Brookesia desperata

CITES quotas
no legal export possible

First description:

Glaw, Köhler, Townsend & Vences, 2012

Origin of the species name:

Frank Glaw from the Zoologische Staatssammlung Munich (Germany), Jörn Köhler from the Hessisches Landesmuseum Darmstadt (Germany), Ted Townsend from the University of San Diego (USA) and Miguel Vences from the Zoological Institute of the TU Braunschweig (Germany) described the species Brookesia desperata at the same time as several other, similarly small Brookesia species. Of these newly described species, the chances of survival were already lowest for Brookesia desperata at the time of description, since the species lives in a forest that is only very poorly protected and massively threatened by slash-and-burn and deforestation. Accordingly, the Latin desperatus was chosen as the species name, which means desperate.

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Brookesia desperata

loading map - please wait...

Forêt d\'Ambre: -12.467314, 49.187851

Distribution:

These tiny chameleons are found only in the Forêt d’Ambre or Amber Forest, a piece of forest north of the better known Amber Mountain National Park. If you drive to Amber Mountain, you will pass the Amber Forest at about 470 meters. The nearest village is Sakaramy. The Amber Forest has been officially protected as a special reserve since 1958, but in practice, this protection is not implemented. The edges of the Amber Forest are populated on the side of Joffreville (Ambohitra) and Sakaramy, so the forest suffers very much from deforestation and continues to shrink every year. Brookesia desperata, however, surprisingly occurs not only in the southern remnant of the rainforest but also at the base of more giant mango trees and other secondary vegetation at the edges of the forest. Even in banana plantations, the species has been found.

Appearance & size:

Size comparison: A Brookesia desperata on a human index finger

These very small terrestrial chameleons grow up to four centimeters in length, making them slightly larger than the nearby species Brookesia tuberculata, Brookesia tristis, and Brookesia confidens. On the sides of the head, they bear three small tubercles. Along the dorsum of both sexes run 12 to 14 lateral tubercles, which continue on the tail. Instead of a pelvic shield, Brookesia desperata bears a small pelvic spine. Females are somewhat broader and stockier than males, in which the relatively large hemipenis pouches are very visible. Colour-wise, Brookesia desperata usually show a conspicuously lighter dorsal line that extends from the head to the tip of the tail.

Good to know:

This chameleon belongs to the smallest amniotes worldwide, the so-called minima group.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 24 27 28 27 27 26 25 24 25 25 28 27
Minimum temperature 27 25 25 25 25 24 23 21 22 22 25 25
Maximum temperature 29 29 30 30 29 28 28 27 27 28 30 29
Rain days 18 16 15 6 3 2 1 1 0 1 3 9

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Normally, the climate data of nearby cities do not necessarily coincide with the neighboring chameleon habitat. In the case of Forêt d'Ambre or Amber Forest, however, this is exceptionally different. Here, the climate in Joffreville, Malagasy Ambohitra, corresponds pretty closely to the climate of the "forest". For much forest is not there at all, it is more about tiny remnants of forest with mainly secondary vegetation in between.

The Amber Forest is located at 470 to hardly 1100 m, which makes it always quite fresh at night, but not quite as cold as in the slightly higher Amber Mountain. During the dry season, temperatures stay a bit lower, especially during the day, with up to 25°C. It rains here by far not as much as in the higher Montagne d'Ambre, but still more than "not at all", as is sometimes the case for months in Diego Suarez. During the rainy season, it occasionally gets up to 30°C during the day, but mostly it remains Mediterranean warm. The average temperature, however, is somewhat lower. During the rainy season, it pours several times a day, and sometimes for whole days.

2016 UVI Montagne d'Ambre
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (end of April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Amber Forest available yet.

Habitat:

The following photos show sections of the habitat of Brookesia desperata at the edge of the Amber Forest. These small chameleons live at the feet of larger trees, although they do not have to be jungle giants and primary forest. We have also spotted them at the base of mango trees and secondary vegetation as in the photos. The soil is a mixture of laterite and earth.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Brookesia desperata

CITES-Quoten
kein legaler Export möglich

Erstbeschreibung:

Glaw, Köhler, Townsend & Vences, 2012

Herkunft des Artnamens:

Frank Glaw von der Zoologischen Staatssammlung München, Jörn Köhler vom Hessischen Landesmuseum Darmstadt, Ted Townsend von der Universität San Diego (USA) und Miguel Vences vom Zoologischen Institut der TU Braunschweig beschrieben die Art Brookesia desperata zeitgleich mit einigen weiteren, ähnlich kleinen Brookesia-Arten. Von diesen neu beschriebenen Arten waren die Überlebenschancen bereits zum Zeitpunkt der Beschreibung bei Brookesia desperata am geringsten, da die Art in einem nur sehr schlecht geschützten und massiv von Brandrodung und Abholzung bedrohtem Wald lebt. Entsprechend wurde das Lateinische desperatus als Artname gewählt, was so viel wie verzweifelt bedeutet.

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Brookesia desperata

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Forêt d\'Ambre: -12.467314, 49.187851

Verbreitung:

Diese kleinen Chamäleons kommen nur im Forêt d’Ambre vor, einem Stück Wald nördlich des bekannteren Nationalparks Montagne d’Ambre. Fährt man zum Montagne d’Ambre, kommt man auf etwa 470 Meter zwingend am Forêt d’Ambre vorbei. Das nächstgelegene Dorf ist Sakaramy. Der Forêt d’Ambre steht zwar offiziell seit 1958 als Spezialreservat unter Schutz, praktisch wird dieser Schutz jedoch nicht umgesetzt. Die Ränder des Forêt d’Ambre sind auf der Seite von Joffreville (Ambohitra) und Sakaramy besiedelt, so dass der Wald sehr stark unter Abholzung leidet und jedes Jahr weiter schrumpft. Brookesia desperata kommt erstaunlicherweise allerdings nicht nur im südlichen Rest des Regenwaldes vor, sondern auch am Fuße größerer Mangobäume und anderer Sekundärvegetation an den Rändern des eigentlichen Waldes. Sogar in Bananenplantagen wurde die Art schon gefunden.

Aussehen & Größe:

Größenvergleich: Ein Brookesia desperata auf einem menschlichen Zeigefinger

Diese sehr kleinen Erdchamäleons werden bis zu vier Zentimeter lang und sind damit etwas größer als die in der Nähe vorkommenden Arten Brookesia tuberculata, Brookesia tristis und Brookesia confidens. Seitlich am Kopf tragen sie drei kleine Tuberkel. Entlang des Rückens verlaufen bei beiden Geschlechtern 12 bis 14 Tuberkel, die sich auf dem Schwanz fortsetzen. Statt eines Hüftschildes tragen Brookesia desperata einen kleinen „Hüftstachel“ (pelvic spine). Weibchen sind etwas breiter und gedrungener als Männchen, bei denen die verhältnismäßig großen Hemipenistaschen sehr gut zu erkennen sind. Farblich zeigen Brookesia desperata meist eine auffällig hellere Rückenlinie, die sich vom Kopf bis zur Schwanzspitze zieht.

Besonderheiten:

Dieses Chamäleon gehört zu den kleinsten Amnioten weltweit, der sogenannten minima-Gruppe.

 

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 24 27 28 27 27 26 25 24 25 25 28 27
Minimale Temperatur 27 25 25 25 25 24 23 21 22 22 25 25
Maximale Temperatur 29 29 30 30 29 28 28 27 27 28 30 29
Regentage 18 16 15 6 3 2 1 1 0 1 3 9

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Normalerweise stimmen die Klimadaten nahe gelegener Städte nicht zwingend mit dem benachbarten Chamäleon-Habitat überein. Beim Forêt d'Ambre ist das jedoch ausnahmsweise anders. Hier entspricht das Klima in Joffreville, madagassisch Ambohitra, ziemlich genau dem Klima des "Waldes". Denn viel Wald ist überhaupt nicht mehr da, es handelt sich mehr um winzige Waldreste mit hauptsächlich Sekundärvegetation dazwischen.

Der Forêt d'Ambre liegt auf 470 bis knapp 1100 m, wodurch es nachts immer recht frisch wird, aber nicht ganz so kalt wie im etwas höher gelegenen Montagne d'Ambre. Während der Trockenzeit bleiben die Temperaturen vor allem tagsüber etwas niedriger mit bis zu 25°C. Es regnet hier bei Weitem nicht so viel wie im höher gelegenen Montagne d'Ambre, aber immer noch mehr als "gar nicht", wie es manchmal monatelang in Diego Suarez der Fall ist. Während der Regenzeit wird es tagsüber ab und zu bis zu 30°C warm, meist bleibt es aber mediterran warm. Die Durchschnittstemperatur liegt allerdings etwas niedriger. Während der Regenzeit schüttet es mehrfach täglich, und auch mal ganze Tage durch.

2016 UVI Montagne d'Ambre

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Ende April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für den Forêt d'Ambre verfügbar.

Habitat:

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat von Brookesia desperata am Rande des Forêt d’Ambre. Diese kleinen Chamäleons leben an den Füßen größerer Bäume, wobei es sich dabei nicht um Urwaldriesen und Primärwald handeln muss. Wir haben sie auch schon am Fuße von Mangobäumen und Sekundärvegetation wie in den Fotos entdeckt. Der Boden besteht aus einer Mischung aus Laterit und Erde.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove