Calumma parsonii parsonii

Calumma parsonii yellow lip aus Ranomafana 2017
Calumma parsonii yellow lip aus Ranomafana 2017
Calumma parsonii parsonii in Vohimana 2017
Calumma parsonii yellow giant aus Vohimana
CITES quotas
2011-13 no specimens, 2014-22 each 300 specimens for legal export

 

First description:

(Cuvier, 1824)

Origin of the species name:

The French zoologist and paleontologist Georges Léopold Chrétien Frédéric Dagobert Baron Cuvier founded the largest anatomical collection in Europe at the University of Paris (France). His collection included bones of Calumma parsonii parsonii from Madagascar, which he described. He dedicated the species to the Irish physicist and antiquarian James Parsons, who had already mentioned the chameleon in one of his writings in the 18th century under the name Chameleonis rarissima. Actually, the species should have been called Calumma parsonsi. However, the “s” was lost somewhere and is no longer used today.

Distribution:
Calumma parsonii parsonii inhabits the lowland rainforests of eastern Madagascar. This species is often described as pure rainforest species, but we have seen most animals in coffee plantations and not inside the primary forest. Those individuals we found in mountain regions as well as those we discovered in lowland forests always were nearby rivers, although they surely do not live directly besides water or above it. You can find more information about habitats including climate data and pictures in our section “Colour variations of Calumma parsonii parsonii“. In the rainforests of Analamazaotra, there is another subspecies of Calumma parsonii, the sister species Calumma parsonii cristifer.

Appearance and size:
With partially more than 70 cm total length, this chameleon is really huge. Males have two large nose appendages that females lack. Coloration is also prettier in males, females mostly are bright green or turquoise. This chameleon species has different color variations. Up to date, four are known and we do not think there are more: Yellow lip, orange eye, green giant and yellow giant.

Life Cycle:

Calumma parsonii parsonii hatch after an incredibly long incubation period, for which the species is notorious. Parsons chameleon eggs lie in the ground for an average of one and a half years (18-24 months). Only with the onset of the rains of the third rainy season is hatching initiated. And like everything else in Parsons, sexual maturity takes a rather long time: the animals are only sexually mature at an estimated two or three years. Mating occurs primarily at the beginning of the rainy season. At the end of the rainy season, between March and April, the females lay their eggs. Between 20 and 50 eggs are carefully buried and then left to fend for themselves. Calumma parsonii parsonii lives up to nine years in Madagascar, according to research. In captivity, Parson’s chameleons can live as long as 15-20 years.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Calumma parsonii parsonii

Calumma parsonii yellow lip aus Ranomafana 2017
Calumma parsonii yellow lip aus Ranomafana 2017
Calumma parsonii parsonii in Vohimana 2017
Calumma parsonii yellow giant aus Vohimana
CITES-Quoten
2011-13 keine Tiere, 2014-21 je 300 Tiere für den legalen Export freigegeben

Erstbeschreibung:

(Cuvier, 1824)

Herkunft des Artnamens:

Der französische Zoologe und Paläontologe Georges Léopold Chrétien Frédéric Dagobert Baron Cuvier begründete die größte anatomische Sammlung Europas an der Universität Paris (Frankreich). In seiner Sammlung gab es unter anderem Knochen von Calumma parsonii parsonii aus Madagaskar, die er beschrieb. Er widmete die Art dem irischen Physiker und Antiquar James Parsons, der das Chamäleon bereits im 18. Jahrhundert unter dem Namen Chameleonis rarissima in einer seiner Schriften erwähnt hatte. Eigentlich hätte die Art also Calumma parsonsi heißen müssen. Das „s“ ging jedoch im Laufe der Jahre immer wieder verloren und wird heute nicht mehr verwendet.

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Calumma parsonii parsonii

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Calumma parsonii parsonii: -18.687879, 47.153320

Verbreitung:

Calumma parsonii parsonii bewohnt die Bergnebelwälder und Tieflandregenwälder Ost Madagaskars. Diese Art wird als reiner Regenwaldbewohner beschrieben, jedoch haben wir die meisten Tiere auf Kaffeeplantagen und nicht im primären Regenwald gefunden. Sowohl die Tier in den Bergregionen wie auch die Tiere in den Tieflandgebieten waren immer in der Nähe von Flüssen bzw. Gewässern zu finden, auch wenn sie nicht direkt daran/darüber/daneben leben. Die „sanften Riesen“ teilen sich in vier verschiedene Farbvarianten auf, deren Lebensräume sich nicht überschneiden. Genaue Infos zu den Habitaten inklusive Klimadaten und Fotos gibt es in der Rubrik Farbvarianten von Calumma parsonii parsonii. Es gibt in den Regenwäldern von Analamazaotra eine andere Unterart von Calumma parsonii namens Calumma parsonii cristifer.

Aussehen & Größe:

Mit teilweise über 70 cm Größe ist dieses Chamäleon schon ein echter Riese. Die Männchen haben zwei schaufelförmige Nasenfortsätze, die bei den Weibchen gänzlich fehlen. Auch ist die Färbung der Männchen auffallend bunter als die der Weibchen, die meist ein helles, grün-türkises Schuppenkleid haben. Bei dieser Chamäleonart gibt es verschiedene Farbvarianten. Bisher sind vier bekannt, und wir gehen derzeit von keiner weiteren aus: Yellow lip, orange eye, green giant und yellow giant.

Lebenszyklus:

Calumma parsonii parsonii schlüpfen nach einer unglaublich langen Inkubationszeit, für die die Art berühmt-berüchtigt ist. Die Eier der Parsons Chamäleons liegen durchschnittlich anderthalb Jahre (18-24 Monate) im Erdboden. Erst mit den einsetzenden Niederschlägen der dritten Regenzeit wird der Schlupf initiiert. Und wie alles bei Parsons dauert es auch bis zur Geschlechtsreife eher lange: Die Tiere sind mit geschätzten zwei, drei Jahren erst geschlechtsreif. Die Paarungen finden vor allem zu Beginn der Regenzeit statt. Zum Ende der Regenzeit, also zwischen März und April, legen die Weibchen ihre Eier ab. 20 bis 50 Eier werden dabei sorgfältig vergraben und dann sich selbst überlassen. Calumma parsonii parsonii wird auf Madagaskar Untersuchungen zu Folge bis zu neun Jahre alt. In der Terraristik können Parsons Chamäleons sogar 15-20 Jahre alt werden.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove