Browsing Tags

Andasibe

Calumma brevicorne

Calumma brevicorne

First description: (Günther, 1879) Origin of the species name: The German zoologist Albert Carl Ludwig Gotthilf Günther, then director of the Zoological Department of the Natural History Museum of London (Great Britain), borrowed the...

Calumma cucullatum

First description: (Gray, 1831) Origin of the species name: The English zoologist John Edward Gray was very brief in his description of this chameleon species: it consists of just keywords instead of a coherent...
Furcifer bifidus in Vavatenina 2018 (1)

Furcifer bifidus

First description: (Brongniart, 1800) Origin of the species name: The French zoologist and geologist Alexandre Brongniart taught about mineralogy at the Natural History Museum in Paris (France), but was also interested in reptiles and...
Calumma gastrotaenia aus Anjozorobe 2018

Calumma gastrotaenia

First description: (Boulenger, 1888) Origin of the species name: The Belgian zoologist George Alber Boulenger, at that time working at the Natural History Museum in London (Great Britain), probably named this chameleon species after...
Brookesia superciliaris in Mitsinjo 2018

Brookesia superciliaris

First description: (Kuhl, 1820) Origin of the species name: The ornithologist Dr. Heinrich Kuhl from Francfort (Germany) named this chameleon species after its immediately recognizable, conspicuous bony projections above the eyes. The Latin word...

Brookesia therezieni

  First description: Brygoo & Domergue, 1970 Origin of the species name: Édouard-Raoul Brygoo (later working at the Natural History Museum in Paris, France) and Charles Antoine Domergue of the then Institut Pasteur in...
Brookesia thieli in Ranomafana 2018

Brookesia thieli

First description: Brygoo & Domergue, 1969 Origin of the species’ name: Édouard-Raoul Brygoo (later working at the Natural History Museum in Paris, France) and Charles Antoine Domergue of the then Institut Pasteur in Antananarivo,...
Calumma malthe in Maromizaha 2018

Calumma malthe

First description: (Günther, 1879) Origin of the species name: The German zoologist Albert Carl Ludwig Gotthilf Günther, then Director of the Zoological Department of the Natural History Museum of London (Great Britain), named Calumma...
Calumma nasutum

Calumma nasutum

First description: (Duméril & Bibron, 1836) Origin of the species name: The zoologist André Marie Constant Duméril, then head of herpetology at the Natural History Museum of Paris (France), together with his assistant Gabriel...
Calumma parsonii cristifer

Calumma parsonii cristifer

First description: (Methuen & Hewitt, 1913) Origin of the species name: The English zoologist Paul Ayshford Methuen, 4th Baron Methuen, and the South African zoologist John Hewitt gave this subspecies of the Parsons Chameleon...

Browsing Tags

Andasibe

Calumma brevicorne

Calumma brevicorne

Erstbeschreibung: (Günther, 1879) Herkunft des Artnamens: Der deutsche Zoologe Albert Carl Ludwig Gotthilf Günther, damals Direktor der Zoologischen Abteilung des Naturhistorischen Museums von London (Großbritannien), entlehnte den Namen dieser Chamäleonart dem Lateinischen. Brevis cornu,...

Calumma cucullatum

Erstbeschreibung: (Gray, 1831) Herkunft des Artnamens: Der englische Zoologe John Edward Gray hielt sich mit der Beschreibung dieser Chamäleonart sehr kurz: Sie umfasst gerade einmal Stichworte statt eines zusammenhängenden Satzes. 1831 war Gray gerade...
Furcifer bifidus in Vavatenina 2018 (1)

Furcifer bifidus

Erstbeschreibung: (Brongniart, 1800) Herkunft des Artnamens: Der französische Zoologe und Geologe Alexandre Brongniart lehrte unter anderem am Naturhistorischen Paris (Frankreich) über Mineralogie, interessierte sich aber auch für Reptilien und Amphibien. 1800 beschrieb er an...
Brookesia superciliaris in Mitsinjo 2018

Brookesia superciliaris

Erstbeschreibung: (Kuhl, 1820) Herkunft des Artnamens: Der Ornithologe Dr. Heinrich Kuhl aus Frankfurt am Main benannte diese Chamäleonart nach ihren sofort erkennbaren, auffälligen knöchernen Fortsätzen über den Augen. Das lateinische Wort supercilium bedeutet so...

Brookesia therezieni

Erstbeschreibung: Brygoo & Domergue, 1970 Herkunft des Artnamens: Édouard-Raoul Brygoo und Charles Antoine Domergue vom damaligen Institut Pasteur in Antananarivo, Madagaskar, benannten die Art nach dem Biologen Yves Thérézien. Jean Thiel hatte 1967 Tiere...
Brookesia thieli in Ranomafana 2018

Brookesia thieli

Erstbeschreibung: Brygoo & Domergue, 1969 Herkunft des Namens: Édouard-Raoul Brygoo (später tätig im Naturhistorischen Museum Paris, Frankreich) und Charles Antoine Domergue vom damaligen Institut Pasteur in Antananarivo, Madagaskar, benannten die Art nach dem Botaniker...
Calumma gastrotaenia aus Anjozorobe 2018

Calumma gastrotaenia

Erstbeschreibung: (Boulenger, 1888) Herkunft des Artnamens: Der belgische Zoologe George Alber Boulenger, zu dieser Zeit tätig am Naturhistorischen Museum in London (Großbritannien), benannte diese Chamäleonart wahrscheinlich nach dem Lateinischen gastro taenia, was sich etwa...
Calumma malthe in Maromizaha 2018

Calumma malthe

Erstbeschreibung: (Günther, 1879) Herkunft des Artnamens: Der deutsche Zoologe Albert Carl Ludwig Gotthilf Günther, damals Direktor der Zoologischen Abteilung des Naturhistorischen Museums von London (Großbritannien), benannte Calumma malthe 1879 in einer sehr kurzen Beschreibung....
Calumma nasutum

Calumma nasutum

Erstbeschreibung: (Duméril & Bibron, 1836) Herkunft des Artnamens: Der Zoologe André Marie Constant Duméril, damals Leiter der Herpetologie am Naturhistorischen Museum von Paris (Frankreich), benannte zusammen mit seinem Assistenten Gabriel Bibron diese Chamäleonart nach...
Calumma parsonii cristifer

Calumma parsonii cristifer

Erstbeschreibung: (Methuen & Hewitt, 1913) Herkunft des Artnamens: Der englische Zoologe Paul Ayshford Methuen, 4. Baron Methuen, und der südafrikanische Zoologe John Hewitt gaben dieser Unterart des Parsons Chamäleon den Namen cristifer. Beide arbeiteten...