Furcifer oustaleti

Furcifer oustaleti in Ambalavao 2017
Furcifer oustaleti in Kirindy 2017
Furcifer oustaleti in Kirindy 2017
Furcifer oustaleti in Antsirabe 2017
Furcifer oustaleti
Furcifer oustaleti
Furcifer oustaleti
Furcifer oustaleti
Furcifer oustaleti aus Ankarafantsika
Furcifer oustaleti aus Ankify
Furcifer oustaleti aus Antsohihy
Furcifer oustaleti
Furcifer oustaleti
Furcifer oustaleti nahe Ankaramibe, female 2019
Furcifer oustaleti
CITES quotas
2011-21 each 2000 specimens for legal export

First description:

(Mocquard, 1894)

Origin of the species name:

The zoologist François Mocquard of the Natural History Museum in Paris (France) received chameleons in the 1890s from M. Catat, the entomologist Charles Alluaud and Belly. He probably dedicated the new species to his colleague, the ornithologist Jean-Frédéric Émile Oustalet.

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Furcifer oustaleti

loading map - please wait...

Antananarivo: -18.910000, 47.525600
Mandraka: -18.911900, 47.920000
Ambatolampy: -19.385400, 47.426900
Ambositra: -20.533100, 47.244900
Isalo: -22.512557, 45.302124
Kirindy: -20.060151, 44.666319
Zombitse-Vohibasia: -22.886100, 44.691400
Ankarafantsika: -16.246320, 46.963806
Antsohihy: -14.877500, 47.987100
Ankaramibe: -14.018400, 48.159700
Ankify: -13.557800, 48.367400
Ambovombe: -25.178400, 46.087800
Ampasimbe: -18.967300, 48.680000
Andafiabe: -12.527700, 49.405100
Andapa: -14.662200, 49.651700
Ankarana: -12.893473, 49.154320
Antsiranana: -12.277900, 49.291300
Ivohibe: -22.481000, 46.888100
Joffreville: -12.497400, 49.202500
Lac Alaotra: -17.823700, 48.426700
Maevatanana: -16.949600, 46.828200
Maroantsetra: -15.434900, 49.742300
Marovoay: -16.111100, 46.641700
Montagne des Francais: -12.458703, 49.200268
Sambava: -14.255000, 50.155700
Tolagnaro: -25.030000, 46.966300
Toliara: -23.354200, 43.669700
Ambalavao: -21.832000, 46.937500
Marovoay: -16.108800, 46.642000
Itremo: -20.593900, 46.637100
Amborompotsy: -20.610600, 46.247800
Ihosy: -22.404600, 46.127200
Morafenobe: -17.818400, 44.925500
Antseza: -16.224399, 45.878906
Namoroka: -16.451561, 45.335083
Tsiombikibo: -15.952747, 45.727844

Distribution:

Furcifer oustaleti can be found almost all over Madagascar and is probably the most common chameleon of Madagascar. There are no preferred habitats, this species is enormously adaptable. We find individuals each year in the middle of dry forest, along the edges of national roads, in gardens of human settlements as well as close to rainforests or plantations. They seem to be able to get along with various living conditions and survive well in secondary vegetation. We have even seen Furcifer oustaleti individuals climbing on walls right in the middle of the inner city of Antananarivo and Antsirabe.

Appearance and size:

Furcifer oustaleti is among the largest chameleons of Madagascar, thus it is also called “Malagasy giant chameleon”. Total length in males reaches almost 70 cm, and females grow up to approximately 40 cm. The largest individuals we have seen – with really impressive sizes – live in southern and western Madagascar (Isalo and Zombitse-Vohibasia national park as well as Mahajanga). Males are mainly greyish or beige, at younger ages green colored and have a high, round casque. Females are variously colored and have a less developed casque. In this species, the females are more beautiful with red, green and yellow patterns as well as sometimes blue eyelids. Both genders lack parietal, lateral, gular and ventral crests.

Although we see numerous Furcifer oustaleti each year everywhere in Madagascar, we could never see differences in appearance that were linked to certain regions. Only in terms of color, you may observe that males in western Madagascar often have red-colored feet and an orange-colored belly. Additionally, specimens from the region around Ankaramibe often have a pinkish-red color similar to Furcifer pardalis and Furcifer viridis of the same area.

Reproduction:

The female lays about 20-40 eggs after about 40 days of gravidity towards the end of the rainy season. The highest known number of eggs in a single clutch for this species is 72 (proven in introduced Furcifer oustaleti populations in Florida, USA).

Good to know:

In captivity, this species has been kept for decades. But due to their relatively unspectacular colors combined with the impressive size, they are not enjoying great popularity.

Weight table

Gewicht = weight in grams, Kopf-Rumpf-Länge = snout-vent-length in cm, Jungtier = juvenile, Weibchen = female, Männchen = male

Since 2015, we measure the weights of chameleons that we find in Madagascar, of course only if practicable with calm animals (and working scales). Up to date, we have only a few weights. Over the long term, we want to get an average weight in proportion to the snout-vent-length (measured from the tip of the nose to the cloaca) from a large number of measurements for each Madagascan chameleon species. It is important to know that weights were all measured at the end of the rainy season when the chameleons have been having the highest food supply of the year. So our table may show the maximum weights of chameleons in Madagascar. Triangular symbols in females mean not pregnant, spherical symbols mean pregnant.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 21 22 20 19 17 15 14 15 16 19 20 20
Minimum temperature 17 17 16 15 12 10 10 10 11 13 15 16
Maximum temperatur 26 27 26 25 23 21 20 21 24 26 27 26
Rain days 26 23 25 19 17 18 21 21 16 17 20 24

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Ambositra is located in Madagascar's central highlands at heights of about 860 meters above sea level. Accordingly, the climate here is much cooler than climate on the coast or in the south of the island. Ambositra is said to be one of the coldest cities in Madagascar.

During the rainy season, this region reaches the highest temperatures around 25°C, sunny places may sometimes even almost reach 30°C for short. In the night, the temperature drops down to 15°C. It is raining almost every day. It's not before the dry season starts in April that precipitation declines a little. But it will not become completely "dry" here - even during the dry season, it is raining at least every second day. The dry season has even colder nights with drops to 10°C and less in some single nights. During the daytime, Ambositra only sometimes reaches 20° and more in the dry season.

2016 UVI Ambositra
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (end of March) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have not ground temperatures for Ambositra available yet.
Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 25 25 25 24 23 22 21 21 22 23 24 25
Minimum temperature 21 21 21 20 20 17 17 16 17 18 20 20
Maximum temperature 29 29 29 29 28 26 26 26 27 28 28 29
Rain days 26 24 23 17 14 14 16 17 13 15 18 23

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Climate in Ambilobe is warm all year long with steady temperatures around 25°C. In rainy season, it is a little warmer and temperatures usually raise above 30°C. Temperature at night is slight. Additionally, with daily precipitatin from October to April, humidity raises and makes the climate prone to thunderstorms, especially in spring.

Between April and October it is dry season in Amiblobe, but in contrast to many other parts of Madagascar, you won't notice the difference to the rainy season so much. Days are a little less warm and night drops can fall to 16-17°C. But precipitation is still regular, so the area remains green throughout the whole year.

2016 UVI Ambilobe
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (beginning of April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Ambilobe available yet.
Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 26 26 26 25 24 22 21 21 22 23 25 26
Minimum temperature 22 23 21 19 17 17 17 17 18 19 21 22
Maximum temperature 30 30 30 29 28 26 25 27 26 27 29 30
Rain days 20 19 20 15 14 13 16 15 13 13 15 19

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

The climate at Lake Ampitabe and in Manambato is warm all year round, and the nearby Indian Ocean usually brings a light breeze. This makes it a popular place for travelers to relax - it never gets cold here. During the day temperatures can easily exceed 30°C, in the dry season from April to October they are slightly lower.

At night the temperatures cool down a bit. But the night temperature never goes far below 20°C. During the whole year, there is a moderate amount of rainfall, so that the rain forest remains continuously green.

2015 UVI Lac Ampitabe
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (beginning of April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for lake Ampitabe available yet.
Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 28 28 28 28 25 23 23 24 26 28 29 28
Minimum temperature 23 22 23 22 18 16 15 16 19 21 22 23
Maximum temperature 33 33 33 33 33 31 31 32 33 35 35 34
Rain days 16 12 6 1 1 0 0 0 1 1 2 9

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Climate in Kirindy is mainly one thing: Hot. During dry season from April until September, it rarely rains and if, very short. The dry forest loses its leaves and few green survives. During daytime, it becomes extremely hot, but at night temperature drops massively, sometimes even below 15°C. This extreme temperature drop at night is typical for the area in dry season.

During rainy season from October until March, the forest blooms: It is raining several times a day, trees and plants begin to sprout. Everything becomes green and vivid. Humidity is accordingly high. During daytime, rainy season is even warmer than dry seasin. But at night, temperature drops only few degrees in rainy season.

2017 UVI Kirindy
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (beginning of April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Kirindy available yet.
Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 27 27 26 25 23 21 20 21 22 23 25 26
Minimum temperature 22 22 21 20 17 14 14 15 16 18 20 22
Maximum temperature 32 32 32 30 28 26 26 27 28 29 30 31
Rain days 13 12 7 5 4 4 3 3 3 4 7 12

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Climate in Toliara (Tuléar) and surroundings is mainly one thing: Hot. In rainy season, daily temperatures rise easily to more than 30°C. In sunny places, it may even get 45°C. This is the location to look for every shady place you can get. And although it is called "rainy" season, precipitation in the south is lean. In good years, it is raining every couple of days from November to February. In worse years, it is raining even less.

During dry season, temperatures drop a little, but it remains very warm. In the night, temperatuers in July and August may drop even to 15°C, but days reach temperatures over 25°C without a problem. This large temperature drop is typical for the area. The dry season has only shot and very few rainfall.

2017 UVI Toliara
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (end of March) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Toliara available yet.

Habitat:

No habitat is as diverse as Furcifer oustaleti’s. This species is adapted to the arid, hot climate of the southern and western dry forests of Madagascar as well as the humid secondary vegetation of the northwest. The only habitat where we haven’t found this species yet is intact highland rainforest. Even inside the capital Antananarivo, Furcifer oustaleti lives in wild gardens. Fruit trees, palms, coffee trees or bananas, sand or soil, clay, and laterite – you will always find this species. Even savanna-like areas and shrubs close to ricefields can be their home. The following pictures show habitats close to Kirindy, in the central highlands around Antananarivo and Mandraka as well as in Ankarafantsika, Isalo, Mahajanga, and Ankify.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Furcifer oustaleti

Furcifer oustaleti in Ambalavao 2017
Furcifer oustaleti in Kirindy 2017
Furcifer oustaleti in Kirindy 2017
Furcifer oustaleti in Antsirabe 2017
Furcifer oustaleti
Furcifer oustaleti
Furcifer oustaleti
Furcifer oustaleti
Furcifer oustaleti aus Ankarafantsika
Furcifer oustaleti aus Ankify
Furcifer oustaleti aus Antsohihy
Furcifer oustaleti
Furcifer oustaleti
Furcifer oustaleti nahe Ankaramibe, female 2019
Furcifer oustaleti
CITES-Quoten
2011-18 je 2000 Tiere für den legalen Export freigegeben

Erstbeschreibung:

Mocquard, 1894

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Furcifer oustaleti

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Antananarivo: -18.910000, 47.525600
Mandraka: -18.911900, 47.920000
Ambatolampy: -19.385400, 47.426900
Ambositra: -20.533100, 47.244900
Isalo: -22.512557, 45.302124
Kirindy: -20.060151, 44.666319
Zombitse-Vohibasia: -22.886100, 44.691400
Ankarafantsika: -16.246320, 46.963806
Antsohihy: -14.877500, 47.987100
Ankaramibe: -14.018400, 48.159700
Ankify: -13.557800, 48.367400
Ambovombe: -25.178400, 46.087800
Ampasimbe: -18.967300, 48.680000
Andafiabe: -12.527700, 49.405100
Andapa: -14.662200, 49.651700
Ankarana: -12.893473, 49.154320
Antsiranana: -12.277900, 49.291300
Ivohibe: -22.481000, 46.888100
Joffreville: -12.497400, 49.202500
Lac Alaotra: -17.823700, 48.426700
Maevatanana: -16.949600, 46.828200
Maroantsetra: -15.434900, 49.742300
Marovoay: -16.111100, 46.641700
Montagne des Francais: -12.458703, 49.200268
Sambava: -14.255000, 50.155700
Tolagnaro: -25.030000, 46.966300
Toliara: -23.354200, 43.669700

Verbreitung:

Furcifer oustaleti ist fast auf ganz Madagaskar zu finden und das wohl häufigste Chamäleon der Insel. Dabei konnten wir keine Vorzugshabitate feststellen, die Art ist enorm anpassungsfähig. Wir finden die Tiere jedes Jahr in Mitten von Trockenwäldern, an Straßenrändern wie auch in den Gärten menschlicher Siedlungen, nahe Reisfeldern oder in Plantagen. Sie scheinen  mit unterschiedlichsten Bedingungen zurecht zu kommen und überleben gut in Sekundärvegetation. Selbst auf Mauern mitten in den Innenstädten von Antananarivo und Antsirabe haben wir schon Furcifer oustaleti gesehen.

Aussehen und Größe:

Furcifer oustaleti gehört zu den größten Chamäleons Madagaskars, es wird daher auch „Riesenchamäleon“ genannt. Die Gesamtlänge beläuft sich bei den Männchen auf fast 70 cm, wobei die Weibchen eine Größe von etwa 40 cm erreichen. Die größten Tiere mit wirklich beeindruckenden Maßen und Gewichten haben wir bisher im Süden Madagaskars (Nationalparks Isalo und Zombitse-Vohibasia) gefunden. Die Männchen sind überwiegend grau-braun oder im jüngeren Alter grün gefärbt und besitzen einen hohen, runden Helm, wohingegen die Weibchen oftmals variabel hell gefärbt sind und einen weniger ausgeprägten Helm tragen. Hier sind die Weibchen die etwas auffallenderen Chamäleons, da sie rote, blaue und andere bunte Farbeinschläge zeigen können. Bei beiden Geschlechtern sind Parietal-, Lateral- und Kehl- sowie Bauchkamm vorhanden. Obwohl wir jedes Jahr unzählige Furcifer oustaleti überall auf Madagaskar sehen, haben wir bisher keine auffälligen Unterschiede im Aussehen der Art in verschiedenen Lebensräumen feststellen können.

Fortpflanzung:

Das Weibchen legt nach rund 40 Tagen Trächtigkeit gegen Ende der Regenzeit etwa 20-30 Eier. Die höchste für diese Art bekannte Eizahl ist 61 (in freier Natur).

Besonderheiten:

Bei Furcifer oustaleti gibt es farblich nicht wirklich Besonderheiten festzustellen, obwohl die Tiere aus der Gegend um Ankaramibe ein deutliches rot-rosa aufweisen ähnlich Furcifer pardalis und Furcifer viridis der gleichen Gegend. In der Terraristik findet man diese Art immer mal wieder, allerdings erfreut sie sich auf Grund der relativ unscheinbaren Färbung kombiniert mit der beachtlichen Größe keiner großen Beliebtheit.

Gewichtstabelle

Seit 2015 messen wir die Gewichte von uns gefundener Furcifer oustaleti auf Madagaskar, soweit die Tiere (und unsere Waagen) mitmachen. Bisher sind es nur wenige Gewichte, langfristig soll sich aus einer möglichst großen Anzahl Messungen ein durchschnittliches Gewicht im Verhältnis zur Kopf-Rumpf-Länge (gemessen von der Nasenspitze bis zur Kloake) für jede Art ablesen lassen. Das heißt, aus den aktuellen Tabellen lässt sich leider noch nicht allzuviel herauslesen, sie können jedoch ein erster Anhaltspunkt sein. Wichtig zu wissen ist, dass alle Gewichte gegen Ende der Regenzeit (= bestes Futterangebot) gemessen wurde, es dürfte sich also um Maximalgewichte auf Madagaskar handeln. Dreieckige Symbole bei Weibchen bedeuten nicht trächtig, runde Symbole bedeuten trächtig.

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 21 22 20 19 17 15 14 15 16 19 20 20
Minimale Temperatur 17 17 16 15 12 10 10 10 11 13 15 16
Maximale Temperatur 26 27 26 25 23 21 20 21 24 26 27 26
Regentage 26 23 25 19 17 18 21 21 16 17 20 24

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Ambositra liegt im zentralen Hochland Madagaskars auf einer Höhe von rund 860 m über Meeresniveau. Entsprechend ist das Klima hier deutlich kühler als an der Küste oder im Süden der Insel.

In der Regenzeit erreicht die Region ihre Höchsttemperaturen mit um die 25°C, in der Sonne können es knapp 30°C werden. Nachts wird es jedoch empfindlich kalt mit Temperaturen um die 15°C. Es regnet dabei fast täglich, erst mit Einsetzen der Trockenzeit ab April gehen die Niederschläge ein wenig zurück. "Trocken" wird es aber nicht, es regnet auch während der Trockenzeit mindestens jeden zweiten Tag. In der Trockenzeit wird es sogar noch kälter: Tagsüber erreicht Ambositra dann nur noch mit Mühe über 20°C, und nachts sinken die Temperaturen bis auf 10°C und vereinzelt sogar darunter.

2016 UVI Ambositra

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Ende März) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Ambositra im zentralen Hochland verfügbar.
Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 25 25 25 24 23 22 21 21 22 23 24 25
Minimale Temperatur 21 21 21 20 20 17 17 16 17 18 20 20
Maximale Temperatur 29 29 29 29 28 26 26 26 27 28 28 29
Regentage 26 24 23 17 14 14 16 17 13 15 18 23

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Das Klima in Ambilobe ist ganzjährig warm mit stetigen Temperaturen um die 25°C. In der Regenzeit wird es etwas wärmer, und die Temperaturen steigen regelmäßig über 30°C. Nachts fallen die Temperaturen nur wenig. Außerdem steigt mit dem fast täglichen Niederschlag von Oktober bis April die Luftfeuchtigkeit an. Das führt vor allem im Frühjahr zu regelmäßigen Gewittern.

Zwischen April und Oktober herrscht die Trockenzeit in Ambilobe, allerdings ist der Unterschied zur Regenzeit in diesem Teil Madagaskars nur wenig zu merken. Es wird tagsüber etwas weniger warm, und nachts können die Temperaturen mal bis 16-17°C fallen. Niederschlag fällt jedoch trotzdem regelmäßig, so dass die Gegend das ganze Jahr über grün bleibt.

2016 UVI Ambilobe

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Anfang April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Ambilobe verfügbar.
Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 26 26 26 25 24 22 21 21 22 23 25 26
Minimale Temperatur 22 23 21 19 17 17 17 17 18 19 21 22
Maximale Temperatur 30 30 30 29 28 26 25 27 26 27 29 30
Regentage 20 19 20 15 14 13 16 15 13 13 15 19

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Das Klima am See Ampitabe und in Manambato ist ganzjährig warm, und der nahe Indische Ozean bringt meist eine leichte Brise mit sich. Deshalb ist dies ein beliebter Entspannungsort für Reisende - kalt wird es hier nie. Tagsüber können die Temperaturen gut die 30°C übersteigen, in der Trockenzeit von April bis Oktober liegen sie geringfügig niedriger.

Nachts kühlen die Temperaturen etwas ab. Weit unter 20°C geht die Nachttemperatur jedoch nie. Das ganze Jahr über fällt moderat viel Niederschlag, so dass der Regenwald stetig grün bleibt.

2015 UVI Lac Ampitabe

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Anfang April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für die Gegend um den Ampitabe und Manambato verfügbar.
Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 28 28 28 28 25 23 23 24 26 28 29 28
Minimale Temperatur 23 22 23 22 18 16 15 16 19 21 22 23
Maximale Temperatur 33 33 33 33 33 31 31 32 33 35 35 34
Regentage 16 12 6 1 1 0 0 0 1 1 2 9

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Das Klima in Kirindy ist vor allem eines: Heiß. In der Trockenzeit von April bis September regnet es nur selten und kurz. Der Trockenwald wird kahl und nur wenig Grün überlebt. Es wird tagsüber brütend heiß, nachts sinkt die Temperatur jedoch deutlich nach unten und kann auch gut mal 15°C und kälter erreichen. Dieser massive Temperatursturz über Nacht ist typisch für die Gegend und nur in der Trockenzeit vorhanden.

Während der Regenzeit von Oktober bis März lebt der Wald auf: Es regnet mehrfach am Tag, die Bäume und Pflanzen beginnen zu blühen und zu sprießen. Alles wird grün und lebendig. Die Luftfeuchtigkeit ist entsprechend hoch. Es ist jetzt tags noch etwas heißer als in der Trockenzeit. Nachts sinken die Temperaturen während der Regenzeit allerdings nur um wenige Grad.

2017 UVI Kirindy

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Anfang April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Kirindy verfügbar.
Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 27 27 26 25 23 21 20 21 22 23 25 26
Minimale Temperatur 22 22 21 20 17 14 14 15 16 18 20 22
Maximale Temperatur 32 32 32 30 28 26 26 27 28 29 30 31
Regentage 13 12 7 5 4 4 3 3 3 4 7 12

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Das Klima in Toliara (Tuléar) und Umgebung ist vor allem eins: Heiß. In der Regenzeit steigen die Temperaturen täglich locker über 30°C, in der Sonne kann es auch mal 45°C heiß werden. Hier sucht man jeden Schatten, den man kriegen kann. Und obwohl es "Regen"zeit heißt, fällt der Niederschlag im Süden Madagaskars eher mager aus: In guten Jahren regnet es von November bis Februar alle paar Tage. In schlechten weniger.

In der Trockenzeit sinken die Temperaturen ein wenig, sehr warm bleibt es aber trotzdem. Nachts können die Temperaturen im Juli und August schonmal bis 15°C abfallen, tagsüber geht es trotzdem auf über 25°C nach oben. Der Temperatursturz ist typisch für die Gegend. Während der Trockenzeit regnet es kaum und wenn nur sehr kurz.

2017 UVI Toliara

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Ende März) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Toliara verfügbar.

Habitat:

Kein Lebensraum ist so vielfältig wie der von Furcifer oustaleti. Die Art ist an das heiße, trockene Klima in den Trockenwäldern des Süden und Westens Madagaskars genauso angepasst wie an die feuchte Sekundärvegetation im Nordwesten. Lediglich innerhalb von intakten Hochlandregenwäldern haben wir die Tiere noch nie gefunden. Selbst innerhalb der Hauptstadt Antananarivo leben Furcifer oustaleti in verwilderten Gärten. Obstbäume, Palmen, Kaffeebäume oder Bananen, Sand– oder Erdboden, Lehm und Laterit, überall kann man diese Tiere finden. Selbst savannenartige Gegenden und das Gebüsch am Rande von Reisfeldern werden besiedelt. Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Lebensräume nahe Kirindy, im zentralen Hochland um Antananarivo und Mandraka sowie in Ankarafantsika, Isalo und Ankify.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove