Calumma roaloko

Calumma roaloko male 2019 (2)
Calumma roaloko male 2019 (3)
Calumma roaloko female 2019 (3)
Calumma roaloko male 2019 (4)
Calumma roaloko female 2019 (2)
Calumma roaloko male 2019 (1)
Calumma roaloko female 2019 (1)
CITES quotas
no legal export possible

First description:

Prötzel, Lambert, Andrianasolo, Hutter, Cobb, Scherz and Glaw, 2018

Origin of the species name:

David Prötzel, Mark D. Scherz and Frank Glaw from the Zoologic State Collection Munich (Germany), Shea M. Lambert from the University of Arizona, Tucson (USA), Finah Tsiorisoa Andrianasolo from the University of Antananarivo (Madagascar), Carl R. Hutter from the University of Kansas, Lawrence (USA) and Kerry A. Cobb from the University of Auburn, Auburn (USA) named this chameleon species after its appearance. Roaloko is Malagasy for “two colors”, which describes the two-part appearance of the species.

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Calumma roaloko

loading map - please wait...

Vohidrazana: -18.977078, 48.517513

Distribution:

This recently described chameleon species is only known from a small strip of rainforest near Vohidrazana in central-eastern Madagascar. The small forest area belongs to the rainforest corridor of Ankeniheny-Zahamena and is unfortunately very threatened by deforestation and slash-and-burn despite protection efforts. Vohidrazana is a bit remote and it takes a few hours to walk uphill on narrow paths to get there from Route Nationale 2 from direction Andasibe. Accordingly, the forest is rarely visited by travelers.

Look and size:

The main characteristic of the species is its size: With a total length of only 9.4 cm from the tip of the nose to the tip of the tail, Calumma roaloko is the smallest chameleon of the genus Calumma. The optically divided scaling is just as striking: In males, the upper half of the body is bright green, the lower half greyish-white to beige. The Malagasy name roaloko describes this phenomenon exactly: roaloko is Malagasy for “two colors”. The females of the species are also two-colored but in muted brown and beige tones. The nose of the females can be yellow.

In both sexes, a white stripe runs along the entire upper lip to the small occipital lobes, which connect to the flat helmet and show a small indentation in the middle. Both also have a dark stripe running across the eyelids and a flexible, soft nasal projection. It is slightly more pronounced in males than in females. The dorsal crest is reduced to a maximum of two small conical scales in the front area, not present at all in many individuals.

Good to know:

The species was previously classified as Calumma nasutum. As has been known for some years, a whole series of partly undescribed species from the smallest areas of Madagascar hide under this species name.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 23 24 23 23 22 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimum temperature20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximum temperature 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Rain days 27 24 26 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

The region around Andasibe with the associated forests of Mantadia, Mitsinjo and Analamazaotra lie in the eastern highlands of Madagascar at altitudes between 900 and 1250 m above sea level. During the day, the temperature may sometimes exceed 25°C, but the thermometer rarely climbs above 30°C, or only in sunspots. At night, temperatures plummet, especially during the dry season. 10° to 15° degrees are the rule.

Humidity in the rainforests around Andasibe is high all year round. During the rainy season it rains extensively every day, sometimes the rain lasts for days. But the dry season is not massively different either, except that it has slightly cooler temperatures overall and reaches lower temperatures at night. It still rains at least every other day. Rain, high humidity and a drop in temperature at night are therefore the central points of Andasibe's climate.

2014 UVI Andasibe 2016 UVI Andasibe Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (March, April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Morning 23,2 23,4 22,0 22,1 20,5 16,0 16,3 16,5 17,4 16,7 21,2 -
Midday 25,4 25,3 24,5 22,5 20,2 16,5 16,3 17,7 18,3 18,0 21,4 -
Evening 25,5 25,1 25,0 25,3 20,8 17,2 16,1 17,0 19,6 23,0 22,0 -

Between 21 March 2018 and 05 February 2019, we measured ground temperatures in the rainforest of Andasibe and surrounding areas (Analamazaotra, Andasibe, V.O.I.M.M.A. and Mitsinjo) about every other day - the table is the result of these measurements. Only in December no measurements were taken. detailed review can be found here. In total, we took 418 soil temperature measurements and measured an estimated 70 different locations in Andasibe and the surrounding area at a depth of 20 cm.

Habitat:

The following photos show parts of the habitat of Calumma roaloko in the region around Vohidrazana. The species prefers very shrubby bushes and very dense, mossy branches. Probably the animals are more difficult for predators to catch due to their size and agility in such dense habitats.

In the following, you will find some 360° pictures from the region around Vohidrazana. With the mouse, you can rotate in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, the images will open in an enlarged view in a separate window. There is also the possibility to execute the pictures in full-screen mode. Have fun watching it!

Regenwald im Schutzgebiet Maromizaha, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Calumma roaloko

Calumma roaloko male 2019 (2)
Calumma roaloko male 2019 (3)
Calumma roaloko female 2019 (3)
Calumma roaloko male 2019 (4)
Calumma roaloko female 2019 (2)
Calumma roaloko male 2019 (1)
Calumma roaloko female 2019 (1)
CITES-Quoten
kein legaler Export möglich

Erstbeschreibung:

Prötzel, Lambert, Andrianasolo, Hutter, Cobb, Scherz und Glaw, 2018

Herkunft des Artnamens:

David Prötzel, Mark D. Scherz und Frank Glaw von der Zoologischen Staatssammlung München, Shea M. Lambert von der Universtiät von Arizona, Tucson (USA), Finah Tsiorisoa Andrianasolo von der Universität von Antananarivo (Madagaskar), Carl R. Hutter von der Universität von Kansas, Lawrence (USA) und Kerry A. Cobb von der Universität von Auburn, Auburn (USA) benannten diese Chamäleonart nach ihrem Aussehen. Roaloko ist Madagassisch für „zwei Farben“, was das zweigeteilte Aussehen der Art beschreibt.

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Calumma roaloko

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Vohidrazana: -18.977078, 48.517513

Verbreitung:

Diese erst kürzlich neu beschriebene Chamäleonart ist bisher ausschließlich von einem kleinen Streifen Regenwald nahe Vohidrazana im zentralen Osten Madagaskars bekannt. Das kleine Waldgebiet gehört zum Regenwaldkorridor von Ankeniheny-Zahamena und ist leider trotz Schutzbemühungen sehr stark von Abholzung und Brandrodung bedroht. Vohidrazana ist etwas abgelegen und es bedarf einige Stunden eines strammen Fußmarsches bergauf auf schmalen Pfaden, um von der Route nationale 2 aus Richtung Andasibe dorthin zu kommen. Entsprechend selten wird der Wald bisher von Reisenden besucht.

Aussehen und Größe:

Das Hauptmerkmal der Art ist die Größe: Mit gerade mal maximal 9,4 cm Gesamtlänge von der Nasen- bis zur Schwanzspitze ist Calumma roaloko das kleinste Chamäleon der Gattung Calumma. Genauso auffällig ist die optisch zweigeteilte Beschuppung: Bei den Männchen ist die obere Körperhälfte strahlend grün, die untere dagegen gräulich-weiß bis beige. Auch die Weibchen der Art sind zweifarbig, allerdings in gedeckteren Braun- und Beigetönen. Dafür kann bei den Weibchen die Nase gelb sein.

Bei beiden Geschlechtern verläuft ein weißer Streifen über die gesamte Oberlippe bis zu den kleinen Okzipitallappen, die sich an den flachen Helm anschließen und in der Mitte eine kleine Einkerbung zeigen. Beide tragen außerdem einen dunklen Streifen, der quer über die Augenlider verläuft, und einen biegsamen, weichen Nasenfortsatz. Bei den Männchen ist er etwas stärker ausgeprägt als bei den Weibchen. Der Rückenkamm ist auf maximal zwei kleine Kegelschuppen im vorderen Bereich reduziert, bei vielen Individuen überhaupt nicht vorhanden.

Besonderheiten:

Die Art wurde früher zu Calumma nasutum gezählt. Wie seit einigen Jahren bekannt ist, verstecken sich unter diesem Artnamen noch eine ganze Reihe teils unbeschriebener Arten aus kleinsten Gebieten Madagaskars.

 

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 23 24 23 23 22 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimale Temperatur 20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximale Temperatur 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Regentage 27 24 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Die Region um Andasibe mit den dazugehörigen Wäldern Mantadia und Analamazaotra liegen im östlichen Hochland Madagaskars auf Höhen zwiscen 900 und 1250 m über Meeresniveau. Es wird deshalb tagsüber zwar mal über 25°C warm, über die 30°-Grenze klettert das Thermometer aber eher selten oder nur in Sonnenflecken. Nachts fallen die Temperaturen immer tief in den Keller. 10° bis 15° Grad sind die Regel.

Die Luftfeuchtigkeit in den Regenwäldern um Andasibe ist das ganze Jahr über hoch. Während der Regenzeit regnet es täglich ausgiebig, manchmal hält der Regen über Tage an. Aber auch die Trockenzeit unterscheidet sich nicht massiv, außer dass sie etwas kühlere Temperaturen aufweist. Es regnet trotzdem mindestens jeden zweiten Tag, eher öfter. Regen, hohe Luftfeuchtigkeit und nächtlicher Temperatursturz sind daher die zentralen Punkte im Klima Andasibes.

2014 UVI Andasibe 2016 UVI Andasibe

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (März, April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für die Region Andasibe verfügbar.

Habitat:

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat von Calumma roaloko in der Region um Vohidrazana. Die Art bevorzugt sehr strauchige Büsche und sehr dichtes, bemoostes Geäst. Vermutlich sind die Tiere auf Grund ihrer Größe und Wendigkeit in solch dichten Habitaten für Prädatoren schwieriger zu erhaschen.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus der Region um Vohidrazana. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Regenwald im Schutzgebiet Maromizaha, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove