Browsing Tags

Masoala

Brookesia betschi

First description: Brygoo, Blanc & Domergue, 1970 Origin of the species name: Édouard-Raoul Brygoo, Charles Pierre Blanc and Charles Antoine Domergue of the then Institut Pasteur in Antananarivo, Madagascar dedicated the species to Jean-Marie...

Frequently asked questions about local forms

There are some questions we have been asked again and again, so we set up this page to collect all those. If you think there might be more questions, we would be glad to...

Brookesia griveaudi

First description: Brygoo, Blanc & Domergue, 1974 Origin of the species name: Édouard-Raoul Brygoo (later working at the Natural History Museum in Paris, France), Charles Pierre Blanc and Charles Antoine Domergue from the then...
Calumma parsonii green giant

Color variation “green giant”

Distribution: Masoala national park is located at the eponymic peninsula in northeast Madagascar. At the northern end of the Antongil Bay, also called the “cradle of whales”, there is the small coastal town Maroantsetra....
Brookesia vadoni

Brookesia vadoni

First description: Brygoo & Domergue, 1968 Origin of the species name: Édouard-Raoul Brygoo and Charles Antoine Domergue were brought two Brookesia vadoni to the Institut Pasteur in Antananarivo in 1967 by the two entomologists...
Calumma radamanus, Nosy Mangabe 2015

Calumma radamanus

First description: Mertens, 1933 Origin of the species name: The German biologist Robert Friedrich Wilhelm Mertens, later director of the Senckenberg Research Institute and Natural History Museum in Francfort (Germany), named this chameleon species...

Local form Cap Est

Distribution of the local form: Cap Est (French name for Cape East) is located on the east coast of Madagascar in the immediate vicinity of Masoala National Park. It is not a village, but...

Local form Mananara

Distribution of the local form Mananara: On Madagascar’s east coast, directly across from Masoala national park at Antongil bay, there is Mananara Nord national park. It belongs to Analanjirofo region and is only accessible...

Local form Maroantsetra

Distribution of the local form Maroantsetra: Maroantsetra is a city in Analanjirofo region on Madagascar’s eastcoast. It is located at the northern end of Antongil bay and thus starting point of journeys to Masoala...

Browsing Tags

Masoala

Häufig gestellte Fragen zu Lokalformen

Hier haben wir eine Sammlung an Fragen beantwortet, die wir immer wieder gestellt bekommen. Sollten weitere Fragen hierher passen, freuen wir uns über eine E-Mail. Um direkt zu den Fragen zu springen einfach auf...
Brookesia griveaudi

Brookesia griveaudi

Erstbeschreibung: Brygoo, Blanc & Domergue, 1974 Herkunft des Artnamens: Édouard-Raoul Brygoo (später tätig im Naturhistorischen Museum Paris, Frankreich), Charles Pierre Blanc und Charles Antoine Domergue vom damaligen Institut Pasteur in Antananarivo, Madagaskar widmeten die...
Calumma parsonii green giant

Farbvariante „green giant“

Verbreitung: Der Nationalpark Masoala liegt auf der gleichnamigen Halbinsel im Nordosten Madagaskars. Am nördlichen Ende der Bucht von Antongil, auch als „Wiege der Wale“ bezeichnet, liegt die kleine Küstenstadt Maroansetra. Zugänglich ist die Gegend...
Brookesia vadoni

Brookesia vadoni

Erstbeschreibung: Brygoo & Domergue, 1968 Herkunft des Artnamens: Édouard-Raoul Brygoo und Charles Antoine Domergue bekamen 1967 von den beiden Entomologen Jean-Pierre Léopold Vadon und  Jean-Marie Betsch zwei Brookesia vadoni ins Institut Pasteur nach Antananarivo...
Calumma radamanus, Nosy Mangabe 2015

Calumma radamanus

Erstbeschreibung: (Mertens, 1933) Herkunft des Artnamens: Der deutsche Biologe Robert Friedrich Wilhelm Mertens, später Direktor des Forschungsinstitutes und Naturmuseums Senckenberg in Frankfurt am Main, benannte diese Chamäleonart nach ihrem Fundort, dem Col de Pierre...

Lokalform Cap Est

Verbreitung der Lokalform Cap Est: Cap Est liegt an der Ostküste Madagaskars in unmittelbarer Nähe zum Nationalpark Masoala. Es handelt sich hierbei nicht um ein Dorf, sondern um die Bezeichnung des östlichsten Zipfels Madagaskars,...

Lokalform Mananara

Verbreitung der Lokalform Mananara: An der Ostküste Madagaskars, direkt gegenüber dem Masoala Nationalpark an der Bucht von Antongil, liegt der Nationalpark Mananara Nord. Er gehört zur Region Analanjirofo und ist ausschließlich auf dem Wasserweg...

Lokalform Maroantsetra

Verbreitung der Lokalform Maroantsetra: Maroantsetra ist eine Stadt in der Region Analanjirofo an der Ostküste Madagaskars. Es liegt im nördlichen Ende der Bucht von Antongil und ist damit Ausgangspunkt für Ausflüge in den Masoala...