Browsing Tags

UV-B

Furcifer minor aus dem Fundort nahe RN7 2018

Furcifer minor

First descriptions: Günther, 1879 Distribution: This chameleon species inhabits the coolere areas of the central highlands. It settles the region from Ambositra to Ivato and Itremo which is approximately 230 km south of the...
Furcifer nicosiai in Kirindy 2017

Furcifer nicosiai

First description: Jesu, Mattioli & Schimmenti, 1999 Distribution: Furcifer nicosiai only occurs in dry, hot western Madagascar. The rainy season in these dry forests is restricted to few months a year. This species is...
Furcifer oustaleti

Furcifer oustaleti

First description: Mocquard, 1894 Distribution: Furcifer oustaleti can be found almost all over Madagascar and is probably the most common chameleon of Madagascar. There are no prefered habitats, this species is enormously adaptable. We...
Furcifer petteri

Furcifer petteri

First description: Brygoo & Domergue, 1966 Distribution: Furcifer petteri belongs to bifidus group and can mainly be cound in northern Madagascar. Ankarana and Amber Mountain national park are typical habitats for this species, but...
Furcifer rhinoceratus in Ankarafantsika 2017

Furcifer rhinoceratus

First description: Gray, 1845 Distribution: This chameleon species is found almost exclusively in the forests of Ankarafantsika and Ampijoroa in north-western Madagascar, about 150 kilometres from the coastal town of Mahajanga. The animals live...

Furcifer timoni

First description: Glaw, 2010 Distribution: This beautiful chameleon species only occurs in the mountain rainforests of north and northeast Madagascar. Among the distribution area are Marojejy and Amber Mountain national parks. Here you can...
Calumma fallax

Calumma fallax

First description: Mocquard, 1900 Distribution: Calumma fallax is found in the rainforests of the southern highlands of Madagascar, mainly in the Ranomafana National Park. Appearance and size: Calumma fallax belongs to the smaller chameleons...
Calumma gallus in Vohimana 2018

Calumma gallus

First description: Günther, 1877 Distribution: Calumma gallus inhabits east and northeast Madagascar. The can be found along secondary vegetation with a high percentage of ferns. Mostly they live in habitats on steep slopes that...

Calumma gastrotaenia

First description: Boulenger, 1888 Distribution: Calumma gastrotaenia belongs to the chameleon species that prefer living in the dense rainforests of the eastern highlands. We could find this chameleon species at elevations of 1200 meters...
Calumma globifer in Mandraka 2018

Calumma globifer

First description: Günther, 1879 Distribution: Calumma globifer has its distribution area in the residual rainforests of the central highlands. You can find this chameleon species east of Antananarivo in the area around Mandraka and...

Browsing Tags

UV-B

Brookesia tuberculata

Brookesia tuberculata

Erstbeschreibung: Mocquard, 1894 Herkunft des Artnamens: Der Zoologe François Mocquard vom Naturhistorischen Museum Paris (Frankreich) entlehnte den Artnamen vom Lateinischen tubercula, was so viel wie „viele Beulen“ bedeutet. Er hielt in seiner Artbeschreibung die...
Furcifer minor aus dem Fundort nahe RN7 2018

Furcifer minor

Erstbeschreibung: (Günther, 1879) Herkunft des Artnamens: Der deutsche Zoologe Albert Carl Ludwig Gotthilf Günther, damals Direktor der Zoologischen Abteilung des Naturhistorischen Museums von London (Großbritannien), erhielt in den 1870er Jahren eine kleine Sammlung von...
Furcifer nicosiai in Kirindy 2017

Furcifer nicosiai

Erstbeschreibung: Jesu, Mattioli & Schimmenti, 1999 Herkunft des Artnamens: Die drei italienischen Biologen Riccardo Jesu, Fabio Mattioli und Giovanni Schimmenti vom Aquarium Genua (Italien) widmeten die Art Guido Nicosia, damals Botschafter Italiens in Madagaskar....

Furcifer oustaleti

Erstbeschreibung: (Mocquard, 1894) Herkunft des Artnamens: Der Zoologe François Mocquard vom Naturhistorischen Museum Paris (Frankreich) bekam in den 1890er Jahren Chamäleons von M. Catat, dem Entomologen Charles Alluaud und Belly zugeschickt. Er widmete die...
Furcifer petteri

Furcifer petteri

Erstbeschreibung: (Brygoo & Domergue, 1966) Herkunft des Artnamens: 1966 erhielten die Zoologen Édouard-Raoul Brygoo und Charles Antoine Domergue vom Naturhistorischen Museum in Paris (Frankreich) verschiedene Reptilien. Gesendet hatte sie  Jean-Jacques Petter, der gerade zu...
Furcifer rhinoceratus in Ankarafantsika 2017

Furcifer rhinoceratus

Erstbeschreibung: (Gray, 1845) Herkunft des Artnamens: Der englische Zoologe John Edward Gray beschrieb die Art sehr kurz und benannte sie nach dem Lateinischen rhinoceros, das bedeutet Nashorn. Er meinte damit die bei beiden Geschlechtern...

Furcifer timoni

Erstbeschreibung: Glaw, Köhler & Vences 2009 Herkunft des Artnamens: Der deutsche Herpetologe Frank Glaw widmete diese Art seinem Sohn Timon. Frank Glaw arbeitet in der Zoologischen Staatssammlung München und ist für eine Vielzahl von...
Calumma gallus in Vohimana 2018

Calumma gallus

Erstbeschreibung: (Günther, 1877) Herkunft des Artnamens: Der deutsche Zoologe Albert Carl Ludwig Gotthilf Günther, damals Direktor der Zoologischen Abteilung des Naturhistorischen Museums von London (Großbritannien), beschrieb diese Chamäleonart in wenigen Sätzen. Warum er das...
Calumma gastrotaenia aus Anjozorobe 2018

Calumma gastrotaenia

Erstbeschreibung: (Boulenger, 1888) Herkunft des Artnamens: Der belgische Zoologe George Alber Boulenger, zu dieser Zeit tätig am Naturhistorischen Museum in London (Großbritannien), benannte diese Chamäleonart wahrscheinlich nach dem Lateinischen gastro taenia, was sich etwa...
Calumma globifer in Mandraka 2018

Calumma globifer

Erstbeschreibung: (Günther, 1879) Herkunft des Artnamens: Der deutsche Zoologe Albert Carl Ludwig Gotthilf Günther, damals Direktor der Zoologischen Abteilung des Naturhistorischen Museums von London (Großbritannien), entlehnte den Namen dieser Chamäleonart dem Lateinischen. Globus bedeutet...