Local form Nosy Mangabe

Get directionsExport as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Nosy Mangabe

loading map - please wait...

Nosy Mangabe -15.495200, 49.768150 Nosy Mangabe Reserve, Madagaskar (Directions)

Distribution of the local form Nosy Mangabe:

Nosy Mangabe (translated as “very beautiful island”) is an island with a size of 5,2 km² that is situated a few kilometers southeast of Maroantsetra in Antongil Bay. You can reach it from Maroantsetra by boat in less than half an hour. The island is a special reserve for Aye-Ayes and part of Masoala national park, which is located vis-à-vis. It is completely covered by rainforest, but the west side has a nice golden-colored beach. Due to its remote location, only very few travelers visit this island, and we are some of the hand full of people that stay overnight there every year.

Appearance of this local form:

As an island form, a very color-faithful local form has developed here, which shows only little variation in itself. The males are quasi “divided in two” on the whole body: They carry green colors on the body above the white lateral stripe, below the lateral stripe they are red. The bridge of the nose and helmet is green, and the throat pouch and eyelids are red. In adult males, the banding on the body, which other local forms show clearly, is only faintly visible or somewhat more obvious when excited.

In Madagascar, it is illegal to catch animals in protected areas or even inside national parks. If you find this local form outside Madagascar, you can be sure that the chameleon was either illegally exported or is not from this local form. In most cases, the offered animals are simply sold under the wrong local form name to raise the prices.

Weight table

Gewichtstabelle Furcifer pardalis 2018

Gewicht = weight in grams, Kopf-Rumpf-Länge = snout-vent-length in cm, Weibchen = females, Männchen = males

Since 2015, we have been measuring the weights of chameleons found by us in Madagascar, as far as the animals (and our scales) participate. In the long term, we aim to obtain an average weight in relation to snout-vent-length (measured from the tip of the nose to the cloaca) for each species from as many measurements as possible. It is important to know that all weights were measured towards the end of the rainy season (= best food supply), so these should be maximum weights on Madagascar. Triangular symbols in females mean not pregnant, round symbols mean pregnant. In Furcifer pardalis, contrary to our original assumption, it has so far turned out that there are no serious differences in the ratio of SVL to weight between the individual local forms.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 24 25 24 24 23 21 20 20 21 22 23 24
Minimum temperature 20 21 20 20 18 17 16 16 17 17 19 20
Maximum temperature 28 29 28 28 27 25 25 25 25 27 27 28
Rain days 26 23 25 19 17 18 21 21 16 17 20 24

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Climate on Nosy Mangabe is a very humid place. It is raining all year long with especially intense precipitation during rainy season. The rainforest of this island reaches right to the edge of the beach, and is an old forest with many huge trees and much undergrowth.

Temperatures on Nosy Mangabe are rather constant all over the year with few variation. Temperatures during daytime reach 25°C, in rainy season they might be around 30°C. Instead dry season has cooler temperatures, but only few °C less: It is still warm with around 25°C during the day. At night, temperature drops only few degrees.

2015 UVI Nosy Mangabe
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (end of March) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Nosy Mangabe available yet.

Habitat:

The easiest way to find panther chameleons on Nosy Mangabe is to walk along the beach during low tide. They can often be found exposed on low branches in the trees hanging over the beach. The whole ground of the island is sandy and except the beach everywhere covered with lots of foliage. The rainforest is dense, old and lush. Lianas thick as arms can be found all around the island. Some bamboo groves exist, but panther chameleons avoid these. Some streams run through the area and there are some rocky parts.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Lokalform Nosy Mangabe

Wegbeschreibung berechnenAls KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Nosy Mangabe

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Nosy Mangabe -15.495200, 49.768150 Nosy Mangabe Reserve, Madagaskar (Routenplaner)

Verbreitung der Lokalform Nosy Mangabe:

Nosy Mangabe (übersetzt „sehr schöne Insel“) ist eine rund 5,2 km² große Insel, die wenige Kilometer südöstlich von Maroantsetra in der Bucht von Antongil liegt. Mit dem Motorboot von Maroantsetra aus erreicht man die Insel in weniger als einer Stunde. Die Insel ist Spezialreservat für Aye-Ayes und Teil des Nationalparks Masoala, der direkt gegenüber liegt. Sie ist vollständig von Regenwald bedeckt, auf der Westseite gibt es jedoch einen goldfarbenen Strand. Auf Grund der etwas abgelegenen Lage kommen nur wenige Reisende im Jahr hierher, und wir gehören zu der kleinen Hand voll Menschen, die überhaupt mal dort übernachtet.

Aussehen der Lokalform:

Als Inselform hat sich hier eine sehr farbtreue Lokalform entwickelt, die in sich nur wenig Variation aufweist. Die Männchen haben einen grünen Rücken mit rotem Bauch, der teils Einschläge von Gelb zeigt.

Es ist auf Madagaskar illegal, Tiere aus geschützten Gebieten oder gar Nationalparks zu entnehmen. Wer diese Lokalform außerhalb Madagaskars findet, kann sicher sein, dass die Chamäleons entweder illegal exportiert wurden oder es sich nicht um diese Lokalform handelt. In fast allen Fällen handelt es sich schlicht um Tiere anderer Lokalformen, die unter falschem Namen verkauft werden, um den Preis zu steigern.

Gewichtstabelle

Gewichtstabelle Furcifer pardalis 2018

Seit 2015 messen wir die Gewichte von uns gefundener Chamäleons auf Madagaskar, soweit die Tiere (und unsere Waagen) mitmachen. Bisher sind es nur wenige Gewichte, langfristig soll sich aus einer möglichst großen Anzahl Messungen ein durchschnittliches Gewicht im Verhältnis zur Kopf-Rumpf-Länge (gemessen von der Nasenspitze bis zur Kloake) für jede Art ablesen lassen. Wichtig zu wissen ist, dass alle Gewichte gegen Ende der Regenzeit (= bestes Futterangebot) gemessen wurde, es dürfte sich also um Maximalgewichte auf Madagaskar handeln. Dreieckige Symbole bei Weibchen bedeuten nicht trächtig, runde Symbole bedeuten trächtig. Bei Furcifer pardalis hat sich bisher entgegen unserer ursprünglichen Annahme heraus gestellt, dass es keine gravierenden Unterschiede im Verhältnis der KRL zum Gewicht zwischen den einzelnen Lokalformen gibt.

 

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 24 25 24 24 23 21 20 20 21 22 23 24
Minimale Temperatur 20 21 20 20 18 17 16 16 17 17 19 20
Maximale Temperatur 28 29 28 28 27 25 25 25 25 27 27 28
Regentage 26 23 25 19 17 18 21 21 16 17 20 24

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Das Klima auf Nosy Mangabe ist vor allem sehr feucht. Es regnet das ganze Jahr über mit besonders intensiven Niederschlägen während der Regenzeit. Der Regenwald auf der Insel reicht bis zum Strand, und ist durch die Isolation als Insel alt, mit riesigen Bäumen und viel Unterholz.

Die Temperaturen auf Nosy Mangabe sind das ganze Jahr über recht ähnlich mit nur kleinen Schwankungen. DIe Temperaturen gehen tagsüber an die 25°C und erreichen in der Regenzeit auch mal die 30°C. Dafür wird es in der Trockenzeit ein wenig kühler, allerdings nur wenige Grad: Mit 25°C tagsüber bleibt es immernoch recht warm. Nachts gehen die Temperaturen auf der Insel in der Regel nur um wenige Grad herunter.

2015 UVI Nosy Mangabe

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Ende März) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Nosy Mangabe verfügbar.

Habitat:

Die Pantherchamäleons auf Nosy Mangabe findet man am einfachsten entlang des Strandes, da sie sich dort meist recht exponiert im niedrigen Geäst aufhalten. Der gesamte Boden der Insel ist sandig, abgesehen vom Strand aber überall mit viel Laub bedeckt. Der Regenwald ist dicht, alt und üppig bewachsen. Armdicke Lianen findet man überall. Ein paar Bambushaine existieren auch auf der Insel, werden aber von den Pantherchamäleons gemieden. Durch den Regenwald verlaufen etliche kleine Bäche und es gibt einige sehr felsige Bereiche.

 

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove