dürfte sich also um Maximalgewichte auf Madagaskar handeln. Dreieckige Symbole bei Weibchen bedeuten nicht trächtig, runde Symbole bedeuten trächtig. Bei Furcifer pardalis hat sich bisher entgegen unserer ursprünglichen Annahme heraus gestellt, dass es keine gravierenden Unterschiede im Verhältnis der KRL zum Gewicht zwischen den einzelnen Lokalformen gibt.

 

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 21 23 24 23 25 22 22 22 22 24 25 27
Minimale Temperatur 21 21 21 20 20 17 17 16 17 18 20 20
Maximale Temperatur 29 29 29 29 28 26 26 27 38 38 29 30
Regentage 24 26 23 15 18 17 15 13 17 10 18 25

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

In Antalaha ist es ganzjährig warm mit Temperaturen um die 25°C. In der Sonne kann die Temperatur gut über die 30°C gehen. Nachts sinkt die Temperatur etwas ab, geht aber in der Regenzeit nicht unter 20°C. In der Trockenzeit von April bis September wird es etwas kühler, sowohl nachts als auch tagsüber.

In Antalaha regnet es während der Regenzeit täglich sehr ergiebig, teils sogar tagelang durch. Dadurch steigt die Luftfeuchtigkeit enorm an, was die Chamäleons in Paarungsstimmung bringt. Ab April regnet es etwas weniger, aber immernoch sehr regelmäßig, so dass es in Antalaha immer grün bleibt.

Leider sind noch keine UVB-Indizes für Antalaha verfügbar.
Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Antalaha verfügbar.

Habitat:

Der Lebensraum der Pantherchamäleons in Antalaha besteht fast ausschließlich aus Sekundärvegetation. Sträuche, Büsche, Obstbäume und Tamarinden – es wird alles genutzt, was Deckung bietet und zum Klettern geeignet ist.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove