Brookesia peyrierasi

Brookesia peyrierasi
´Brookesia peyrierasi
Brookesia peyrierasi
Brookesia peyrierasi
CITES quotas
no legal export possible
from 2014 to 2016 150 animals were allowed for export, in 2017 250 animals, but 0 quota for 2018-2020

First description:

Brygoo & Domergue, 1975

Origin of the species name:

Édouard-Raoul Brygoo (later working at the Natural History Museum in Paris, France) and Charles Antoine Domergue of the then Institut Pasteur in Antananarivo, Madagascar, dedicated the species to the French naturalist and first finder of the species, André Peyriéras. Peyriéras lived temporarily in Maroantsetra in the northeast of Madagascar. In 1969, in the forest of Fantanendra, a little north of Maroantsetra, he found the animal described by Brygoo and Domergue a little later and sent it to France.

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Brookesia peyrieriasi

loading map - please wait...

Nosy Mangabe: -15.498017, 49.770126
Masoala: -15.519852, 50.147095
Makira: -15.208663, 49.709015
Anandrivola: -15.819672, 49.686527

Distribution:

Brookesia peyrierasi lives in the rainforest of Madagascar’s northeast coast at the island Nosy Mangabe which is part of Masoala national park. They shall also occur in the largely unprotected Makira massif, but this could even be another species. They live in the thick foliage on the ground of dense forests and are accordingly difficult to find.

Appearance & size:

With a maximum length of 4 cm, this is a dwarf among chameleons and part of the minima group. Both genders are bright beige colored and do not wear a dorsal crest, but enlarged scales to both sides of it. The males have a bony appendage above the eye. Some individuals have a small tubercle on the hip.

Good to know:

If chameleons of this species feel threatened, they press arms and legs to their body and plump down. Due to their minimal weight, even drops from one meter above the ground will not harm them seriously.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 24 25 24 24 23 21 20 20 21 22 23 24
Minimum temperature 20 21 20 20 18 17 16 16 17 17 19 20
Maximum temperature 28 29 28 28 27 25 25 25 25 27 27 28
Rain days 26 23 25 19 17 18 21 21 16 17 20 24

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Climate on Nosy Mangabe is a very humid place. It is raining all year long with especially intense precipitation during rainy season. The rainforest of this island reaches right to the edge of the beach, and is an old forest with many huge trees and much undergrowth.

Temperatures on Nosy Mangabe are rather constant all over the year with few variation. Temperatures during daytime reach 25°C, in rainy season they might be around 30°C. Instead dry season has cooler temperatures, but only few °C less: It is still warm with around 25°C during the day. At night, temperature drops only few degrees.

2015 UVI Nosy Mangabe
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (end of March) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Nosy Mangabe available yet.

Habitat:

The following pictures show the habitat of Brookesia peyrierasi on Nosy Mangabe. These tiny chameleons love to live on the mossy ground between leaves, dead wood and especially on the feet of big trees. The environment is very humid all year round.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Brookesia peyrierasi

Brookesia peyrierasi
´Brookesia peyrierasi
Brookesia peyrierasi
Brookesia peyrierasi
CITES-Quoten
2011-13 keine Tiere, 2014-16 je 150 Tiere und 2017 erstmals 250 Tiere, 2018 wieder 150 Tiere zum legalen Export freigegeben

Erstbeschreibung:

Brygoo & Domergue, 1975

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Brookesia peyrieriasi

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Nosy Mangabe: -15.498017, 49.770126
Masoala: -15.519852, 50.147095
Makira: -15.208663, 49.709015

Verbreitung:

Diese Art hat ihr Verbreitungsgebiet im Nordosten Madagaskars, in den Regenwäldern des Nationalparks Masoala und der dazugehörigen Insel Nosy Mangabe. Außerdem sollen sie im größtenteils ungeschützten Makira-Massiv vorkommen, es könnte sich dabei auch um eine andere Art handeln. Sie leben in der Laubschicht am Boden relativ dichter Wälder, und sind entsprechend schwierig zu finden.

Aussehen & Größe:

Unter den Erdchamäleons zählt Brookesia peyrierasi zu den kleinen Arten, die Männchen erreichen gerade einmal eine Gesamtlänge von 40 mm. Die Weibchen sind etwas kleiner. Die Farbpalette dieser Chamäleons reicht von Beige bis Graubraun, wobei Sprenklungen und dunkler gefärbte Bereiche am Kopf vorkommen. Seitlich entlang des Rückens finden sich dornartige Schuppen, die an der Hüfte manchmal in einer etwas größeren Schuppe (aber keinem Hüftschild) enden.

Besonderheiten:

Wird dieses Chamäleon bedroht oder angegriffen, drückt es seine Beine eng an den Körper und lässt sich auf die Seite fallen, um dem potenziellen Beutegreifer seinen eigenen Tod vorzutäuschen.

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 24 25 24 24 23 21 20 20 21 22 23 24
Minimale Temperatur 20 21 20 20 18 17 16 16 17 17 19 20
Maximale Temperatur 28 29 28 28 27 25 25 25 25 27 27 28
Regentage 26 23 25 19 17 18 21 21 16 17 20 24

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Das Klima auf Nosy Mangabe ist vor allem sehr feucht. Es regnet das ganze Jahr über mit besonders intensiven Niederschlägen während der Regenzeit. Der Regenwald auf der Insel reicht bis zum Strand, und ist durch die Isolation als Insel alt, mit riesigen Bäumen und viel Unterholz.

Die Temperaturen auf Nosy Mangabe sind das ganze Jahr über recht ähnlich mit nur kleinen Schwankungen. DIe Temperaturen gehen tagsüber an die 25°C und erreichen in der Regenzeit auch mal die 30°C. Dafür wird es in der Trockenzeit ein wenig kühler, allerdings nur wenige Grad: Mit 25°C tagsüber bleibt es immernoch recht warm. Nachts gehen die Temperaturen auf der Insel in der Regel nur um wenige Grad herunter.

2015 UVI Nosy Mangabe

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Ende März) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Nosy Mangabe verfügbar.

Habitat:

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat von Brookesia peyrierasi zur Regenzeit auf Nosy Mangabe. Die winzigen Chamäleons sind auf moosigem Boden zwischen Laub und Totholz und besonders gerne am Fuß großer Bäume zu finden. Die Umgebung ist das ganze Jahr über sehr feucht.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove